Fritatta

I stayed in Monday to rest my weary feet so there are no pictures from the lovely day. No matter what WordPress insists, in Italy (not Seattle) this is already Tuesday March 14th at nearly 7 am. I did have the window open for a good portion of the day. Not mosquito season so not a problem that there are no screens. But I did keep an eye on the seagulls.

So although this is not a cooking blog I have decided to share with you my easy fritatta for one.

I bought the pancetta (you can use bacon but it’s not quite the same) already cubed in little packets at the Conad. In the States you can get this at Trader Joe’s in slight larger packets. The vegetables are ones I got at the Sacca Fisola Friday market. Eggs this time are from Conad but I did this on Monday morning with eggs from the market which were fresher….although eggs from Conad seemed fresher than the ones I get at Safeway. Not as much travel time.

So heat your skillet and then add a drizzle of olive oil. Saute your pancetta till it is almost crispy then add some chopped onion (you be the judge as to how much) some chopped red bell pepper and I added some chopped asparagus. You can use any vegetables you like, the more colorful the better.

DSCN6233

Cook until vegetables are tender. While waiting for that whip up two eggs.

DSCN6234

Grate some Parmigiano-Reggiano….the real stuff…not the stuff in a can(although that will do in a pinch). Okay and here is the real education….you can read about where this lovely cheese comes from. It is sometimes called “the king of cheeses”. It can be expensive but a little goes a long way.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parmigiano-Reggiano

DSCN6235

Add the eggs to the pan and cook until set, lifting the edges with a spatula to allow the uncooked egg to flow underneath.

DSCN6236

When the egg is set to your desired doneness (I personally hate runny eggs) sprinkle with cheese. At this point if you have a broiler you can run it under there for a minute and it will puff up. This step is not necessary. And my rental apartment here in Venice does not have an oven or a broiler. And if you are cooking for two…use four eggs and more of everything.

Please note that this is not typical Italian breakfast food….you are more likely to have it for either a simple lunch or dinner and you probably won’t find it on a restaurant menu.

DSCN6237

Mangiare!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Birds, City of My Dreams, Eggs and pancetta, food, fotografia, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fritatta

  1. mvaden1948 says:

    And just in case you don’t have time or interest to click on that cheese link I thought you might like the following bit of trivia about this wonderful cheese:

    Parmigiano-Reggiano has been the target of organized crime in Italy, particularly the Mafia or Camorra, which ambush delivery trucks on the Autostrada A1 in northern Italy between Milan and Bologna, hijacking the shipment. The cheese is ultimately sold in southern Italy. Between November 2013 and January 2015, an organized crime gang stole 2039 wheels of Parmigiano-Reggiano from warehouses in northern and central Italy.

  2. Beautiful! We make frittata all the time but I bake it and make 6 portions at a time. We eat it cold or reheated in the microwave on subsequent days. Great for any meal!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I have a recipe for a baked one too that I have made for a group.
      This one was so simple here in the apartment in Venice just using what I had on hand I just had to share it.

Leave a Reply

