Piove, ma non versando

Map2_VeniceOnLine

This morning I decided to experiment. I wanted to go to Accademia and get some pictures of the shopping street and buy a few gifts. I had nothing but time so I decided to take the long way around on the No. 2 vaporetto from Sacca Fisola. On the lower left of the map which does not seem to enlarge like it did for me before I put it here…is the Sacca Fisola area of Giudecca which is the combination of islands shaped almost like an eel. So follow around to the left and then go north(towards the top for those of you map challenged) around the end past Tronchetto where you can park your car and into the Grand Canal. You enter the mouth of the fish (Venice is shaped like a fish) at the train station and wind along making stops along the way.  Accademia is almost to the other end of the Grand Canal. And yes, it takes almost an hour to traverse this route from Sacca Fisola. You see the palazzos on either side of the canal, lots of people coming and going and then finally your destination. You get off to discover that the weather report is wrong and the rain has begun. As the title says…raining, but not pouring. Being from the Pacific Northwest of the USA I would not consider opening an umbrella (or even carrying one) in what was only a fine mist. People tried though and since it was a wide calle hopefully didn’t poke anyone’s eye out.

DSCN6617

I’m hoping that the rain coming early will mean that we’ll have fine weather for the end of the week when I have various friends arriving and walking tours planned and all kinds of things.            I decided it was time for a cappuccino and there I was….

DSCN6633

Yes, my friend in Scotland…where we met on my visit in 2012, Bar Gino. But a bit damp for an outside seat. They were all out of cornetto being 11 am but I had a nice cookie with my cappuccino.

DSCN6614

For those who don’t know it, it’s a cozy place and is very busy on a rainy morning. And they have a menu and serve “real” food and wine and beer.

DSCN6621

And since someone has been asking for a picture of me (you know who you are) I asked the nice couple from Nottingham next to me if they would take my picture with my camera. Ciao, Lizzy!

DSCN6618

I’ve been wearing that little turban a lot both due to weather and the fact that although my hair is growing in curly after chemo, it’s still pretty sparse and I need to keep my head warm.

And on to what I came for…some pictures of the shop windows and some gift shopping.

DSCN6626

Easter cakes are starting to appear…even in what seems to be a wine shop.

DSCN6627

Ah, the colors…

DSCN6629

These shoes are definitely too sexy for my poor feet. That leopard bag on the other hand…

DSCN6628

Even with the awning these tables had no takers.

DSCN6630

Lots of glass.  A Murano chandelier is not in my budget and definitely would not fit in my suitcase.

DSCN6631

Look! Gondolier slippers! These are not embroidered with a gondolier facing the wrong way and don’t cost E 280 or whatever those cost in the new high end shopping mall at Rialto. If I remember these were E 35.

DSCN6635

And more glass. Yes, I got the gifts I was after, all but one and even a “little” something for myself. I’d love one of those birds that light up but I really don’t think it would survive the trip back.

DSCN6636

DSCN6637

Don’t think I have enough money left for lunch out so headed for the Zattere and home just as the noon bells began to ring. I paused to listen. 

DSCN6638

Here, you can listen too:

As a postscript, I took the No. 2 vaporetto from Zattere (right around the corner ahead to the right in the picture of the calle above the ringing bell) to Sacca Fisola, the second stop, it took about 10 minutes. The walk between the Accademia stop and Zattere on this calle took me 10 minutes without the pause to listen to the bells. So 20 minutes point to point. Taking the vaporetto around the other way took nearly an hour, a cultural experience but probably won’t do that next time. As I said, it was an experiment.

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Cappuccino, Chemo, Church bells, City of My Dreams, food, fotografia, friends, Giudecca, Hair, Italian Lesson, me, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Piove, ma non versando

  1. Marc-André says:

    I will have to give my credit cards to Iain or else I may end up buying A LOT of things while we are there…

    Counting down the hours now! 🙂

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Oh, Marc, it’s so easy to spend money. I’ll warn you….everyone prefers cash so I’m careful how much I pull out of the bancomat. I really did probably have enough left for lunch but I didn’t want to push it. No, I did not buy the leopard bag.

  2. Nice to see the wet pavement and the umbrellas–not in the travel brochures.

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Close but not quite…you’ve seen my pictures. There’s nothing quite like the Venetian blue, although Seattle does run a close second.;-)

  4. So happy to see you back at Gino’s bar. Just sorry not to be there with you this time!

  5. Also, the shop with the Easter cakes is a delightful place, I love going in there – lots of varieties of honey and other delicious things.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I will have to check it out for honey…thanks for the tip. I’ve been looking for chestnut honey but can’t find it near where I live in the States and I have a couple of recipes that call for it. Maybe they will have it there.

  6. Shelley says:

    Love your glam turban look, bella! Maybe you can go back for the leopard bag on your last day if there’s enough spare change left … to save you converting it back to USD, of course. 😉 The Murano glass would be my undoing ~ how to choose ~ just so gorgeous. And Gino’s looks like a gem. x0

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, bella.
      I never convert any money back to USD…just put it in my travel drawer for next time.
      And you should see the Murano glass jewelry…that’s what I got myself yesterday….with certificate of authenticity. That’s how you know it’s the real thing and not a knock-off. That and the stamp put directly into the glass on the back. I’ll try to get a picture of the necklace and earrings I got yesterday.

Leave a Reply

