It’s been a while…

Yes, I know, you are probably all wondering what happened to me. I’m okay. I finished the Cyberknife treatment this past Thursday. Only five treatments but scheduling (theirs not mine), snow and an allergic reaction to Oxycodone caused a few delays. The good news is that I am mostly pain free. I can’t over do it. I have to sit and rest a lot as I attempt to regain my strength. I’m still walking with a cane because my tiny bit of improvement in the chemo induced peripheral neuropathy stopped in its tracks when I was wracked with the hip pain. Some days I can wiggle my toes and other times I can’t. Go figure. So yes, I’ll be walking with a cane in Venice and sitting at a lot of bars drinking cappuccino. Bars in Venice are not like bars in the states. Yes, they serve alcohol but it’s also where you get un caffe or a bite to eat.

According to my Delta app on my phone I have 15 days to check in which means 16 days till arrival in the City of My Dreams. I can now concentrate on the trip. And although not physically packed, I am mentally packed.

I’ll just share a few pictures from previous visits.

DSCN3896DSCN3849DSCN3368DSCN3341DSCN1160DSCN1140DSCN1896DSCN1919

The morning after the night before

The morning after the night before

DSCN1829DSCN1830DSCN1788DSCN1743DSCN1528DSCN1421Atilla and friends

And Venetian cats followed by dear Diavolo who doesn’t understand why I haven’t come to bed yet. He’s doing just fine.

DSCN5793

I probably won’t post again till I’m in Venice on March 1….or maybe the 2nd. Need a little time to deal with the jet lag. Thank you all for your good wishes and prayers and keep them coming please. I’m not quite out of the woods yet. They won’t do a new PET scan for a couple of months.  Arrividerci.

For anyone interested here is the link that has a video explaining the Cyberknife treatment. It is virtually pain free. Well, it is pain free because my pain was caused by what always happens when I have to lie on my back and hold still. I get an incredibly painful cramp in my leg. Listening to Ludovico Einaudi helped a lot….although I did have to spell it so they could type it into their digital system. http://www.swedish.org/services/cyberknife-stereotactic-radiosurgery

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Cats, Chemo, City of My Dreams, Coffee, Cyberknife, Diavolo, fotografia, friends, Memories, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to It’s been a while…

  1. HAVE FUN! YOUR UNCLE BILL AND I LOVE YOU.

  2. Shelley says:

    It has whizzed around so fast – for me, at least – I can’t believe it’s nearly time for you to fly to Venice but I’m so glad that’s the case ! Sitting there sipping lots of cappuccino sounds pretty perfect to me, bella! I’ll be thinking of you and can’t wait to see your updates from there when you’re ready. Big hugs to you and Diavolo ! x0x

  3. amariesilver says:

    Have a safe trip! Looking forward to seeing some pictures!

  4. Marc-André says:

    Oh it’s so close now! We are very much looking forward to meeting you in Venice! If there is anything you’d like us to bring over from the UK let us know btw. 🙂

  5. Jo says:

    Enjoy every minute – couraggio!

  6. Iris says:

    We are thinking of you dear Michelle and so happy that your trip to Venice will start soon!

  7. Wishing you the most wonderful month of your life, Bella!

  8. Julie Stone says:

    You’ve been on my mind – I knew the trip was getting close. I’m sure the time in your beloved city will do wonders for your spirit and I’ll wait anxiously for your posts from Venice. There is a new Travel with Rick Steves podcast about Venice that posted yesterday. Happy travels – so delighted for you! Buon Viaggio!! ❤

  9. We are all rooting for you to make it to your trip, Glad you are close to the airport.

  10. Lulu says:

    So happy for you that you’re going back! I wish you safe travels and many happy memories (and more beautiful photos of course!)

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you, Lulu. I just bought two new memory cards so there should be lots of new pictures. Of course it’s a different time of year so the light will be different.

  11. So wonderfully exciting! 🙂

  12. Glad to hear you are doing good and recovering. Rest up and enjoy your trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

