L’autunno d’oro

A couple of weeks ago a blogger friend posted pictures of the golden autumn in her city. This last weekend I got some pictures of the golden autumn I see out my window.

dscn5967

Yes, my friends, I have been missing in action for a few weeks but there has been nothing to report. But now there is. I have more dexterity in my fingers and can open a pop top cat good can without resorting to prying it open with a knife.  There has also been a small improvement in my chemo induced peripheral neuropathy in my feet and I can wiggle my toes and walk somewhat better. I still can’t feel my toes though. I am still using a cane and by the end of a day I am really tired. Part of the tiredness is the fatigue caused by my radiation therapy. There are also some intestinal “problems” and they have me on a low fiber diet. I call it my white bread diet….white bread, white rice, white pasta, no fruit except bananas and avocados (there has to be something for a diet that tells you to eat avocados), no raw vegetables so no salads, no spices, no nuts…..just bland, bland, bland. I had to totally rethink breakfast because I’m not allowed oats. Ah, well, it sort of works…that and hefty doses of Imodium. I go to radiation every morning, Monday through Friday at 10:am. It takes a total of about 30 minutes….most of that time is spent changing into and out of a hospital gown. The radiation itself is less than 10 minutes. The last treatment will be November 9. Then the doctors will tell me where we go next.

I am being much more positive about my recovery than I was for a while. I was not looking forward to needing a cane in Venice. I’ll have it with me, I always do take it “just in case” my knee acts up. It’s been hard these last few weeks of radiation because I’m having to balance both a cane and an umbrella thanks to typical Seattle rain. I’m not really complaining…it makes the rest of the year really green.

So I’ll just share the rest of my few autumn pictures.dscn5966

dscn5969

I do wish the camera had captured the way the leaves glittered in the sunshine.

dscn5974

They call these begonias “non stop” for a reason. Even with my benign neglect they have been hanging in a pot on my patio blooming continuously since April.

dscn5970

PS. Diavolo is well and he sends purrs to all of his friends….furry and otherwise.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Autumn leaves, Cancer, Chemo, Diavolo, fotografia, friends, l'autunno, me, Photography, Radiation Therapy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to L’autunno d’oro

  1. Shelley says:

    So happy to hear there’s encouraging progress, Misha!! Those trees are very lovely and the begonias are glorious!! Hugs and purrs from us to you and Diavolo.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yes, at nearly two months since my last chemo I was beginning to wonder if this was ever going away. I’m not quite dancing a happy dance yet….but close.
      I am very impressed by the $20 potted begonias that survived and continued to bloom even when I didn’t have the energy to water them as much as they should have been. So if you like begonias….the variety they call “non stop” are the ones to get. Don’t know if they have them in your area.

  2. lizbethraab says:

    Ciao, Michelle

    Lovely to get an update and so glad you are seeing little bits of steady improvement, literally one step at a time. Think you have been through a very rough time but the perseverance has really paid off. Hope that it continues at a steady pace and it is not long till November 9, so “hang in there.”.

    Here, they also call it “goldene Oktober,” and it has to be a favourite time of year. Those days where the sun is shining before the onset of winter are real gems and I love them.

    Continue to wish you a speedy recovery and good to see your positive spirit is back on track.

    Curious to see if WordPress takes my post after a longer break.
    Ciao, ciao y abbracci
    Liz

  3. Julie Stone says:

    You’ve been on my mind and I’m delighted to hear things are moving along in the right direction and that Diavolo is well. Ohio is ablaze with lots of pretty orange this year. One year ago this week we were in Venice and I am so grateful to you for the memories that I treasure so. Sending good thoughts that your progress continues so that you’re at your best in March. Be well!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao, Julie,
      I’m so glad I could play a part in your enjoyment of Venice last year. Google has been sending me messages about “remember this day eight years ago” with links to pictures from my first trip to my beloved Venice (where I fell head over heels in love). Yes, this time in 2008 was my first trip.
      I hope all is well with you and your family.

  4. barbary says:

    beautiful photos!

    be wll……………..

    xxoo

  5. Beautiful autumn gold. 🙂 Letter coming soon, I promise.

  6. You have a beautiful view Michelle. I will be interested to hear how you get on with the cane in Venice. I think you will be fine. Remember I took these whilst propped up on a crutch https://scootershooter.co.uk/mirrorless-venice/ (and with the help of neuropathy pills etc etc). Glad to hear you are keeping up the good fight. Take good care of yourself). Miles

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you, Miles. Yes, I remember the lovely photos you took while using both a cane and an umbrella.
      Luckily my neuropathy seems to be improving daily so I should be fine by March. Since it was caused by the chemo there is a chance that it will go away completely. It’s now been two months since the last chemo. The radiation that I’m getting now does not affect it at all (it affects other things). Since I went nearly two months with no noticeable improvement I was concerned that I might be one of the statistics in which it is permanent but discovered I should have been more patient.

  7. Lulu says:

    Your patience, strength and positive attitude are an inspiration. One step at a time towards recovery and Venice (and more gorgeous photos!)

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you so much, Lulu. I’ve just done what I’ve had to do. I don’t feel particularly courageous. I am sure that the positive attitude along with prayer and meditation helped me through this. Still a ways to go but I am so much better than I was.
      I’m really looking forward to taking those gorgeous photos you are looking forward to.

Leave a Reply

