Sono Arrivata

Si, sono arrivata a Venezia! And for those who don’t know Italian that is “Yes, I have arrived in Venice”. Thanks to my friend in my Italian class I have corrected “sono arrivato ” to “sono arrivata” the feminine. No not chemo brain. We can blame jet lag this time.

The flights were uneventful and wheelchair service at the airports worked like a dream. If you have trouble walking those long distances I highly recommend it. Daniela, the keeper of the keys, met me at the Sacca Fisola vaporetto dock and took my bags and me to the apartment. It’s quite a long walk from there with my current limited mobility and I kept having to stop and catch my breath. Hopefully that will improve over the course of my stay.

Since I did not sleep on the plane I was so tired by the time I got to the apartment that I did not venture out again. But here are a few pictures I took from my window and a couple in my apartment.

I’m surrounded by red tile roofs. Although the buildings are part of the old Molino Stucky flour mill they have been completely remodeled into this complex.

dscn5993

As you can see in this picture it is very modern for Venice. And yes, there is an elevator…I’m on the third floor (US 4th).

dscn5995

We came around this corner to get to the door of my building. I think. So many twists and turns. At least the courtyard has some greenery.

dscn5992

It was a beautiful day for my arrival and had temps in the mid 50’s.

dscn5994

And of course that Venetian blue sky. At night there is some kind of light on the top of the building below and you can watch the seagulls soaring in it.

dscn5996

My “closet” kitchen, close the doors and it disappears. No oven, but a four burner cook top. And it is well equipped for such a small space. The microwave is over on a shelf behind the TV (which is a 32″ flat screen….just like home). 

dscn5990

The comfy chair where I’m sitting and the dining table and door to the apartment behind. Okay, the chair blocks the view of the table but I’m going to get some help from a friend and move it over in front of the window anyway….for the light.

dscn5991

My friend Iris did a lovely blog post yesterday which features the food of the season….artichokes. I have to find out if they are having the festival this weekend. I love artichokes…they should be on the menu in all the restaurants while I’m here.

The Secrets of Laguna Nord

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, City of My Dreams, fotografia, Home, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sono Arrivata

  1. Shelley says:

    I’m so excited for you !! That chair looks very comfy for when you do feel like putting up your feet and relaxing ‘at home’. Enjoy getting out and about, bella. Big hugs from Ella and me. x0

  2. Happy to see you have arrived safely! Looking forward to beautiful pictures and writings about your time in Venezia!

  3. Andante says:

    So glad that you’ve made it safely. We’ve followed your visits to Venice, and your comments on Yvonne’s blog for ages, and hope that Venice will revive you! Hope the Venetian cats come to speak to you – they have done for us, to make us feel welcome in the past. Our very best wishes.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you so much. Venezia has her own healing power. As you will see in tomorrow’s blog although I can’t see water from my window all I have to do is go downstairs and walk around the corner. I have enjoyed the drawings that appeared on Yvonne’s blog.
      I have seen more than a few dogs but no cats yet. But I haven’t wandered around much yet. Soon.
      I am glad Giudecca has benches positioned along the fondamenta so that I can rest when I need to…which at the present is often but hopefully that will improve over my stay.

  4. Glad you made it. I was wondering if we would hear from you again. You escaped in the nick of time. Maybe you will get lucky and they won’t let you come back! The apartment chair looks like a good cat chair! No snow for you!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yes, it would be a good cat chair if there was one here. That would make it purrfect! I have seen quite a few dogs but no cats…yet.
      The weather here is turning….supposed to rain this weekend and there is rain and snow mixed predicted for next week but with temps in the high 40’s and low 50’s I don’t see that happening. Another friend emailed me that I would be missing the snow.
      No, I don’t miss snow after what we’ve had this year.

Leave a Reply

