Sitting in the sun and paying too much for cappuccino….again

March 30, 2017 is an anniversary for me. It is exactly one year since I began chemotherapy to treat a recurrence of pelvic cancer. The day does need a special commemoration and it began with “brunch” at Grancaffè Quadri in Piazza San Marco. You may remember that I spent some time and too much for cappuccino at this same cafè back in December 2013. The prices have gone up since then.

DSCN6972

We were lucky the orchestra at Quadri was not playing. So no extra cover charge. Cappuccino, a croissant with pistachio cream and a bottle of passion fruit nectar (imported from France). 

DSCN6975DSCN6976

Max prefers his coffee not quite so strong and has an Americano (espresso served with water so he can dilute it as much or as little as he likes) and a croissant with apricot jam.

DSCN6977

Our waiter may be concerned that it’s a sunny day and 11 am and they aren’t very busy.

DSCN6979DSCN6982

Our orchestra was not playing but the one at the cafe next door was and they played my favorite opera aria “Il mio babbino caro” by Puccini.

DSCN6984

My hair is even redder in the sun.

DSCN6986

Max had scheduled a guided tour of the Basilica. I chose not to go because I tend not to like most tours and knew I wouldn’t be able to keep up anyway. So wandered towards  the other end of the Piazza. I found the Olivetti Museum. Yes, a museum dedicated to typewriters. I knew there were stairs so chose not to go in. Maybe next visit because I’ve read it’s not just the typewriters on display  but the architecture.

DSCN6987DSCN6990DSCN6991

Florian’s orchestra was playing “Fly Me to the Moon” when I strolled by.

DSCN6993

And in the Piazzetta they were playing “The Girl from Ipanema” 

DSCN6995

The poor lion of San Marco gets no respect from the birds.

DSCN6996

The gate to the Giardinetti on my way to the vaporetto to Accademia.

DSCN7000

I realized that I haven’t shown a good picture of a vaporetto. This is one of the boats that are water buses, the public transportation in Venice. They have other styles but this one is the easiest for me to board and many of them have outside seating. That’s the back end closest to you.

DSCN7001DSCN7003DSCN7004

The view of Peggy’s place from the Grand Canal.

DSCN7005

Mosaics on a palazzo.

DSCN7007DSCN7008

Approaching the Accademia Bridge.

DSCN7009

And spring has definitely arrived as I make the walk from Sacca Fisola to my apartment.

DSCN7011DSCN7013DSCN7015DSCN7016DSCN7017DSCN7018

This is the courtyard where the lovely tortoiseshell cat lives. I haven’t seen her again but she has a lovely home, if you look closely you can see the house they have made for her against the back wall in the second picture. 

DSCN7023DSCN7024

Since you have seen the post about Trattoria Da Jonny you know how we spent the evening. March 31 will be my last full day in my beloved Venezia. I do have housekeeping and packing to do and that is how I will spend my day on Friday. But dinner at La Calcina awaits.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Birds, Bridges, Cancer, Cappuccino, Cats, Chemo, City of My Dreams, food, fotografia, friends, me, Palazzo, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sitting in the sun and paying too much for cappuccino….again

  1. Marc-André says:

    Such beautiful photos!

    And it makes me want to go back already… 🙂

    I’m sure you must be glad to be re-united with Diavolo tho! ❤

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I am but he has already realized he can trust me to stay so is out patrolling the neighborhood (which is mostly just the back side of the small apartment complex).
      I talked to some ladies from Jersey (the island…not the “new”) who were staying at the same hotel where you stayed and said what a good deal they got.

      • Marc-André says:

        Ah they must have done really good deals for flights from the UK and channel islands! And yes… we didn’t realise how good it was until we checked in and saw the room! You know you kind of think you’ll get the tiny room that needs doing up until you actually get to it haha. 😉

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    So glad you had that great experience your first visit. It doesn’t always work like that.

  3. Yvonne says:

    How lovely that Diavolo gave you the royal welcome home treatment!

  4. notewords says:

    Beautiful photos! The mosaics are amazing.

  5. Shelley says:

    Your Venice time is over in what feels like a heartbeat, but you’ve made the most of every moment, bella! I love that there are so many little orchestras playing there – live music is one of life’s treasures. Another beautiful day that you’ve captured here. Thank you – and I’m so happy you and Diavolo are back together cuddling again!! x0

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie bella. As I said we were lucky that the orchestra at our restaurant was not playing because they add a 6.50 Euro cover charge per person to the bill if they are. At 11 Euro for cappuccino that would have made quite a difference. It was 9 Euro the last time I was sitting in the sun there.
      The lowest I paid for cappuccino was 1.50 Euro. The average at most places was about 4….if you get away from the main tourist areas and the big hotels.

  6. Caroline says:

    That’s a great way to commemorate any anniversary!

Leave a Reply

