The Trek

I understand why I pay Safeway to deliver my groceries every few weeks back in the place where my cat Diavolo lives. Because grocery shopping is something my body really doesn’t want me to do. After today’s trek I would love to be able to pay Conad to deliver directly to my apartment door here. I’d be willing to pay more than the $3.95 I pay Safeway.

I decided that it  would be easiest to walk to the vaporetto and take it across the Giudecca Canal to the Conad store. I did manage the walk with only having to stop once to rest. That was really good for me. But I wasn’t loaded with a loaded shopping cart. It’s pretty light when it’s empty.

Here is the view I saw while waiting for the vaporetto.

dscn6099

I discovered while waiting on this platform that rocks with the wake of each passing boat that I don’t have my sea legs yet. I hoped people payed attention to my cane and didn’t think I’d been drinking.

Here is the vaporetto across the way pulling up to the San Basilio stop. Conad is very subtle in their signage….it’s the yellow building.

dscn6102

I was helped on and off the boat by the person who ties it up. They are very well trained and don’t want anyone falling in the water.

I wasn’t in Conad long but managed to buy nearly 70 Euro worth of food, some cheese for my whine, breakfast things, some prosciutto and pancetta and eggs (can we say Carbonara?) And how lovely to get Peccorino and Parmigiano-Reggiano in the country where they were born. And some nice, local herb tea. And more than a few treats. The total damage was just under 57 Euro and should feed me for the better part of two weeks. It filled my cart. All food, no paper products or the other things we tend to pick up when shopping in a “supermercato”. Although I will be on the lookout for some cat treats I’ve seen advertised on TV. It’s the best gift for Diavolo.

Sadly my poor feet were rebelling and I did not follow my original plan and take my groceries cruising along the Grand Canal. So with the help again onto and off the vaporetto and the three minute ride across the canal I was once again on Giudecca. While waiting on the “other” side I marveled at the fact that Conad was directly across from the Molino Stucky and if they had an actual vaporetto stop there it would save me a long walk. So on my side I sat on a bench in the sun for a while before starting back to my current “home”. This is a view to the Sacca Fisola vaporetto stop from my bench.dscn6103

This is a view of the next bench over. It’s a beautiful park like setting with apartments behind it.

dscn6104

It will be a lovely place to sit during the heat of the summer. And it was a lovely place to sit on this nearly Spring day.

A few pictures with the help of my zoom lens.

dscn6106

Campanile San Marco…you can just make out the angel on top. Excuse the crane, something is always under restoration or renovation here.

dscn6108

dscn6107

Leave it to me to find biscotti (which is the Italian word for cookie not just the one kind of cookie used for dunking in the States) shaped like butterfly wings.

dscn6110

They are quite tasty. A short bread type cookie with little bits of chocolate.

dscn6112

Who would have thought I could have done this post based on a trip to the grocery store?

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Bridges, Chocolate, City of My Dreams, Cruise, Diavolo, fotografia, Giudecca, Home, Italian Lesson, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Trek

  1. Because even a trip to the grocery store is a thing of beauty there. 🙂

  2. Ah, going to the supermercato was always an adventure, even after years of doing that task in Italy! Added interest from it being a boat ride, though. I loved having DOC deliver our groceries once-or-twice a month: bottled water, wine, laundry products, bulky items. It was a Godsend! Not sure if our Safeway here in Lincoln City does delivery. But then we are now saddled with a car.

    Be sure to get over to the Palanca stop for lunch at La Palanca. (No hot food at night.) Very good and inexpensive. Go early as it gets crowded and the kitchen closes at 14:00. How I am envying your extended stay in La Serenissima!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      It is a plan to go there as I have a few friends coming throughout the month. It’s on my list.

      You can check out if you can get Safeway delivery by going to Safeway.com….it will tell you if it available in your area. It comes from the warehouse, not your local store. If you buy $150 worth at a time delivery is free.

  3. Andante says:

    You sound to be really getting the best from your visit. As we all know, Venice isn’t really the best place to get around if your mobility is a bit limited – but, as you say the Vaporetto staff are really good. When, a couple of years ago on our visits there, one of us was limited by two hips that really needed fixing, and it was so nice to see the way they helped people on and off vaporetti, and how good other passengers – except, sadly, tourists from mainly one area, which should remain nameless – were about offering the priority seats to the afflicted one. We were so glad we could manage to get around.(After hip ops – zoom! Scampered everywhere last November!)
    Do continue to enjoy the city, and post your experiences here, please – and our best wishes to your lovely cat waiting for you at home! (We always tell ours when we return, that the prawns (frozen) from the freezer are a present from….. and they’ve never challenged us ! Less for you to carry in your luggage?)

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie for your kind words. Since I planned this trip for six months after my chemo ended I didn’t expect to still have this mobility issue or to have a new tumor appear when I thought I was finished with treatment. Instead of having six months to get in shape for the trip I had 18 days. In actuality Giudecca is fairly well set up for the elderly and disabled.. fewer bridges and more benches.

  4. Marc-André says:

    shopping trips can be very exciting at times. 😀

    • mvaden1948 says:

      And in my current medical condition….exhausting. Remember….I was doing this in a foreign language. Not as foreign as it used to be but still, I have no idea what this one cheese is that I bought but it’s a nice semi soft with a delicate flavor. I had some on a sandwich for lunch today with prosciutto.

      • Marc-André says:

        True! Iain and me actually enjoy super market shopping in foreign countries. There is something mysterious about it – trying to figure out what you are actually buying haha!

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    I would find that especially true on those trips you make to Japan.

Leave a Reply

