Slow Down and Smell the Roses

DSCN1762

Hurray! Progress continues in my battle against the big “C”. Dr. X. called yesterday with the latest number from the CA125 test and I’m down from 18 a couple weeks ago to 8 this week. This is good news again. I’m almost at the halfway point. Next week will be Chemo #9. No relation to Love Potion #9 but I bet someone could change out the words of that song to fit. At the end of the coming session I will have completed half of the 18 treatments. It is a long process and yes, I really want my life back. I’m very, very tired of being very, very tired. It’s one major side effect that there is no treatment for. And most days I can’t stand for more than 15 minutes at a time without a severe backache. That leaves out most housework, major cooking etc. I had planned on trying a Tai Chi class last Tuesday but realized if I can’t stand for more than 15 minutes what made me think I could do an hour Tai Chi class. I came to my senses, checked BarnesandNoble.com and bought a beginning Tai Chi DVD for the price of one class session ($8) and I can do it in bits that I can manage in my living room and sit when I need to. I don’t need pain pills for the back as it relaxes the minute I sit so it must be a spasm of some kind and yes, another side effect of chemo and steroids. One of the other things I dislike intensely is that my feet and ankles are nearly constantly swollen. So I spend a lot of time with my feet up. Yes, I’m complaining about having to sit with my feet up when I would so much rather be doing other things.

Since the flower shots were such a hit last week I’ll show you what that garden will look like in about a month. I took these in June 2014. I hope to go back next month but these are too good not to share.

DSCN1778

DSCN1777

DSCN1785

DSCN1788

DSCN1794

DSCN1781

And now for the roses:

DSCN1796

DSCN1798

DSCN1805

DSCN1806

DSCN1814

DSCN1816

DSCN1821

DSCN1827

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Cancer, Chemo, flowers, fotografia, Gardens, me, nature, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Slow Down and Smell the Roses

  1. foguth says:

    Beautiful photos & excellent news on the tests!

  2. Lulu says:

    Oh, Misha, I’m so glad to hear that the treatments are coming along and that the results are good! I’m keeping you in my thoughts/prayers…keep up that positive attitude (and the pictures are gorgeous!!)

  3. Woohoo! 🙂 That’s awesome news, dear Misha. And having those flowers blooming like that in a month’s time will be a beautiful way to celebrate being another 4 treatments along. Hugs to you and Diavolo! x0

  4. Marc-André says:

    Excellent news! And I love those flowers 🙂

  5. Becky B says:

    Wonderful wonderful news and stunning flowers 😊
    By the way have you tried body control pilates? Great for tired bodies and the basic moves don’t tax tired minds either x

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you for your kind words.
      The tiredness (fatigue) is one of the side effects of the chemo and I have been assured will go away when the chemo ends (around the end of July). Unfortunately, thanks to my degenerative arthritis in my knees I cannot do exercises that require me to get down on the floor…as I would need help getting up.
      I really am getting a lot of help from my care team, taking supplements and vitamins, boosting my immune system with nutrient rich food etc. I’ve gotten a lot of help from a wonderful little book given to me on my first chemo day in a gift bag from the American Cancer Society…It’s called “Chemo: Secrets to Thriving” and is written by Roxanne Brown…who has been through it. And of course chemo affects everyone differently. I consider myself lucky as I’m not nearly as sick as I expected to be.
      Again, thank you for your kind words and taking the time to visit my blog.

      • Becky B says:

        You must be counting the days down . . . . my best friend had chemo 5 years ago now and I still recall the utter exhaustion she went through. She is though now fine and full of energy – so all being well you will be the same 🙂 Sounds a great book you have
        Hugs x

  6. It is sooooo wonderful to hear that the treatment works a treat!!! 🙂 And those flowers… I must get my butt to the local botanical garden stat.

  7. lizbethraab says:

    Ciao, Michelle

    That is indeed great news and the gardens look really beautiful with their magnificent subtropical array of colours!

    Wish you a good week and that the results continue to go down.
    Liz

    .

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao, Liz.
      Hmm, subtropical…I don’t think so as roses don’t grow there. We have pretty much a temperate climate and the rain forest here is a temperate one.
      I never cease to be amazed at the colors of flowers and that these are a very short drive from where I live.
      Thanks, Liz for your kind words.

  8. i will slow down, stop for those pink roses.

    michelle, much love sent…………….barbary

  9. Beautiful flowers!! And so happy to hear your good news!

Leave a Reply

