L’ora d’oro

The golden hour; and yes, there is an app for that. It will use the GPS on your phone and pinpoint your location and tell you what time the golden hour….which isn’t really an hour…will occur where you are. It happens twice a day, as the sun is rising and again as it is setting. I wanted to catch this time of perfect light today and even set an alarm so I wouldn’t forget this evening. It can last anywhere from 20 to 35 minutes.

I headed out the door at 5:30 and looked west and thought I had missed it.

DSCN6113

But then I turned the corner and looked northeast.

DSCN6114

DSCN6115

DSCN6116

DSCN6117

DSCN6118

DSCN6119

It’s raining somewhere….just not here.

DSCN6121

DSCN6122

DSCN6124

DSCN6126

The Hilton shuttle disgorges it’s contents….guests who have spent the day in the city center.

DSCN6130

These two little fluff balls had to stop by my bench and say “ciao”.

DSCN6137

As the light begins to fade I head back around the corner.

DSCN6138

DSCN6145

I turn for another look across the Giudecca canal as the lights begin to blink on.

DSCN6146

DSCN6147

And then there is the sound I’ve been longing to hear…

DSCN6148

as the churches of Venice ring out the six o’clock hour. It made my day.

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Church bells, City of My Dreams, dogs, fotografia, Giudecca, Golden hour, Italian Lesson, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to L’ora d’oro

  1. Iris says:

    Thank you Michelle for your wonderful pictures! I’m so happy that you witnessed these special colors !

  2. I love the twilight in Venice! We love to be out on riva when the sun comes up! My pictures are never as good as yours. Great job!

  3. Beautiful light. It looks fairly accessible on your island. Maybe I can get out to Venice again. Happy to see you there Michelle. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I’ve been thinking of you and how this area might be easier for you. I will have to check to see if there are other bridges with ramps. It’s not quite the same as being on the other side of that canal though. But perhaps with staying here (the building has an elevator that may or may not fit you scooter) and then using the vaporetto and the link I sent previously about accessible Venice it could be a possibility, Miles. I’d love to see some “Scooter Shooter” shots done from here.

  4. Your pictures look wonderful. Looks like you are having lots of fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Shelley says:

    The light is gorgeous !! And those fluffballs – Ohhh, so adorable ! Love those cute fluffy butts. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like a beautiful day for you, bella. x0

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I wish the fluffy ones had stayed a few more minutes to visit but they were on a mission.
      So far in a week only a tiny little bit of rain over the weekend and lots of sunshine in the forecast.

  6. My favorite hours of the day.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Pretty much mine too. Maybe I’ll manage to make it out for the morning ones during my stay. I’m up but just not ready for prime time at that hour now that I’m retired.

Leave a Reply

