Won’t you let me take you on a sea cruise?

Since my chemo is on hold until July 13 so that we are hoping my neuropathy improves I thought I would share a little adventure.

First for those who are interested the American Cancer Society has a really good discussion of Chemo induced peripheral neuropathy:

http://www.cancer.org/treatment/treatmentsandsideeffects/physicalsideeffects/chemotherapyeffects/peripheralneuropathy/peripheral-neuropathy-caused-by-chemotherapy-what-is-cipn

Now for the adventure:

In the autumn of 2009 a friend and I enjoyed an overnight cruise from Seattle to Vancouver, BC. It’s the time of year the cruise lines re- position their ships for the upcoming season. It’s actually pretty cool as you get all of the amenities of a normal cruise, food, entertainment, everyone at your beck and call and all for less than the price of a downtown Seattle hotel room. If I remember it was just around $150.

 

And I didn't bring my suit.

And I didn’t bring my suit.

I lost count of the number of pools.

In the evening they showed movies under the stars.

In the evening they showed movies under the stars.

Dining by the pool

Dining by the pool for lunch

Dessert!

Dessert! I was being very conservative….saving myself for dinner.

Those side columns are glass elevators

Those side columns are glass elevators

A place to sit, relax, have coffee or a glass of wine

A place to sit, relax, have coffee or a glass of wine

A little effort to get up but she made it.

A little effort to get up but she made it.

Caught her (both he and me)

Caught her (both he and me)

Our stateroom

Our stateroom

They say by opening the sofa you could sleep four in here.

They say by opening the sofa you could sleep four in here. I thought it would be a tight squeeze.

Seattle sky line

Seattle sky line

Lovely day for a sail

Lovely day for a sail

The ship has a gym for working off all the wonderful food

The ship has a gym for working off all the wonderful food

Here I am...up on the top.

Here I am…up on the top. Note: We haven’t left port yet. It takes a while to get thousands of people on board.

Amazing huge ships

Finally under way…following the leader

Lounging..in the lounge

Lounging..in the lounge

And then time for dinner. I didn’t get pictures of everything but here is my starter…really, it’s a cold soup!

Honest...it's not a pina colada...it's a cold pineapple soup.

And the main course…for me…prime rib

Prime Rib (sorry vegetarians)

Prime Rib (sorry vegetarians)

I decided to enjoy the solitude of our balcony and the sunset rather than attend the show with all those thousands of people.

So beautiful...it was like sailing a lake.

So beautiful…it was like sailing a lake.

And I got to watch the pilot come up on his tiny boat and make the leap on board to guide this monstrosity through the Strait of Juan de Fuca (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strait_of_Juan_de_Fuca) Sorry, he was too fast and I didn’t get a picture.

The next morning I was on our balcony before dawn to catch our arrival into Vancouver.

DSCN1467

5:30am coming into Vancouver and Lion’s Gate Bridge on your left decked out in her party lights.

Okay, this is what it is supposed to look like

One of the other ships going under the bridge.

And of course I was at breakfast when our ship went under the bridge so no shots of that.

But I always knew that when my ship came in…

Just then my ship comes in...

Just then my ship comes in…

And he's off.

I’m at the airport!

It was a very long bus ride back to Seattle.

And now a little blast from the past. Probably most people reading this won’t remember this song but I saw this TV broadcast on Saturday night many, many years ago. It was always one of my favorites and always makes me dance…except right now as neuropathy (can’t feel my feet…walking is tiring, can’t drive) prohibits that activity at the moment.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Beautiful Day, Bridges, Chemo, Coffee, Cruise, fotografia, friends, Memories, Photography, Sailing, Seattle, Travel, Vancouver, BC Canada and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Won’t you let me take you on a sea cruise?

  1. notewords says:

    I do remember that song. Puts it back a bit… 😉
    Sending positive energy your way with the neuropathy.

  2. I have sailed on ferries from vancouver to Nanaimo. Nice shots.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I’ve done that trip too….but just as a joy ride.
      The ferries aren’t quite the same as a gigantic cruise ship. It actually reminded me that cruising is not my favorite way to travel. Hard to get away from the crowds.:-)

  3. Wowee, what a beautiful adventure ~ rather short and sweet {my favourite kind 🙂 }! Great catch with the dancers and how glam is that ship! Thank you also for the clip. What a fun song ~ I loved their nautical staging. Heh! Dancing is so good for the soul. Enjoy, bella. Hugs to you and Diavolo from Ella and me for a lovely weekend. x0

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I enjoyed that time bit for the short trip there was too much standing and waiting in long lines.
      Yes, dancing is good for the soul but my body won’t cooperate right now.

  4. barbary bhaapel says:

    sounds interesting…………….much love to you.

  5. lizbethraab says:

    Ciao, Michelle,
    Loved the photos, especially the glorious sunset, the skyline and harbour pix!
    I hope you will soon get the neuropathy under control and v soon get some relief.
    Thinking of you & Diavolo,
    Ciao, ciao, Liz

Leave a Reply

