Brave!

Yes, I was brave! I did it! I found my courage and ignored my feet (the neuropathy issue) and took the Hilton Shuttle (which is a fairly short walk from my apartment) to San Marco Giardinetti. The most daunting part wasn’t getting on as the boatman helps with that but the steep steps down into the cabin. I grabbed the first seat when I got down there. A man asked if he could sit next to me and proceeded to chat the short ride over. He even stood up and blocked the other passengers from rushing me when we got off and he and the boatman helped me onto the dock. Thank you, Leslie, from New Orleans.

So I sat on a bench in the Giardinetti (which is right around the corner from Piazza San Marco). 

DSCN6238

People often complain that there is no place to sit without buying expensive coffee in the Piazza. All you have to do is walk around the corner.

DSCN6239

I was just recovering from the ordeal of getting into and out of the shuttle (scary when you have balance issues to begin with) and that didn’t take long so I headed out to get a boat for my first cruise of the Grand Canal for this trip. I’ve been here over a week for heaven’s sake!

Look closely….love locks and it isn’t even a bridge!

DSCN6242

And away we go on the No. 2 where I managed to snag my favorite….an outside seat.

DSCN6245

DSCN6246

DSCN6249

Enjoying the sun.

DSCN6252

DSCN6253

DSCN6257

DSCN6265

If you want to experience a brief gondola ride, some of the glamour and none of the romance, take a traghetto across the Grand Canal. It’s only a few Euro and it is customary to stand.

DSCN6268

This balcony has a spiral staircase up to it from the ground.

DSCN6269

DSCN6274

Yes, those are birds flying over the train station.

DSCN6276

Tired tourist attempting to avoid sun exposure.

DSCN6283

This was a circular route which went along the Giudecca Canal also and my home stop but I wasn’t ready to get off.

DSCN6295

To San Zaccaria and a wander away from the tourist hordes. Yes, the sky really is that blue. 

DSCN6319

This looks like an inviting place for lunch. Note: it did not say “Menu Turistico” on that sign.

DSCN6327

DSCN6321

DSCN6322

I had a large bowl of Minestrone (homemade I was assured) and sometimes a girl just has to have a French Fry….or several.

DSCN6324

The soup and fries were delicious. I had a coke as they did not have a small bottle of water and the total bill with coperto (cover charge) was E 20,20.  It really was good food. I may go back there.

Back to meandering.

DSCN6325

Carnevale has ended but the confetti will be here for a while.

DSCN6333

A reminder of someone who awaits my return. Probably not patiently.

DSCN6329

DSCN6337

Mimosa tree in Campo San Zaccaria next to the church.

DSCN6345

And I walked out and caught the No. 2 in the clockwise direction home. Mid afternoon and I had been out for about five hours which under my current circumstances was quite an accomplishment.

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Birds, Bridges, Cancer, Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy, City of My Dreams, Cruise, Diavolo, flowers, fotografia, Giudecca, Life is good, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brave!

  1. thanks so much for the images. i found out that by right clicking on them, i can open the image in a new tag, and there it allows me to see the original size. the detail is superb, you are very expert in taking the photos, there is no fuzziness, and every thing is pin sharp in focus. to achieve this on a moving boat is a miracle to me. i so enjoy your posts as they bring the experience of venice to me. many thanks.

  2. how strange, i can only do that in the wordpress reader, not in your actual webpage.

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad you found how to see them in the original….I didn’t know about that myself. When I finish this journey all of my pictures will be in albums and I will post the link at that time.
    I’m so glad you are able to travel along with me. And that is a very, very slow moving boat.

  4. Lulu says:

    The pictures are so lovely and I feel like I’m right there with you! What type of camera are you using?

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I have a Nikon Coolpix P510 which they no longer make. I’ve had it my last two trips to Venice also. I love it (besides the fact that it’s candy apple red)…it has 16 megapixels and a 42 x’s optical zoom which helps me get those close ups on the other side of the canal. I do crop my pictures and sometimes adjust the contrast but other than that what you see is what I shot.
      Thank you, Lulu. That is my aim….to take you with me.

Leave a Reply

