This is a test of my internet speed!

DSCN0619

Yes, this is just what it says….to see if my speed is really faster than my previous provider and wow, is it ever! So I will entertain you with some lovely pictures from the Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Gardens in Vancouver, British Columbia (that’s Canada for you folks in other parts of the world). I’ve visited these beautiful gardens twice…about a year apart and in different seasons. They are so tranquil and lovely.

These photos were taken with my previous two cameras so not quite as sharp as my current one. In some of them I was pushing the zoom to the limit. If I remember correctly they are from 2006 and 2007. The autumn ones are from 2007.

DSCN0621

Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden

Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden

DSCN0176

DSCN0173

DSCN0174

DSCN0181

DSCN0182

Searching for koi...they are in there somewhere

Searching for koi…they are in there somewhere…no, the duck isn’t searching…I am.

DSCN0196

DSCN0214

Close up of roof tile

Close up of roof tile

DSCN0596

Autumn

Autumn

Something I learned there is that the reason the roofs are shaped this way is so that when the evil spirits come flying in they slide down to the tip and fly right back into the sky.  

I hope you have enjoyed my little slide show and those pictures loaded in about one second each…okay, maybe two.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Beautiful Day, Gardens, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to This is a test of my internet speed!

  1. I made one more reader check before I went out the door! Never visited that. Interesting about the roofs though. I never knew that. Another thing that will increase your page initial loading speed is a plainer background, rather than the complex color Venice picture you have. I am not saying remove it. Just a tip. You load fast enough for me!

    • PS I had to change my name but not my gravatar face!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I had to change my ISP because I’ve had Clear (formerly Clearwire) for years….so long that I still had their $29.99 for life plan. I guess that was for their life and not mine since they are discontinuing effective 11/05/15. So after talking to several tech people (Staples, Best Buy) I decided to go ahead and bundle with my TV and got Comcast.
      Sorry but I’m not concerned with how long it takes others to load my blog…that’s between you and your ISP but how long it takes me to load.
      With Clear the pictures took anywhere from several minutes to as much as an hour…yes, an hour for one photo. The pictures in this post took literally the blink of an eye each. If you look back you may notice major gaps in my blog….not because I didn’t have anything to say (if you knew me personally you would know that is impossible) but because I was frustrated with the slowness of the photo upload.
      Well, now I have Xfinity Performance 25 and it is so much faster that I may just have more posts. I resisted all of their attempts to sell me more TV (I have limited basic with HD and have all the TV I need…I’d love to have BBC America, and Starz when the have Outlander but refuse to pay for it) and a home phone….my unintelligent (as opposed to smart) phone is all I need. Please, I am not, not suggesting anyone switch to Xfinity/Comcast. This is working for me now. It’s only the first day so who knows what will happen tomorrow.
      I did notice the name change but recognized your “picture”, Greg….posing as Zeke (or at least someone who looks like Zeke).

      • I have Comcast broadband internet only. It works great, as I watch streaming tv over the internet. I also have a good old tv antenna for local stuff. I misunderstood your problem completely–as usual.

  2. suchled says:

    Absolutely Brilliant.

  3. foguth says:

    Beautiful photos and they loaded quickly – do not know if the loading on my end is due to my service or not, but it seems logical that the speed at either end would be controlled by whatever the individual computer used.
    Fascinating about those pretty roofs … don’t think that roof would look quite right on my house, though.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you. I need to return there with the camera I have now with it’s 42 x’s optical zoom.
      The speed I was mentioning is the speed at my end. I can’t do anything about how fast things load for my readers. Loading on your end is definitely your ISP and your computer.
      Those roofs would look out of place somewhere not Chinese. Although I did see one (it was red) on a private home in Hawaii.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    Greg, I should have explained the problem to begin with. You should have heard the conversation when I called Clear to cancel my service.
    Me: I’m calling to cancel my service.
    Them: Oh, sorry to hear that. Is there an specific reason you want to cancel?
    Me: Yes, you sent me an email saying you are no longer providing this service.
    Them: Oh, that’s right. We can’t cancel till the end of this billing period ( subtext….don’t expect a refund for the rest of the month).
    Me: That’s what I was expecting.
    Them: Okay I’ve put in the order to cancel at the end of this month.
    Me: Can I have the order number please to have proof I made this call.
    Them: I can’t give you that number until I’ve completed the action to close your account.
    Me: Do it now please.
    Them: You should get an email within 24 hours
    Me: I want that number now please.
    Them: Just a minute.
    Me: I have the email now but there is no number on it. Could I have the number please.
    Them: Here is your number.
    Me: Thank you.
    Them: Is there anything else I can help you with?
    Me: I can’t imagine what since you are going out of business.
    Them: We’ll miss you.

    Really?
    Honestly I am not a cynical person but this sort of takes the cake. Okay, she was trying to be nice.

  5. biankonera says:

    It seems such a lovely and tranquil place. And that roof fact was really interesting!!!

  6. theveniceexperience says:

    Great photos! Wish our photos loaded as quickly! These photos remind me of the gardens we toured in Shanghai, looks quite similar in fact.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Karen. I’m sure they are very similar as they had designers come from China to create it.
      We will see if the speed continues. I’m paying close to twice as much as I did before. And supposedly I’ll be able to connect to hotspots “everywhere” using my Comcast log in. I’ll give it a try at my study group this afternoon.

      • lizbethraab says:

        Hi there,
        it has taken me absolutely ages to log in again to WordPress, from setting a new password to being thown out (more than once) ….

        So this will just be short. Loved the very first photo – views through archways are always special. Fascinating to read the explanation as to why the rooftops are that shape.
        Hope my other attempts to post won’t all appear, just to embarass me. 🙂 – if this happens, pl. delete the others!!

        Ciao, Liz

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    Liz,
    It seems only the one came through. I love shots through archways too. That one is one of my favorites.
    I’m just back from viewing the moon. It was in full eclipse by the time we saw it.. a nice rosie glow. If the pics are any good I’ll do a post this week. I did get some lovely sunset shots.

Leave a Reply

