Chemo:Week 2

Week 2 of chemo went well. Not as long as last time and now I know the drill. I’m doing okay. Tired a lot and sleep a lot but that is a good thing. Still running my own errands for groceries most of the time. And…I just discovered that I can book spa treatments while I’m getting my chemo. I think I’ll schedule a mani-pedi soon. I was wondering how I was going to work that in. I got a card for a woman who has a mobile service and comes to the treatment rooms. Same price (or cheaper than a salon).

I’m going to try to check in once a week here and I’m referring people to this blog for updates. I prefer no (or very few phone calls) saving my limited phone plan for my care team. And it sure beats having to say the same thing over and over.

Today I’ll share some photos that you might enjoy from the trip I took about six months after my last battle with cancer in 2009. I had already planned a vacation, using Hawaiian airline miles to spend the week of my birthday in December 2009 in Hilo, Hawaii. I love Hawaii and had planned to retire there (before I found I could probably live in Venice for the same amount of money). Yes, I got on a plane and flew to Hawaii for a week after a total hysterectomy and radiation therapy. It was planned to be a relaxing week and it was.

My first glimpse of Riverhouse Hideaway

My first glimpse of Riverhouse Hideaway…yes, a river runs through it.

I rented an apartment that was not on the beach (this was a budget trip) and was the lower floor of a house on a beautifully landscaped property. I had privacy and rest…just what I needed.

Kitchenette

Kitchenette

Living room...yes, a fireplace in Hawaii

Living room…yes, a fireplace in Hawaii, I didn’t use it but they told me it is sometimes cold in the mornings.

Bedroom with king bed

Bedroom with king bed

And now for the outside:

DSCN1678

The noise from the small river running through the property drowned out any traffic noise from the street.

DSCN1687

My private patio for lounging and reading.

DSCN1685

DSCN1688A lawn felt good under bare feet.

DSCN1690

DSCN1691DSCN1695

The river is his waterbowl

The river is his water bowl…Bill, the cat gets his morning drink.

Would I stay in a place without a cat?

Back on the scenic drive

I did take a scenic drive

Warning sign...and it is really steep...I didn't do it all

Warning sign…and it is really steep…I didn’t do it all…this was at a botanical garden

Flowers are worth the climb

Flowers are worth the climb

DSCN1800

Lots of orchids

DSCN1784

DSCN1801

Mongoose sighting! At least I got him from behind. He/she just trotted across the path in front of me.

DSCN1840

I want this house…the points on the roof make demons and evil spirits slide off and back up into the sky

DSCN1872

At Liliuokalani Park…lovely views from there.

Morning Tai Chi...bodies in motion

Morning Tai Chi…bodies in motion

Sailing ship in the harbor

Sailing ship in the harbor

And I’ll leave you with my first attempt at a selfie…taken at my Hilo Haven on my birthday in 2009.

Hilo Hottie?

It was just the relaxing vacation I needed.

Watch for updates.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Aging gracefully, Beautiful Day, Cancer, Cats, Chemo, flowers, fotografia, Gardens, Hawaii, Life is good, me, Memories, nature, Photography, Travel, urban wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chemo:Week 2

  1. foguth says:

    A friend of mine is house-bound due to health issues and I’ve been trying to think of a good birthday gift for her … I’d never heard of a mobile mani-pedi service, so intend to see if there is anything like that available around here … or perhaps someone who does mobile hair styling ….

  2. Lulu says:

    Your photos are really lovely, but more importantly, I’ll be keeping you in my prayers and sending lots of positive thoughts for a successful and speedy outcome!

  3. Shell Sherree says:

    Love the sound of that mani-pedi service, bella ! What a fabulous idea – I’ll bet she has a very tidy little business going. I’m so happy to hear things are jogging along very well in the scheme of things. That’s a beautiful selfie, and looks like a very nice spot you found in Hawaii, with a resident kitty into the bargain. Have a lovely weekend !

  4. Beautiful photos! What a lovely trip!

  5. Hi Michelle. I look forward to seeing photos from the month long trip to Venice that you are planning for next March. I’m so sorry to hear that you are unwell and having a rough time. Life has a way of tripping us up doesn’t it? The thing is to keep getting right back up, which is what you seem to be able to do. I’m still hoping to get back out to Venice despite my own health issues. If our dates ever overlap we really will have to meet up and share some Chicchetti. My mother first had cancer at age 44, she had 2 more recurrences which she fought off each time. She’s now 74 and still living life to the full. Sending you my best wishes. Miles.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you, Miles.
      I still have a ways to go as treatment just began. A positive attitude is everything!
      I would love to meet up with you and your wife sometime.

Leave a Reply

