A Third of the Way

Yes, six chemo treatments down…twelve to go. Nothing new happening, I’m still really tired all the time which is not unusual. Other than Friday when I crash from the steroid high on Thursday I’m not feeling particularly “sick”. And sick is a relative term. Basically on Friday I have that feeling like I’ve been on some type of binge…I used to describe it as feeling like I’d been run over by a truck. I just listen to my body and sleep most of the day. Today, Saturday, I’m on the mend and it gets better each day till I crash again next Friday. Now that I have that down I can actually make plans. So if anyone wants to get together for lunch or a visit….a Thursday would be the best day. I’ll get my dance card in order.

In the meantime I’ll share some photos from May 2010 when a really good friend from Australia came to visit and we spent a few hours at the Olympic Sculpture Park on the Seattle Water Front.

DSCN3369

DSCN3371

Here’s a close up of that lovely dogwood tree.

It almost looks like a lovely Japanese flower arrangement

It almost looks like a lovely Japanese flower arrangement

DSCN3375

DSCN3383

DSCN3387

Can we erase the city street?

Can we erase the city street? Really? You don’t know what this is? Ask your mother or anyone who worked in an office in the 1960’s.

DSCN3394

Urban landscape viewed through the art work…it is not a reflection…the buildings are behind

Urban landscape closeup

Urban landscape closeup

Being May there were lots of flowers.

DSCN3378

DSCN3381

Wandering in the Olympic Sculpture Garden on the Seattle Waterfront.

Iris are blooming

Iris are blooming

DSCN3414

DSCN3411

Looking across Elliot Bay to where I live...around the headland

Looking across Elliot Bay to where I lived in West Seattle…around the headland

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Third of the Way

  1. furbiziahs says:

    Sleep really helps a lot, and don’t forget, time is passing quickly. We’re thinking of you dear Michelle!!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yes, giving in to sleep really does help. I’m always afraid that if I allow myself to sleep during the day I won’t be able to sleep at night but now that I no longer have the pain from the DVT it is no longer an issue. I can sleep all day and all night…all part of healing.
      Grazie for your prayers and good wishes, Iris.

  2. foguth says:

    Love the Seattle photos! Next time I’m on that side of the country, I really need to see more of that city. As is, when I fly in, I take a taxi to the ferry (I ADORE that Ferry!) to Bremerton… my sister always says she can pick me up at the airport, but I love that ferry!
    Still praying for your continuing recovery and Mr. M is adding healing purrs.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I have been known to joy ride on the ferries…just take one to the other side with no intention of actually going anywhere….just to be on the water with the wind blowing my hair (when I had hair). I look forward to doing it again.
      There is lots to see in the city and I’m sure in the years I’ve lived in the Pacific Northwest I haven’t seen all there is to see.
      Thank you to you and Mr. M.

  3. my faves of your pics: the pink chairs and the dogwood…..just great photography, all.

    keep on keepin’ on. our best wishes and love.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Interesting those chairs show up that shade as on reality they are an orangey red, The same color as the sculpture I used to frame the Space Needle.
      Thank you for the good wishes.

  4. I’m glad to hear things are in a pattern so you can make plans, bella !! Thank you for the lovely piccies – beautiful flowers and the light you caught off the top of that wall where it meets the sky is wonderful ! Happy dance-card-filling and snoozing when the mood takes you. Hugs to you and Diavolo. x0

    • mvaden1948 says:

      It did take me a while, and talking to my doctor, to figure out that there is a pattern so now I will know that on Friday I should stay home and avoid human contact as much as possible:-) But I can celebrate Thursdays which is rapidly becoming my favorite day of the week. Hugs back to you and Ella.

  5. These photos are so full of colors and sunshine. Just wonderful! It really is good that you have this pattern when you know which day is to be treated like those annoyingly miserable, dull and rainy ones, but you know – such days are always followed by a rainbow. πŸ™‚

  6. Luca Marchiori says:

    What wonderfully colourful pictures. I can’t imagine how hard it must be for you at the moment but a third of the way is a great milestone. Looking forward to seeing you in Venice next year when this is all a memory. Hang in there brave lady!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Luca. I don’t feel brave….just getting on with what needs to be done. I’ll be very happy when things are back to what passes for normal for me. And absolutely delighted to meet up with my friends I’ve never met in Venice!

  7. wfdec says:

    I just stopped off at Yvonnes blog as saw your comment. Somehow or other WP has chopped a lot of my contacts. When I went from Cryptic Garland to my new one I thought I had everyone but I am glad I have got you back. I loved the Sculptures. There are a number of those huge steel forms in Melbourne as well. And the contrast with the tulips is amazing. Best wishes from down under.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Hi, John.
      I have switched most of the blogs I follow to the weekly digest mode so am not “bombarded” daily with posts. So although I still get the posts I just don’t have the energy to read and respond to everyone. I even have my outgoing message on my phone telling people I may not call back. As you can tell from reading my little updates I’m actually doing well on the chemo and the fatigue (and oh, yes, the hair loss) are my major side effects. The “good” side effect is that today (Thursday here) is my day I feel almost normal and have lots of energy thanks to the steroids they pumped me full of yesterday. I’m sure I could not pass a doping test for any sports activities. So it’s a lovely spring day here and I hope to get out and enjoy it…errands can wait. I hope to get some more flower pictures. And I just discovered the Cancer Center offers a Tai Chi class at a reduced rate so I will take advantage of that next week as it may help with some balance issues I’ve been having. Oh, the other side effect is something called “chemo brain” which affects my concentration. And I thought walking into a room and forgetting why I was there was just a sign of old age. Take care. I will be back. “They” tell me all this will go away when the chemo stops.
      Michelle

      • wfdec says:

        I have never had such a detailed, complete and welcome comment from anyone who is in the bloom of life let alone someone going through “chemo”
        Thanks. And keep at it.

  8. mvaden1948 says:

    As I said….Thursday is a good day and it’s only a little after six am here. Guess it’s time to get my coffee. Oh, and besides feeling good…I tend to get more than a little hyper so maybe it should be decaf. Ahh, what the heck.

Leave a Reply

