Il mio buon amico

Yes, another friend arrived in Venice on Saturday. My friend Max (aka Yosemite Sam) from my Italian class in Seattle is here for a week and we have lots of tentative plans. He rented an apartment about a kilometer from mine so we try to meet various places like Zattere where me met on Sunday morning and enjoyed breakfast at Bar Gino.

DSCN6733

Max at breakfast.

DSCN6735

Then we made our way back to Zattere to catch the vaporetto. I noticed the newly planted flower boxes along the way…or at least I hadn’t noticed them before.

DSCN6741

We were joined by Marc and Iain at San Giorgio Maggiore. If you are interested you can find out more about this beautiful church on it’s own island here:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Giorgio_Maggiore_(church),_Venice

We started our time there with a trip up the elevator in the campanile (bell tower) which totally deserves (and will have) it’s own blog post. Here are some pictures of us and of this beautiful church.

Left to right: Iain, me and Marc

DSCN6747

Me and Max

DSCN6809

Okay, the church, or in the first picture the view back toward San Marco

DSCN6745

DSCN6748

DSCN6750

DSCN6753

DSCN6795

Yes, this picture is the floor and not an M.C. Escher painting.

DSCN6797We stayed for the 11 am Mass that was sung in Gregorian chant. We were expecting it to be held in the main church but no, this was an ordinary Sunday and Mass was held in a small side chapel with four monks, the priest and two assistants (other priests) chanting and reciting the verses. Both in Italian with some in Latin which I remembered from growing up with it.

After Mass we took the vaporetto back to Palanca and went in search of lunch. I had though of La Palanca but they were closed so we went to Majer where I had gone with Karen my second day in Venice. The guys ordered a variety of cicchetti (Max’s choice looked surprisingly like bacon and eggs)  and I had their version of a chicken Caesar salad.

DSCN6822

DSCN6825

DSCN6827

DSCN6832

DSCN6833

DSCN6834

I didn’t get a picture of the goat cheese smothered in vegetables. My salad (below) had warm chicken and sliced potatoes with a yogurt dressing. Not the usual Caesar salad.

DSCN6831

All too soon it was time to hug Marc and Iain goodbye as they had to return to their hotel  to pack and catch their flight back to London. Watch their blog http://www.Katzenworld.uk.co for their report on their visit to the Dingo Cat Sanctuary on the Lido. I’ve seen some of the great pictures.

Max and I headed to our apartments for a well deserved afternoon riposo (that’s a nap…or just a rest).

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Bridges, Cappuccino, Cats, Cicchetti, City of My Dreams, Farewells, flowers, fotografia, friends, Giudecca, Life is good, me, Photography, San Giorgio Maggiore, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Il mio buon amico

  1. Julie Stone says:

    Beautiful beautiful pictures! I love the one of the floor and the angel is amazing. I hope you have a wonderful week with Max!

  2. Lulu says:

    Such wonderful memories and so happy for you…Enjoy every minute!

  3. Marc-André says:

    It was such a lovely time in Venice and we were so glad that the weather lasted until we had to head back to the airport.

    We will most certainly be back for more exploring of Venice!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      And that weather that you probably got on the way to the airport lasted a couple of hours and was gone and it has been gorgeous ever since.
      I knew you would like it here. So glad you came so I could show you a bit of my Venice and not the usual “tourist” sights. You can see those with anyone.
      Can’t wait to see all of your pictures from Dingo.

  4. I bet the church service was beautiful! And your meals are looking quite delicious!

Leave a Reply

