They’re here!

After much back and forth in email over the last few months the day has arrived and I’m meeting Marc and Iain from London this morning. They have the blog that some of you see almost daily; and here is the latest post….they have lots of guests posts:

Two Red Cats 10 – Destroying plants!

They have never been to Venice and decided that my coming all the way from the west coast of the USA was a good time to book a weekend break.

Even though I awoke to a foggy morning the sun decided to break through by 9 am as I made my way to the vaporetto. The rain originally predicted did not happen and it was a beautiful warm day.

DSCN6640

If I had waited a second to snap this shot the man in this lovely boat would have been waving. Evidently his friend was standing behind me on the vaporetto.

DSCN6647

I texted Marc that I was on the way to the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop and they should just come out of the front door of the Gabrielli and turn right and watch for a woman in a leopard scarf head wrap. Good thing because the Riva was flooded….with tour groups. They had no trouble picking me out and after greetings and hugs we turned down a side calle and the crowds disappeared. Of course the first shop we passed had a window full of all kinds of cats.

DSCN6655

Hardly another tourist in sight, just local people going about their daily business. They learned quickly that we cannot walk three abreast here and whatever you do, don’t block the bridges.

DSCN6658

Iain goes eye to eye with an eye.

DSCN6662

This is around the corner from my former apartment. The only group we met was one of local teenagers headed for who knows where.

DSCN6665

They decided to investigate this narrow calle, barely shoulder wide. I advised them not to step out on the steps covered in green because I would not be responsible for pulling them out of the canal.

DSCN6666

Can spring be far with balconies like these?

DSCN6668

DSCN6669

We wandered over the bridge to my favorite grocery store Punto, where in 2012 and 2013 the checkout ladies got so used to seeing me a couple times a week that they only spoke Italian to me. Maybe now I would understand and be able to answer. Punto is the building with the pointed roof just before the white archway.

DSCN6671

Iain stopped  in Punto and got bottles of water for us then we went on to Campo San Lorenzo where cat houses sponsored by Dingo were once lined up in front of the church. Due to construction work there the cats were relocated. We found a bench in the sun and sat for a rest.

DSCN6673

Although I didn’t get a picture of it someone had used colored chalk to draw pictures of cats just by the bench where we sat. The cats may be gone but they are not forgotten. I brought cat treats and fed them on my first visit to Venice in 2008.

And on to Campo Santa Maria Formosa and time for a cappuccino break. Marc on the left and Iain on the right…enjoying the sunshine.

DSCN6674

After relaxing there for a while it was on to the most beautiful book shop in the world….or so the sign says. Libraria dell’Acqua Alta. Although there were lots of cat pictures, cat books (among some more “interesting” offers) neither Luigi nor his cats were present.

DSCN6679

Marc climbed the book steps to enjoy the view.

DSCN6675

DSCN6676

Iain posed so we could both get his photo.

DSCN6678

Although I had been planning on joining them for lunch at Caffe dei Frari…once home to a famous cat, I realized my body was telling me I needed to find the vaporetto home. So once again following my inner Venetian I led them out to San Zaccaria. These are some sights and reflections we enjoyed along the way.

DSCN6684

DSCN6689

DSCN6692

DSCN6695

DSCN6698

EASTER IS COMING! Yes, those eggs are huge. I would have fainted to find one of those in my Easter basket. Poor bunny.

DSCN6700

I was intrigued by the way the sun hit these bricks making them look like jeweled decorations. It’s a little grainy because I really cropped it to get them to show.

DSCN6702

Just ahead is as I knew it would be…San Zaccaria and vaporetti to anywhere (almost) that you would like to go. I gave Marc and Iain directions on how to go through Piazza San Marco and find their way to the Accademia Bridge and on to the Frari and the caffe. We hugged goodbye until Sunday morning and I found my way to the No. 2 and home.

On my walk from Sacca Fisola to my bridge I found this. As if you really need proof that la primavera (spring) is arriving.

DSCN6704

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Acqua Alta/High Water, Beautiful Day, Bridges, Cappuccino, Cats, City of My Dreams, flowers, fotografia, friends, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to They’re here!

  1. Marc-André says:

    lovely photos! 🙂

    I’ll make sure to sort ours when we are back to do a little photo tour of today as well. ^^

    And what a fandtastic day it was. We very much enjoyed the little tour and it we fantastic to finally meet!

    Btw… we only just finished a meal at the restaurant Trattoria Da Jonny – worth every euro! The food was fantastic and so was the vine. 🙂

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Glad that restaurant was a good tip! Have a great day tomorrow…You should be able to buy your vaporetto passes at machine at the Arsenale stop. Remember you have to validate it at the machine before you board and on the bus too…Only if I remember the machine is actually on the bus. Just watch what people do.

  2. Shelley says:

    How wonderful !! I’m so glad you got to meet up with your friends Marc and Iain ~ and such gorgeous piccies. Loving your Venice eye candy, bella. And thank you for all the kitty references. Sending hugs from Ella and me to you and over at home, your dear Diavolo. x0

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie bella and Ella.
      I need to email Maribeth and have her remind Diavolo that I’ll be back in a week (sniff, sniff). I’ll be glad to see him and snuggle with him but I will desperately miss my beloved Venezia.
      I have a full week ahead as my friend from my Italian class arrives today….from your beloved Paris.

  3. What a lovely walk, what wonderful memories… 🙂

Leave a Reply

