Più vicino…closer

64 days to Venice! Or at least that is what it says on my computerized vacation countdown. It is really important right now to have something so special to look forward to. I’ll get to the reason later.

At only 19 degrees fahrenheit it was cold enough!

At only 19 degrees fahrenheit it was cold enough!

Here’s hoping it will be warmer in March than it was the December  day in 2012 that I snapped this shot of a water taxi on the Grand Canal.

dscn1365

I’m looking forward to Venetian blue skies.

DSCN1887

A friendly lion….or maybe two.

DSCN1336

I know there is a good bar for cicchetti just around the corner from these lovely lions. And, wow, thank you Google! I just discovered when I was looking up the word to make sure I spelled it correctly that there is a restaurant called “Cicchetti” right here in Seattle. http://cicchettiseattle.com/   I will have to make it a point to get there. And no, they didn’t just use the name….it says it is Venetian inspired. Although the menu on the website looks interesting it is much more southern Mediterranean than anything you would find in Venice. It doesn’t help that the information says the owner was inspired by “Venetian Tapas Bars”….no one, except maybe Rick Steves would refer to them as “tapas bars”….they are just bars that have little plates of things to eat that are called cicchetti….not tapas.  They are called tapas in Spain. Sigh!

DSCN3896

 

There will still be many bridges to cross before I get there though.  This last week I had an MRI done because I was having some strange pains in my left hip and thigh down to the knee. At first my doctor thought it might be arthritis but he ordered the MRI just so there would be no “surprises”. Actually, I was not surprised with the result as I had been saying that it felt like something was pressing on a nerve, not all the time but at different times and it was worse when I tried to go to bed. It really interrupted my sleep to say the least….let alone walking and stopped any improvement in the neuropathy in it’s tracks.  What the MRI showed is that there is a golf ball sized tumor pressing on my lumbar spine. Yes, this is new and was not there when I had a Pet scan in July.   Dr. M (the radiation oncologist) feels that he can take care of it with a few doses (then he said 5-10) of a type of directed radiation. Dr. L (regular oncologist who replaced Dr. X) agrees. Both of them know about my trip and Dr. M even hugged me and said “You will be in Venice in March.”  I am having another Pet Scan on Wednesday to make sure that is the only “problem”. We are getting treatment underway as they know the importance of getting it done.  So, yes, a few more bridges to cross.

DSCN2145

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Più vicino…closer

  1. Susie L says:

    Cara Michele, I have been thinking and thinking of you. I’m so sorry to hear about this new tumor, but it sounds like you have a great team working with you to beat this damn cancer back! Keep up your wonderful attitude, I admire you so. Soon you will be back in Venezia, and I will be so happy for you.

  2. Elizabethlb.King@gmail.com says:

    Ciao, Michelle
    I was also very disappointed to read this news but as written in the above post, you have such a good team working to beat this damn cancer. There will be other trips to Venice also, of that I am sure. And I also think “attitude is everything!”

    Am sorry my photo has gone missing, though the name has changed. I will see if I can get it (or another one) back in business) tomorrow.

    May your courage be rewarded and be strong till it’s time to fly to your favourite city …
    Ciao, ciao
    Liz

  3. GoodDayRome says:

    Dear Michelle,
    So sorry to read the news but as Liz says, attitude is everything and your outlook remains so admirably positive. You have a wonderful objective in your trip to Venice. Only two short months! Keep fighting the good fight and may you find 2017 to be an uplifting and rewarding year.
    Laurel

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Laurel. I’m so glad that I have Venice to look forward to. I’m also glad that I know in Italian you don’t end a sentence with a preposition. See I am even maintaining my sence of humor. Or trying to at least.

  4. Sorry to hear about the new tumor-but it sounds like they feel it will be easy to manage. 63 days and counting! 2017 will be a Buon Anno. Ciao, Cristina

  5. Marc-André says:

    Oh no!!!

    We are keeping our fingers and paws crossed and are looking forward to seeing you in March!

    Hugs and kisses from us. ❤

    Marc

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Oh, no! was my reaction too but I knew there was something that was causing the pain in my left hip and thigh. Doctors are confident that we can get this done in time for the trip. I’m looking forward to seeing you in March, too.

  6. Oh, damn !!! But you have an extremely positive team on top of your own determination and I know you will have it all sorted in plenty of time, dear Misha. You’ve got this !! Big hugs and purrs to you and Diavolo from Ella and me. xoxox

  7. Pecora Nera says:

    Ciao Michele,

    Sorry to hear your news. Head up and keep those good thoughts going.

    PN

Leave a Reply

