Along a Woodland Path

Yesterday, being a Thursday, was my best day of the week thanks to the steroids they give me as a part of my chemo anti-side effects cocktail on Wednesday. It was a gloriously beautiful day here just south of Seattle, WA so I decided I needed to try a bit of an outdoor adventure. I took my camera and we went to the Highline Seatac Botanical Garden. Here is a link to the story of how the part of the garden I visited came about: http://highlinegarden.org/explore/elda-behms-paradise-garden/

DSCN5893

Several water features join the birds in creating musical sounds.

DSCN5902

DSCN5894

DSCN5897

DSCN5899

DSCN5900

DSCN5904

DSCN5901

DSCN5906

DSCN5911

DSCN5910

DSCN5913

DSCN5915

No fancy effects...this is the way the camera saw it.

No fancy effects…this is the way the camera saw it.

DSCN5917

For the weary wanderer there are benches scattered throughout so you can relax and enjoy the view.

DSCN5918

Won’t you show us what you are hiding, pretty one? Don’t be shy.

DSCN5920

I don’t think I’ve seen one of these before…a type of poppy I think. Sorry but most plants are not labeled.

DSCN5926

There is a beautiful rose garden section but not quite in full bloom yet. Here are a few that were lovely. Give it another month.

DSCN5930

DSCN5934

Reaching for t he sun

Reaching for the sky

And me in one of my favorite head wrapped scarves.

DSCN5877

As for my update, week seven and the good news is that although my white blood cell count had been on the decline I managed to get it back up into the normal range. I Googled “how do I increase my white blood cell count” and the answer came back “you can’t” but…you can increase your immune system…even when it’s being depressed by chemo with foods rich in anti oxidants. So I increased my intake of Greek yogurt, spinach (I like it raw in salad) and green tea. That is the only change I made. It kept me from having to delay treatment because if the WBC is too low you can’t have the chemo and also kept me from having to get a shot that is supposed to increase the white blood cells. The side effect of that shot is bone pain. No thank you! So I will continue with my current diet of foods rich in anti oxidants and see if it continues to increase. I really do want the chemo to be over the end of July without any delays. Oh, the other news is that I drove myself to chemo and home again on Wednesday.  I had a back up plan in case I didn’t feel able to drive home but Dr. X agreed that since I am tolerating the treatment fairly well and live so close there should not be a problem in my driving to and from treatment. That takes a load off my friends. Although I know they are more than willing to taxi me to and from the treatments. And I am so grateful for that.

I am having a little “wobbliness” when I walk…turn around too quickly, that kind of thing. So with the idea of getting that under control I am considering attending a Tai Chi classe that is offered at the Cancer Center on Tuesday evening. I’m hoping it will help with balance. Perhaps both inner and outer balance.

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Birds, Cancer, Chemo, flowers, fotografia, friends, Gardens, Hair, Home, me, nature, Photography, Seattle, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Along a Woodland Path

  1. You are gorgeous !! I hope when your hair grows back, you’ll continue to take your scarves/turban look for a spin now and then. You look very glam. 🙂 The flowers are a feast for the eyes ~ I think our gardens and wildlife must be thoroughly confused here as we’re halfway through the last month of autumn and I’m still sitting here in a sleeveless top. And I feel the cold! Have a beautiful weekend, bella. Hugs to you and Diavolo.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Shell and Ella,
      Thank you for the compliment. These scarves are ones I usually wear around my neck so perhaps they will help with future bad hair days.
      I think the weather is a bit strange the world over. Although we’ve had some really warm days….yesterday was mid 80’s F…we are back to gray skies and drizzle today. This is actually more normal weather for us right now.
      One of my symptoms of the therapy is that I get really cold about 2 pm and need to be under a blanket. At first I thought it was just the airconditioning at the Cancer Center because we all complain of the cold but it happens here at home too and I don’t have any cooling system other than fans in high summer. So I’m in long sleeves sipping hot green jasmine tea.

  2. gooddayrome says:

    Lovely outing! When the Pacific Northwest puts on her spring flower show it is a sight to see! Wishing you continued success in your treatments. Venice await you!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      It is so nice to have such a beautiful place so close to home. Although the property owners of this complex have some nice landscaping right outside my window too.

  3. wfdec says:

    Driving yourself. In Australia the comment would be “That’s one gutsy Lady.”
    And I loved the rhododendron.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you, John. I do have to say it doesn’t take guts to drive five minutes from where I live. I am so lucky that the Highline Cancer Center is almost “just around the corner”. And the parking is free! I was dreading having to get rides to downtown Seattle (30 minutes when traffic is good which it usually isn’t). And that lovely botanical garden is only about three miles away. No freeways involved in either drive. So I can maintain a bit of independence.

  4. You truly look amazing! 🙂 And the flowers – so magically colorful and full of spring. Wonderful!

  5. lizbethraab says:

    What a kaleidoscope of magnificent colours your photos were – and the website made fascinating reading.

    So glad to hear you were able to drive yourself there and back to the center. Let’s see if I can post this – sometimes can, sometimes can’t.

    Loved the deep pinks of those flowers and the wonderful deep green shades of the foliage/vegetation. Must’ve been a wonderful place to visit.

    Ciao, ciao and all good wishes
    Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      So glad you got WordPress to work for you, Liz. I don’t know if the driving will continue. My friend who usually takes me was ill last week and most of my friends here at the apartments either go to work early or don’t drive. If all else had failed I could have taken a taxi but it worked for me to drive.

  6. notewords says:

    The photos are fabulous! All the best with the treatments.

  7. Susie L says:

    Lovely photographs Michelle, a real treat for the eyes. And you are looking lovely as well, very chic! I was very interested in your information regarding anti-oxidants and your WBC. My husband’s WBC dropped this week, his chemo was deferred and I have been trained to give him those injections. Yikes! He has felt some bone pain, but nothing too terrible, it wasn’t as bad as we feared. I hope you can keep your WBC up, and I will be making lots of green tea! Sending cyber hugs your way.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Hi Susie,
      One of the books I have said to check with your doctor before using antioxidants, but they were referring to supplements you would find in a health food store. I can’t imagine that food would hurt.
      I finally managed to get rid of the pain from the DVT which was excrutiating so avoiding pain is high on my list of priorities.
      You and Marco remain in my prayers.

      • Susie L says:

        Grazie Bella, and you remain in ours. I’m very happy to hear your DVT pain is gone, it is hard to concentrate on healing when you are in pain.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        As you can imagine once that pain was gone everything else was easier to deal with.

  8. Glad to hear things are going well so far. That you drive is amazing. Never heard of the park you visited–funny that! I am not a botanical guy.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I’m trying to maintain my independence as much as possible. As far as driving, I pretty much don’t go beyond a five mile radius at this time. Luckily, Trader Joe’s is well within that radius.
      And until I moved to Normandy Park I’d never heard of the Highline Seatac Botanical Garden either. It’s a lovely place and a lot more than the part I visited on Thursday. Wonderfully tranquil when the planes are not taking off or landing at the airport.

  9. Julie Stone says:

    Beautiful pictures! What a lovely place. And I love your animal print and gold fingernails! It’s wonderful to hear things are going smoothly. Sending good thoughts that it continues that way.
    I watched a bit of the Vogalonga on the webcam today.

  10. The photos of the garden are amazing! It’s also amazing how healing our foods can be! Yea antioxidants!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      My doctor was really impressed. As someone who hated the green mush that was spinach as a child it’s amazing how much I like it in salads. I even chopped some up for a frittata this morning.

Leave a Reply

