I Palazzi

“Palazzi swept by on both sides, the drunken promiscuity of their styles competing for his attention.”

Donna Leon: Blood from a Stone

Indeed a perfect description of a ride on vaporetto No. 1 down the Grand Canal in Venice. Try to time your ride early or late to avoid the crowds and snag an outside seat….no matter what the weather…relax and enjoy the show.

DSCN1813

Even the scaffolding on a renovation can give you a view of the palazzo on the other side of the canal.

DSCN2639

DSCN1218

DSCN1221

DSCN1229

DSCN1234

DSCN1247

DSCN1259Another view of the mosaic showing the windows and other decorations.

DSCN1269

DSCN1270

DSCN1248

DSCN1521

DSCN1628

DSCN1808

DSCN1804

Early morning sun can intensify the colors.

DSCN1816

At only 19 degrees fahrenheit it was cold enough!

At only 19 degrees fahrenheit it was cold enough! Remember what I said about no matter what the weather…yes, sitting outside on the No. 1 on a very chilly December morning in 2012. I know, it’s not a palazzo but I couldn’t resist.

DSCN1448

Night time elegance.

DSCN1997

DSCN2426

DSCN2865

Reflected glory while waiting for the vaporetto.

DSCN2940

A bird casts a shadow on the Ca d’Oro.

DSCN2942

And is it any wonder as to why it is called the Ca d’Oro  (House of gold)?

Most are no longer private homes but have been turned into hotels and museums. As Johnny Depp probably discovered when he bought one (and later sold or is trying to sell it) upkeep on an aging palazzo isn’t cheap.

I hope you enjoyed your mini tour down (or up) the Grand Canal. Now to an update. As many of you know I have had a hiatus from chemo for the last three weeks due to my increasing chemo induced peripheral neuropathy. It has improved slightly but as several oncology nurses have told me “it takes time”. My friend told me this morning about another friend who had it and it took nearly a year to go away completely. I can live with a year of incremental improvement. Especially since I’m walking a bit better every day.

So this morning my doctor and I discussed the options and it was decided that instead of chemo I will have a new Pet scan to see the status of my cancer. That will either be next Wednesday or the following week. It’s a mobile unit that only is at the hospital on Wednesday. Okay, I know today is Wednesday but…I have to be fasting so even “if” they had an opening I would not have been ready. If the scan shows the cancer is totally in remission I will be referred for radiation and no more chemo. If it is still active we will proceed with more chemo.

All I can say at this time is Insha’Allah (as God wills).

PS. Diavolo is fine and doing well.

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Cancer, Chemo, City of My Dreams, Diavolo, fotografia, me, Palazzo, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I Palazzi

  1. Susie L says:

    What a lovely journey you have taken us on! So many gorgeous photos, Grazie. You have been on my mind and it sounds like you and your care team have come up with a good plan. I will be thinking of you next Wednesday for the PET scan. I’m also very happy to hear that Diavolo is doing well! 😍

  2. Sue says:

    Have not commented on your input for a while. Sorry. We have moved to a continuing community and have been even busy.. I have been in the hospital and hope to be feeling better soon. I will try to keep in touch. I love Venice and your emails are very special.
    Sue

    Sue M.

  3. Lovely photos of Venice! How they make me dream of that beloved city! Prayers your way for positive results in the coming week!

  4. Lulu says:

    Thank you for sharing your gorgeous photos…I could (almost) feel a breeze on my face as I scrolled through them! Blessings and kind wishes to you for strength & good health.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Lulu. Sometimes the vaporetto does travel fast enough to create a breeze. Sometimes I think I could swim faster.

      • Lulu says:

        Well, slow is better and allows for much nicer and sharper photos, as we’ve seen!

      • mvaden1948 says:

        Lulu,
        The slow I complain about is when they intentionally slow down to an absolute crawl in protest to something that is going on. They don’t go fast to begin with but when I can walk or even swim faster you know something is up even when you don’t speak Italian.:-)

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    Dear friends,
    Please excuse me but for the moment I have lost the ability to “like” a comment. I don’t know where it went but hope to have it back soon. I do like and mostly love all of your comments.

  6. Thank you for the beautiful tour and the imagery of Donna Leon’s quote. Gorgeous! Ella and I will keep our fingers crossed for your tests. I hope you get to skip the further chemo so the neuropathy can continue its progress {if slowly!} Either way, you’re ‘all good’, bella. Hugs to you and Diavolo.

  7. Luca Marchiori says:

    Wonderful photos! I thought I was back in Venice for a moment. Amazing to think that 400 years ago or so, many of those facades would have been covered in frescos and paintings by the likes of Tintoretto and friends. Would love to have seen that. I am touching iron (the Italian equivalent of wood) for next Wednesday. Hope it all goes well, but what will be will be. Sooner or later you will beat this.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie Luca.
      I would love to have seen that too. Although back then that smell that people who have never been there complain about would probably have been true. Although probably a lot more of those mosaics.
      Off to get my melone soon. We do get something here called a Tuscan melon which is a cantaloupe that tends to have a better flavor than the regular ones and you judge it’s ripeness by the color of the ribs. Easier for me than sniffing the stem end (those tend to be too ripe sometimes)

  8. wfdec says:

    They all look so Shakespearean if you know what I mean but I would also like to know what the inside looked like. I can’t know how you are feeling but I can try to understand. But I am glad that at such a time you can go to the trouble topost photographs for our enjoyment.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you, John.
      The Shakespearean look has a lot to do with when they were built. The few interiors I have seen have changed somewhat over several hundred years but still magnificent.
      Needless to say that I have quite an archive of Venice photos having spent a total of 81 days over the course of four visits. It is definitely a feast for the eyes. And one I never tire of.

      Except for the neuropathy which affects my feet and my finger tips and is slowly improving I’m feeling fairly well. And immersing myself in Venice and other beauty helps take my mind off my own problems.

Leave a Reply

