La cena con la mia amica

Friday evening a long anticipated meeting took place. Since 2012 when I first blogged from Venice a woman from Latvia has been following my blog. We have also been emailing and discovered a love for Venice, photography, a similar interest in books, movies and music. When I started planning this trip she decided that if at all possible she would come to Venice while I was here so we could meet in our favorite city.

Since I am continuing to be plagued by my mobility issues it was easiest for us to meet at the Hilton. We decided to dine in their Venetian cicchetti restaurant Bacaromi. Since it’s cicchetti the restaurant opens at six.

While waiting I took some more pictures in the gorgeous golden hour. First the nearly full moon.

DSCN6208

Some architectural details (if you have followed my previous trips to Venice you know me and architectural details) using my zoom on the buildings across the canal.

DSCN6225

More of the golden glow as the evening passagiata (walk or better stroll ) begins.

DSCN6227

La mia amica arrived and lots of hugs and excitement to meet for the very first time. We sit for a while and enjoy the view as we catch up on our days and her trip over…the airlines lost her bag. Never a fun thing to happen. And then we walk the short distance to Bacaromi and are the first guests.

DSCN6228

It takes a while for us to decide what to eat because we are too busy talking and catching up and telling stories. We finally decided to share a “small” platter of a sampling of cicchetti. It is definitely enough of a starter for two. I’m sorry but I didn’t think to take a picture of it but here is the basket of lovely bread.DSCN6232

 

 Not long after we have finished the cicchetti our meals arrive. I ordered the spaghetti with duck sauce. I will not attempt the Venetian dialect that was on the menu. And yes, it was delicious and a very large portion.

DSCN6231

La mia amica ordered the “frito misto” or basket of fried fish. It was an absolute work of art.

DSCN6230

What you say? No wine? Well, my friends we had a bottle of sparkling water….the ladies don’t drink alcohol or in some cases rarely. We need to keep our wits about us.

We talked and laughed for over three hours. The lovely thing about restaurants in Italy is there is no rush. They don’t need to turn the table and it’s yours for the evening. When we left a cold wind was blowing as we walked to my apartment. Then she left and went to find her way back to the vaporetto and her hotel. We’ll be seeing each other again in the week she is here.

Here is the link to her wonderful blog:

37 glimpses: XXVI to XXXII

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Cicchetti, City of My Dreams, fotografia, friends, Giudecca, Golden hour, Life is good, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to La cena con la mia amica

  1. Thank you for the wonderful time together in this dream of a city!!!

Leave a Reply

