Vintage Venetian II

As promised here are pictures from my second trip to Venice in March 2010. Sadly this trip was only five days but was packed with meeting friends I had met on TripAdvisor in person for the first time. Yvonne from Australia and Kathleen from Ireland. And even a dinner party at my apartment with Maxine and Tom (from the Sisterhood of the Traveling Scarves), Yvonne, Mike Henderson (from my photography tour) and his wife Karen (first meeting for us also).
Upon arrival Yvonne met met me at the airport and then we were greeted in my old neighborhood by an old friend….Attila; the boss of the neighborhood.
23-DSCN2116
I had written about him in my trip report from my first trip. Dingo had a cat adoption center a few doors from the apartment where I stayed and Attila was out daily greeting visitors and posing for pictures. For years after that first trip I got Attila sighting messages on TA.
When I called his name this trip he trotted right up and began purring and rubbing around my legs.

That evening we did what has become one of my favorite things: take the vaporetto to the Lido and ride back as the sunsets.
m
02-DSCN2149

The following day was my first visit to the island of Burano which I have described as like walking in a box of crayons.
DSCN2291

DSCN2337

27-DSCN2328

A trip to the Dingo cat sanctuary on the Lido taught me that Italian cats prefer spaghetti to kibble.
29-DSCN2480
On our last day we had a lovely canal side lunch. Yvonne’s sister-in-law Lynda had flown in from Canada that morning.
15-DSCN2578

Later that afternoon we shared a gondola ride through quiet back canals.
16-DSCN2594

And that evening I took a final cruise down the Grand Canal on the vaporetto and wandered Piazza San Marco for a while before heading back to pack for the train trip to Rome the next day…where I spent most of my time wishing I was back in Venice.
20-DSCN2700

Now I have 75 days to wait for my return to the City of My Dreams!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Photography, Travel, Venice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

