Four Years!

How time flies! WordPress told me that it’s been four years since I started this blog. It was my post “50 Days and Counting” till my first month long visit to Venice, aka The City of My Dreams. According to Delta Airlines I have 151 days till take off for my next visit.

My favorite picture of the trip!

A lot has happened since then, my retirement from my employment with the Department of Social and Health Services after 24 years. It’s hard to believe I’ve been retired for nearly three years. And if you’ve been following along you know that 2016 has not been my best year. Although chemo ended August 29 I’m still dealing with the chemo induced peripheral neuropathy that so far hasn’t shown much improvement. I know it takes a long time but I’m impatient to get my life back.

DSCN0470

This coming Monday my radiation treatment begins. Five days a week for 28 treatments. We are praying that this knocks out the cancer completely.

But such wonderful reflections

03-DSCN1838

I’ll be seeing some old friends in Venice and hopefully making a few new ones.

Getting chatted up by a gondolier

Here’s hoping the gondoliers won’t have to be so bundled up in March.

Diavolo

Diavolo is doing just fine and is asking for dinner so I have to stop for now. I’ll be checking back with all of you soon…but just not weekly updates like I was doing. And of course when the neuropathy lets up my camera and I will be back to exploring the local area.

Sunset over Venice

Coming back from the Lido

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Cats, Chemo, City of My Dreams, Diavolo, fotografia, friends, me, Memories, Photography, Retirement, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Four Years!

  1. Susie L says:

    You have been on my mind, and I am so happy to see your blog post! I’m thrilled you have your countdown calendar going for takeoff. Diavolo looks happy and saucy, it must be the wonderful care he receives from you. I’m very hopeful your neuropathy improves. Just today, Marco told me that it is almost completely gone in his pinky finger, and it is slowly, very slowly, improving in his feet. Brava Michele!

  2. Your four years of blogging have been so beautiful, so here’s to many more to come! 🙂 Venezia is waiting for you just as impatiently – to embrace you dearly and become your best cure after this year’s ordeal.

  3. furbiziahs says:

    I love the pictures you take of Venice! Venice is waiting for you and time flies!!

  4. paintdigi says:

    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

