That Old Devil Moon

I look at you and suddenly something in your eyes I see

Soon begins bewitching me

It’s that old devil moon that you stole from the skies

It’s that old devil moon in your eyes.

Old Devil Moon written by Burton Lane and E.Y. Harburg

Last evening I decided to take a drive to the Des Moines Marina around 6pm to watch the sunset and wait for the rise of the blood moon. I had contemplated this all week and almost didn’t go but then realized that since this had only happened five times since 1900 and that the next time would be 2033 I had better do it now. After all, in 2033 I’ll be 85!

Although sunset wasn’t till 7:15 pm and moon rise at about 7:50 pm I went early because I figured there would be a lot of people with the same idea. So I took my camera and my Nook and made the less than 10 minute drive. I was correct and everyone and her sister seemed to be there. As time progressed the parking lot continued to fill and spots were hard to find. I read until the light began to dim then walked over to the railing to take pictures of the sunset. Here they are.

DSCN5505

It cast a golden glow on the water and the hillside

DSCN5513

DSCN5512

The final rays turned the glaciers on on Mt. Rainier…our “dormant” volcano…a subtle shade of pink.

Mount Rainier catches the final rays.

Mount Rainier catches the final rays.

And then it was gone.

Twilight time

Twilight time

After what seemed an interminable wait the Blood Moon finally appeared above the tops of the condos that face the water. By the time it showed itself on the west coast of the US it was in full eclipse so only the outer edges were visible to my camera. And in case you are wondering…it did make it’s appearance between two trees…just barely showing in this picture if you look really, really close.

The moon, in total eclipse, finally makes an appearance about 7:48 pm over the rooftops

The moon, in total eclipse, finally makes an appearance about 7:48 pm over the rooftops

You can barely see it in the photos.

DSCN5529

The eclipse would last another hour and since the parking lot was packed with cars and it was getting cold I decided not to get in the traffic jam when everyone and her sister decided to leave so I came on home.

Who knows….maybe I will see the one in 2033 from Venice!

And for those of you not familiar with the song I quoted; here is a link to a Tony Bennett version:

Since you know I have to work in Venice….another blogger who lives in Venice posted this video of a singer who is appearing at this year’s Biennale singing “Old Devil Moon” as she is riding in a boat down the Grand Canal.

Diavolo begs your pardon that he failed to appear in this post….but he did help with the writing of it….giving it four paws up.

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Beautiful Day, Moon, Photography, Uncategorized, Venice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to That Old Devil Moon

  1. Diavolo, Devil Moons, Blood Moons–I think you have a dark side, or are you getting ready for Halloween? I did not see it as it was hidden by the trees, so I saw a live NASA feed instead. I wasn’t motivated. 1000 years ago everyone would be freaking out and sacrificing people and animals to make it stop! Maybe that is why it is called a Blood Moon as well. I think I know where you were at, but I never made the turn to go down there.

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Just north of Des Moines. I never made the turn to come here either until I was forced to look for an affordable apartment and the woman who told me I was over income for SHAG housing told me about this place. I had never even heard of Normandy Park and if you blink you miss it. But it’s quiet and it’s surrounded by trees which is why I headed to the marina.
    I don’t get down your way much either. When I lived in Aberdeen, Tacoma was a place I drove through on my way to Seattle or SeaTac (as in the airport). So I don’t know much about that surrounding area.
    I have ancestors who settled in Salem, MA. Don’t know much about them. But, no, I’m not a witch, I have no dark side. Diavolo is that because he is such a handsome devil. But, then he is black so possibly can pass as my “familiar”. =^.^=

  3. Yvonne says:

    That second photo is what autumn is all about!

  4. suchled says:

    forepauseup.and thanks for the Mt Rainier shot.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie. I see the mountain quite often even more resplendent than that photo but it’s usually while I’m driving and there’s no place to pull over and take a picture.
    I have learned to take my tiny pocket sized digital camera with me everywhere and the next post will show that I am glad I do that.

Leave a Reply

