La vista dal campanile

I promised a separate post of the view from the top of the campanile (bell tower) on San Giorgio Maggiore. This is that post and yes, with my zoom you are entering Piazza San Marco which is not nearly as close as it looks in this picture.

DSCN6770

But let’s start at the beginning….waiting for the elevator to take us to the top. It is glass and you can see the walls as you climb. I didn’t realize that I had the reflection of Max looking at the workings of the elevator until I got it on the computer.

DSCN6754

I’m going to let most of the rest of the pictures speak for themselves as I don’t want to point out a landmark and have it be wrong.

DSCN6755DSCN6758

DSCN6763

DSCN6766DSCN6768DSCN6759DSCN6775

Yes, that is a maze in the photo above. Marc and Iain tried to find the entrance but all the gates were locked.

DSCN6782

DSCN6765DSCN6774DSCN6780

DSCN6792

We were there when one bell clanged…about 10:30. You do not want to be up there at the top of Β of the hour.

And this is where we are going today.

DSCN6784

There are a lot more pictures from the top and they will be in the album that I will give you the link for at the end of my journey.

 

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to La vista dal campanile

  1. Shelley says:

    Thank you for the bird’s eye view, bella! And I’m glad there’s a lift to the top. πŸ™‚ x0

  2. We go there every visit. I have never even bothered with the campinile in San Marco since San Giorgio Maggiore is so grand. I love seeing Venezia and the laguna from there. Your telephoto lens makes it almost voyeuristic!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yes, that lens could get me into trouble. I’m working on a calendar…Interesting men on the vaporetto. Still compiling it. Got a really nice one the other day. See the movie Sun Li and the Poet. He reminded me of the Poet.

  3. Oh Im so going up there next time around!!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

