Spring has arrived…

And along with spring my first chemo treatment.  My photo illustrations will be some of the spring views from my patio at my apartment.

A parkinglot puddle becomes a birdbath

A parking lot puddle becomes a birdbath

Wednesday March 30th was a very long day. It was my first chemo so took longer than normal as I was monitored for reactions. They administer the drugs through the port that was inserted in my upper right chest a couple of weeks ago when I had my biopsy. This is much easier on me than  them constantly poking my veins. I barely feel it.

DSCN5765

I took what I call my goodie bag with me.  A messenger bag with my Nook (with tons of books on it), my iPod, noise cancelling headphones, an “adult” coloring book (really, they are stress reducing) with my watercolor pencils, a prayer book and a couple of snacks….never dreaming they would feed me lunch. Next time I’ll have a picture of my colorful goodie bag.

DSCN5768

My doctor came to my room. Since this was my first time they had me in a bed in a private room. He explained that the decision had been made that since I was still taking blood thinner for the DVT I would get a lower dose of the chemo but more often. So I go once a week on Wednesday for 18 weeks. It was originally six doses at a higher rate but would still have been over 18 weeks.

Diavolo

Diavolo asked to make an appearance.

So I settled in and let them work their magic. Luckily, I had no adverse reactions. Lots of people came and introduced themselves to me and probably over the next weeks I will actually learn all the names. The people who work at the Highline Cancer Center are wonderful and caring.

There were a variety of drugs I was given prior to chemo to counteract side effects and to keep me comfortable. So that took up most of the morning. My friend C. was there all day coming back to check on me but not staying (really, I don’t have the energy to entertain visitors or keep up with conversation)…just letting me know she was there if I needed anything.

Around noon the hospital volunteer came and asked me what I’d like for lunch…they had a selection of sandwiches, chips/cookies and soda and juices. Just enough. And I must say that little ham sandwich was much better than I’d had in the hospital. And I’ll get my once a week chip fix.

DSCN5776

Yesterday I bought myself some sunflowers…happy flowers.

Finally at 3:30 pm I was finished and ready to go home. Some of the time I was there I put my headphones on and slept. We stopped at the drug store and picked up a prescription and then home by 4 pm. Yes, a very long day.

I must say that I was not expecting to feel as good as I did on Thursday. But when I saw Dr. X on Wednesday we adjusted my pain meds and I slept really well Wednesday night and woke totally pain free. I felt better than I had felt on January 29; the day before my DVT. So pain is being managed. I overdid with errands yesterday (Friday) and that knocked the wind out of my sails. Slept most of the afternoon. Slept well again last night. Today I feel not ill but sort of the way you feel when you have a cold (I don’t) and just don’t want to move. Not really pain…just moving really slowly.

I’m not promising a post every week but at least the highlights. I leave you with more sunflowers.

DSCN5774

 

 

 

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cancer, Cats, Chemo, Diavolo, flowers, fotografia, friends, Photography, Spring, Uncategorized, urban wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spring has arrived…

  1. gooddayrome says:

    Brava Michelle! Hang in there!

  2. Your hardship will soon pass! You’re in my thoughts! Beautiful photos!

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Michelle, you are so kind. I have sent you an email.:-)

  4. furbiziahs says:

    You do have appointments in Venice soon, time will fly !!! Abbracci and love from Venice!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I certainly hope so. It seems to be dragging at the moment.
      It seems I may even have a gentleman taking me to dinner at the Cipriani on Torcello.
      Abbracci a te!

  5. Hugs to you, this must be a tough time. Everything will work out.

Leave a Reply

