Palazzo di Peggy

Monday morning I gave Max time to sort his SIM so we could communicate. Hard to communicate by email when we are both in Venice and are out and about. We need to be able to text and talk. A little after noon he emailed and said he tried to call me. I called him at the number he gave me and it went through….he just had to drop the +39 because it is a local call. He had previously been using his French SIM so needed those numbers. We agreed to meet at Nico’s for a bite and decide on the afternoon plans. Such a lovely day, sitting in the sun. So I decided to have this:

DSCN6837

Yes, I had gelato and whipped cream for lunch. Max had pizza served with crisps (potato chips to people in the US).

We needed to work in our planned visit to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection and decided this was a good day….of course we continued to enjoy the sun by the water for quite a while first. Then wandering canal side to the Palazzo I had to snap a reflection:

DSCN6839

Very soon after we entered a courtyard garden.

DSCN6841

I asked about something I had read on their website that they have wheelchairs available for disabled people and that there was free admission and she said “Oh, yes, Madame” and discounted admission for my “attendant” Max. So we went to the cloakroom and got the wheelchair.. I now understand just a little bit (a very tiny, tiny bit) of what the view is like for my friend “Scooter Shooter” who takes photos from his mobility scooter. It is an entirely different angle and outlook. And yes, we were allowed to take photos as long as we didn’t use flash. The also have lifts into the buildings for the wheelchairs and as we saw; Mums with baby carriages and strollers.

DSCN6843

Yes, Peggy is buried in the courtyard alongside her beloved dogs. I suggest if you are planning a visit that you first view the documentary “Peggy Guggenheim: Art Addict” because she was indeed addicted to art…and artists. Here is the list of the dogs who are buried by Peggy.DSCN6844

I would love to have this bench in my garden…if I had a garden of anything other than pots on a patio.

DSCN6845

I will share some photos taken around the grounds and some of the art. I don’t know enough about art to tell you about or even who painted it (or sculpted as the case may be) I just know what I like and I do like a lot of this.

DSCN6847DSCN6849

The Grand Canal through the door onto Peggy’s patio. Sadly they did not have a lift down to that so I could only gaze longingly from inside.

DSCN6852DSCN6855

Max said he liked this. I do too. It’s very welcoming….like they left the light on for us.

DSCN6863

Okay, Max. We know you didn’t really pose for that Picasso.

DSCN6864

No lift here either so we have to go around which we did later.

DSCN6865DSCN6868DSCN6870

A view of the patio through a clear window.

DSCN6875

And I got a clear shot (without tourists in the way) of the Boy on a horse with his infamous removable “appendage”.

DSCN6876

In the picture below you can see the lift I used just to the right of the steps. Open the gate and wheel me on (or I could have wheeled myself on) close gate and push button. There is another gate at the top and then you can wheel in through the doors. Usually someone will actually hold them open for you.

DSCN6889

One of my favorite things…the chimney pots of Venice and all their lovely shapes. There are no longer working fireplaces in Venice but the shapes were created to keep embers from flying out and setting the city alight.

DSCN6893

Max noticed this bench with a very true saying on our way out.

DSCN6894

The view from the gate.

DSCN6895

And I leave you with the lovely corner balcony just above Bar Gino.

DSCN6905

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Chocolate, City of My Dreams, food, fotografia, friends, Gardens, Gelato, Modern Art, Palazzo, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Palazzo di Peggy

  1. This reminds me so of my walk through that part of Dorsoduro after out dinner at La Calcina. And that gelato looks super yummy!

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    And it was just what the doctor ordered.
    That palazzo is in Dorsoduro so no wonder it reminds you of that. I’m enjoying getting familiar with that area because it is the easiest for me to get to from where I am on Giudecca…only two vaporetto stops.

  3. Shelley says:

    What a gorgeous tour – wow! {That gelato looks pretty amazing, too…} I was a little misty-eyed over the stone with all the names of her beautiful furbabes chiselled into it. She loved them so. Big hugs, bella. x0

  4. wfdec says:

    I wanna go too.

Leave a Reply

