È finita!

Yes, it’s over! Final chemo was Monday August 29th. I begin radiation therapy, which I’m told has minimal side effects, on September 23. I’m still dealing with the peripheral neuropathy which hopefully will dissipate with time. In the meantime I’m still using L-Glutamine powder and acupuncture to try to alleviate some of it’s issues. Most of you will remember that this all began with a major deep vein thrombosis way back the end of January. So I’ve been “sick” for a very long time. I’m looking forward to getting my life back and planning more of my trip to Venice in March. I have the apartment booked. It’s this one on Giudecca in the Molino Stucky complex:  

https://www.tripadvisor.com/VacationRentalReview-g187870-d3749201-SKYBLU_SUITE_Wifi_A_C_Sat_TV_Elevator-Venice_Veneto.html

Of course my price is low because I’m going in the low season and staying a month but they still have very reasonable prices. I also have my ticket booked on Delta and, yes, under the advice of my nurses, I plunked out the money for “economy comfort” at least for the flight over…so I can sleep…if I’m not too excited.

I’ll just share with you some pictures of places I hope to visit on this trip or lovely bridges I have crossed or….just some of my favorite pics from previous trips. There will be many more in March.

Sunset over Venice

Coming back from the Lido…one of my favorite things to do on my first day is take the vaporetto to the Lido and come back down the Grand Canal at sunset.

DSCN0397

It’s time for a return visit here.

DSCN0398

I’ll bet Luigi can put his hand on whatever title you are looking for.

DSCN0431

Maybe my favorite hardware store will have something I need.

An answer to my gatti prayers....sort of friendly

I hope to make some new cat friends in my new neighborhood.

DSCN0805

Not a daily treat but maybe once in a while.

DSCN0815

Does Giudecca have it’s own vegetable boat? Or do I need to head over somewhere else? I’m sure one of you can tell me.

15-DSCN3369

Maybe I’ll finally have a cappuccino at this cafe across from the Frari.

06-DSCN3859

I’m hoping to do a little shopping here. I missed them last time as they were closed for the Christmas holidays when I tried to visit. I’ll start sooner this time. Yes, they are a coffee roaster.

This one is just for Luca…cats do eat pasta! Living proof at the Dingo sanctuary on the Lido. So let your poor Tuscan cat have some if he wants it. I’m sure he’s quite well fed but he should be able to taste some of those excellent meals (or so I’ve heard) that you prepare. Hope to see you in March.

29-DSCN2480

And, of course, I’ll be wandering the calle searching for the perfect reflections and just the right light.

27-DSCN2562

04-DSCN3383

11-DSCN3220

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Bridges, Cancer, Cats, Chemo, Chocolate, City of My Dreams, Coffee, fotografia, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to È finita!

  1. Susie L says:

    I am so happy for you! The apartment looks great, and it should be a fun change to stay on Giudecca. I have two friends who live on Giudecca, I’ll have to ask them about vegetable shopping. I think there is a weekly market on Sacca Fisola. Thanks for sharing another great collection of photos. I think I recognize the man’s chin in the photo that looks like it was taken at Imagina. Soon you will be back!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yes, photo was taken exactly where you think and yes, that is Mike. Karen is wielding the spoon on the other side of the “cioccolata calda”. I just thought….I know someone who has an apartment on Giudecca. We haven’t communicated in a while but I’ll email her.
      Hope all is going well with you. Are you able to go on your usual December visit?

      • Susie L says:

        Our apartment is reserved for mid-December and we are hoping to purchase our tickets in mid-October. We are praying for a clean scan! Someday, I hope we can all meet in Venezia! 😘

      • mvaden1948 says:

        We will meet there someday, Susie. I already have December 2018 floating in my dreams. It will be my 70th birthday (OMG!).

  2. Marilyn Richardson says:

    I replied to your email but will respond here also. I am so happy you have finished the chemo, and I wish you a speedy road to recovery. Our Venice trip is now only 3 weeks away and everything seems to be in order. I thought about renting on Giudecca instead of Via Garibaldi area and love the look of the Stucky Building. Maybe next time!! /

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Hopefully the internet connection will be good enough to blog. I had really good internet in my previous apartment there. One of the reviews said it wasn’t very good but I think the reviewer was trying to work which could be frustrating. I tend to do my blog at weird hours (when I can’t sleep) in Venice so maybe less traffic will help. And a friend suggested an Ethernet cable so I’ll have one with me. I’ve never even been over to Giudecca so really a whole new neighborhood for me. I’m sure I’ll find plenty to keep me occupied.

  3. Sue Merritt says:

    I am sooo happy for you. Glad you are in the final steps of your ordeal. Good luck with the radiation. You have been thru so much…and your good positive attitude is something I truly admire.

    How I wish I were back in Venice; your email has me frothing at the bit to return. Every day I think of Venezia fondly. My Three trips there were the highlight of many years of travel.

    Don’t know if I will ever get to go back. About 4 months ago we sold our townhouse and are now living at the Peter Becker Community in Harleysvile, PA. About three years ago we learned my husband Joe has Alzheimer’s. So we moved to independent living here. We have a lovely apartment, and in the future if we need more care it will be available to us.

    Good luck to you and enjoy your trip.

    Fondly,

    Sue Merritt

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Sue. I do hope maybe you can return to Venice someday. If not you can always dream along with my travels.

      Hope you are both doing well in your new home.
      Take care,
      Michelle

  4. Shelley says:

    That’s such wonderful news! I’m very happy the chemo is now behind you, bella, and onwards and upwards with the rest of the recovery. That’s a gorgeous selection of piccies {per usual} and before you know it, you’ll be meandering around with your camera there again. Cute kitties. 🙂 Wishing you and Diavolo a beautiful weekend!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, bella. You know me….always find the cats. There was a fluffy white one with the Siamese but he was purring and winding around my legs and wouldn’t hold still for a picture. I saw him again the next year…and the ladies chatting in the calle. Too bad I’m not in the same area this time because I might actually be able to chat with them….they had no English.
      Hope you and Ella are having a beautiful weekend…which I know is almost over there.

  5. GoodDayRome says:

    I must add my congrats to the chorus. Brava! And what a wonderful trip to anticipate! We were there last March and the weather was quite good: light jacket/raincoat adequate, lots of sun, few crowds! Love the apartment and the location for a long stay as a “local.” One of these years I want to do a month in Venezia.

    Un bacio!!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      In 2010 I spent five days in Venezia (not nearly long enough) in the end of March and only had one overcast day. I met up with some friends (from Australia and Ireland) and we had a lovely canal side lunch and a gondola ride ….weather was actually perfect. I plan to take layers as usual.
      Yes, someone who loves Italy the way you do should spend a month….or more in a quiet neighborhood in Venezia.
      That’s my whole idea in going in March….besides lower prices….few crowds.

      Abbracci!

  6. Wonderful post in every sense! March will be absolutely delightful! 🙂

  7. Luca Marchiori says:

    So glad it all went well. So glad you’ve booked for March. I cant’ wait to meet you in person. Congratulations!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I look forward to it. I’ll have an Italian phone number and will email it to you…probably closer to the time. Quite a few of my blogger friends are planning to visit Venice in March! It will be a celebration of my recovery.
      I do start radiation on Monday (five days a week for 28 treatments) so hopefully they will have knocked those creepy little cancers out of my body.

Leave a Reply

