Il Pranzo

This morning dawned another lovely day if somewhat hazy. I was meeting my friend Karen for lunch. At 11:15 I was out my door, down the hall to the elevator and out the door which is in the back of the building. I turned right and knew I was definitely in Venice. See the picture above and below.

dscn6000

This is the stop for both the Hilton Hotel shuttle which I’ve been told I can use to get to San Marco and the Alilaguna which goes to the airport also docks here. That would help with hauling the bags back on April 1.

dscn6006

Venice awaits….just a boat ride away.

dscn6008

So nice that there are benches all along the fondamenta so old ladies like me can rest their weary bones or whatever they need to rest. Not sure if they go all the way to the end of the island. I didn’t go that far today.

dscn6009

I’ll have to check out the vegetable shop after I get more cash. Those tomatoes look very tasty.

dscn6013

We had lunch at Majer. They are new to Giudecca and Karen wanted to check them out.

dscn6023

There is a lot of wine.

dscn6018

We disgustingly ordered burgers and fries. Neither of us had had one in a long time and I must say they were excellent. Perfectly done to medium with just enough pink in the middle.  It was 18 Euros but all things considered it was no more than I would have paid at Red Robin because you don’t add any extra for tax or tip, it’s all included in the price. 

dscn6021

More photography on the way “home”

dscn6028

Someone’s ready for their closeup, Mr. DeMille!

dscn6032

Ah, Venezia….

dscn6035

The Alilaguna headed for the Hilton.

dscn6042

No leaves yet, but soon.

dscn6043

Car ferry shuttling people to the Lido where there are cars….and land buses.

dscn6045

Someone’s cortile has some greenery.

dscn6047

Almost home. I’ll be turning in to that indentation between the buildings which is actually the main entrance to the Hilton Hotel.

dscn6048

If I remember Daniela told me I could go through here to get to the back of the building and the door.

dscn6004

This does look familiar. My apartment windows should be about four up and five or six in from the far end of the building.  Of course I didn’t get them in the picture.

dscn6052

This garden area is behind the Hilton Hotel.

dscn6053

And yes, at the end of the building I turned right, remembered the door code and let myself in where I took the elevator to the 3rd floor and home. Considering my current limited mobility (walking with the cane with neuropathy still in control of my feet) it was all I could manage today. Oh, yes, still dealing with a bit of jet lag. Let’s see what tomorrow brings, shall we? Besides the predicted rain.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Bridges, City of My Dreams, fotografia, friends, Giudecca, Home, Life is good, me, nature, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Il Pranzo

  1. Absolutely fabulous!

  2. Do I recall correctly that Majer is a bakery as well? I seem to recall one near San Giacomo del Orto.

  3. Shelley says:

    That bread behind your illustrious burger looks fabulous, too! Have to say I feel like a burger and chips now. 😉 Beautiful, all of it ~ it’s fun walking in your footsteps and looks like you’re doing remarkable well at making those.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      At least you said walking in my foot steps and not my shoes…you wouldn’t like how they feel….at least not with my poor feet.
      That bread was lovely too. I had a few bites but was saving my appetite for the Kobe beef burger.

  4. i am so glad you are there! great photos. what is the green leafy veg. in upper right hand corner of pic of veggies?

  5. Pingback: The Venetian foodie guide for March – La Venessiana

Leave a Reply

