Sacca Fisola

It’s Friday and market day at Sacca Fisola. It is also another gloriously beautiful day. So I took my shopping cart on wheels (like a roll aboard luggage tote but with open top) and headed out. I even remembered to take my garbage to be dumped in the bins on the way.

This time I wasn’t quite as stressed (blame it on the jet lag last week) so I had a better idea of what was on offer. When you first walk up is something some of you would consider the most important: The wine man where you can bring your own bottles (a plastic water bottle is fine) and fill up for a fee. He also had regular bottles of wine for sale.

DSCN6195

Note…the man pulling the cart on the right was singing as he walked along. Does that sign really say five bottles for 10 Euro? No wonder he was singing. Sorry, I don’t drink so don’t ask me about the quality. You’ll just have to come here and sample it yourself.

I would assume this was a fairly quiet day being low season but business was brisk.

DSCN6188

Here is my vegetable stand where I bought an entire “chilo di pomodoro, quatro mele e un mazzo di asparagi”. I’ll be nice and translate for those not studying Italian….that is a kilo of those lovely tomatoes from last week (since it only took me three days to eat half a kilo), four apples (having one right now) and a bunch of asparagus which I will saute tomorrow with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

DSCN6189

Then I went and got “dieci di ouva”…ten eggs because his little cardboard carton only had 10 slots…or you could buy six at a time or even just one egg…try doing that at Safeway. The lady in front of me asked me if I was next and I told her in Italian that my Italian was not very good but it didn’t matter to me who was next as I was in no hurry. She responded in English and made sure that I got my order and the correct change. Eggs are sold by the each as the sign in the picture shows. I got the larger ones for E 0,22. Note: they use commas instead of decimal points. that would be E 2,20 for 10 eggs. Sorry, my keyboard does not do the sign for Euro but I’ll use the E from now on.

DSCN6193

Here are several other pictures….including the sweet stand next to the vegetables. Honest, I did not stop there but I would not have wanted to have children in tow when we saw that.

DSCN6191

I still did not walk around the entire area so I’m sure there was a lot more to see and they don’t just sell food.

DSCN6190

Those trucks have to brought in by barge every week as there are no roads to Sacca Fisola. I decided to Google it just to find out more as it is different than other parts of Venice I’ve been to. On Wikipedia I discovered it is a man made island added at the end of Giudecca.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sacca_Fisola

They don’t say much and the market is on Friday, not Thursday.

But when I Googled I found this blog post done on one of my favorite blogs…the arial shot has a blue pin just about where the market is located. And you can see the bridge I cross to get there.

http://bluoscar.blogspot.it/2011/01/sacca-fisola.html

And knowing me you were wondering when cats would finally appear here. Well, I haven’t seen any…yet. But Blu Oscar has a post on La Tigre di Sacca Fisola.

http://bluoscar.blogspot.it/2011/01/la-tigre-di-sacca-fisola.html

Now I must head back to my apartment with my purchases. Past the local apartments with laundry drying in the sun under the canopy of the Venetian blue sky.DSCN6196

Lots of construction going on around here….they put up those barricades to make sure pedestrians don’t fall in a hole.

DSCN6197

A view of the other side of the Carabinieri “Barracks ” I discovered that it is called the barracks and it is in use as I saw two officers walk out the gate…must be co- ed as it was a man and a woman. They even have a dock if they need to use a boat to get somewhere. Otherwise they walk. Or run if it’s an emergency.

DSCN6201

And then I decided to Google “Carabinieri” just for grins and a little education. Fascinating! Here’s the Wikipedia link if you want to know more:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carabinieri

Probably more info than you wanted. Okay I rested now. On to my building. If there was just a fondamenta ( a walkway along the water) from the end of the bridge I’d be home quicker.

DSCN6199

But first…although I haven’t seen cats I see all kinds of dogs. My first trip to Venice a guide said that since Venetians don’t have cars they try to out do each other with their dogs. I have seen many dogs on my visits here and you do need to watch your step.

DSCN6205

And a view from the bridge to the southern Lagoon.

DSCN6206

I must be doing better because I actually took the time to notice this at the end of my bridge….the scaffolding on this little building is decorated:

DSCN6207

Always little interesting things, just around the corner or in this case, across the bridge.

 

 

 

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sacca Fisola

  1. Shelley says:

    Thank you for the mini Italian lessons, bella !! Much appreciated. 🙂 You are so very much at home there. And those are cute pooches ~ I hope you get some kitty cat sightings soon! You must be missing your sweet boy so much. x0

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Still no kitties but wait till you see the great food we had for dinner last night.
      There won’t be all those educational links in the next couple of blogs.;-)

  2. Lulu says:

    Thank you for sharing this part of the world with those of us who have yet to see it…Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

