Do not “lock up” the bridges of Venice!

As much as I appreciate the sentiment expressed by the craze of putting your name and your loved one’s name on a lock on a bridge it really must stop.
There is actually a volunteer group cutting the locks off the bridges of Venice. Hurray!
I know that I posted months ago about these “love locks” but now that I understand the damage they do and am more informed please, tell the person you love how you feel. Say it in person if possible and say it often. You never know when it will be the last time you have the opportunity. The world does not need to know in a pile of rust.

This website is in Italian but I think the pictures tell the story.

https://www.facebook.com/fronteliberazionelucchetti

And here is a discussion on TripAdvisor Venice forum:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g187870-i57-k6862039-Accademia_big_ships_living_in_modern_Venice-Venice_Veneto.html

Yes, I think it is time I take a stand on this. I never wanted to give the impression that I thought doing this was a good idea. I was simply showing pictures and on Valentine’s Day I actually listed an alternative…a virtual lock instead of a real one.

So, please do think of how your actions affect the environment.DSCN0841
Note the rust!
DSCN0840

Please think before you click a lock onto a bridge.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Bridges, Environmental damage, Venice. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do not “lock up” the bridges of Venice!

  1. biankonera says:

    I completely agree. This madness must stop.

  2. ytaba36 says:

    We might have to become vigilantes on the bridges, Michelle. People get swept up in romantic ideas, and don’t think about the implications. (That goes for things other than locks on bridges, come to think of it!) 🙂

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Sad but true….a lot of people don’t “look before they leap” or think before they act.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.