La Città in Acqua

The magic of Venice is partly that it is a city on the water but it is also a city under the water. The buildings reflected in the canals or even in puddles give us an alternate reality.

Do not adjust your computer screens….these photos shared here are reflections. I had thought of cropping all of them to show only the reflections but then decided you would probably enjoy the beauty of the original.  The ones that show only reflection were photographed that way.

Yes, people are sitting out in the water having a coffee or a spritz

Yes, people are sitting out in the water having a coffee or a spritz and their alter egos are also enjoying the day.

DSCN1010

 

DSCN1124

DSCN1136

DSCN1145

DSCN1140

DSCN1160

DSCN1435

DSCN1436

DSCN2145

DSCN3341

DSCN3368

DSCN3849

DSCN3896

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Bridges, City of My Dreams, fotografia, Photography, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to La Città in Acqua

  1. I can look at these (and the originals in real life) for ages and it never gets old 🙂

  2. Susie L says:

    Aaaaah, so relaxing and lovely. Grazie!

  3. Love the photos! You’ve definitely captured those captivating reflections!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Michelle.
      It’s funny because I went through the photos from all four of my trips and I had a lot more reflections from the last two (2012 and 2013) and absolutely none from 2010 when I met up with friends. I think my focus was different that year.

  4. gooddayrome says:

    It is absolutely magical when you get those reflections. As you know, there is nowhere like it!

  5. furbiziahs says:

    Wonderful pictures! Yes there are two Venice, and we usually take it for granted, while it’s such a gift ☺☺

  6. These are beautiful photos-very picture puzzlie in a good way. I have heard though I may be mistaken the canals do not always smell so good.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Hmm, that is a common assumption. At very low tide those canals may have an odor just like we have here at our beaches at low tide….the smell of seaweed….rotting or otherwise. I would say that 99% of the time they do not have any distinguishing odor.
      I have spent quite a bit of time there as you can tell in this blog and have only once or twice noticed the “odor”. If I go to Alki Beach at low tide I would notice it all the time when the tide is out.
      I find that people who have never been there say the canals smell and when I ask how they know they either say that someone told them or they read it somewhere. Those canals are not sewers although sometimes tourists think nothing of throwing their trash in them. Litter bugs are everywhere.
      And the pictures make great puzzles. I have one in mind to do for a friend for her birthday next year.

  7. Sue says:

    Always enjoy your blog. It seems like yesterday we were last in Venice. can’t believe was in 2007!
    I wish I could return right now, but due to health issues, it is not possible. So glad we had our three trips. So ma y wonderful memories and photographs.

    Sue

  8. Luca Marchiori says:

    What a wonderful post and beautiful pictures. Looking forward to reading more of your blog. You might be interested in this blog post about my recent return to Venice, the city where I was born. http://chestnutsandtruffles.com/my-venice/

  9. Miles says:

    These are really great. I’m sure your photography gets better all the time! I really enjoyed this and it’s made me determined to get back to Venice in whatever way possible – to take more photos of course, but also just to enjoy! ….Venice is a bit like a drug isn’t it….we just can’t leave it alone once we’ve experienced its wonders 😉

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Miles. Yes, Venice is definitely my drug of choice. I haven’t been in over two years. These were gleaned from my four visits. I have several thousand ( thank God for digital) shots and even though many are the dame view she never looks the same was twice…like the mysterious courtesan she is.

  10. You’ve just managed to make me fall in love with Venice all over again. I’ve just realised it’s been over a year since I last went… Grazie tanto. Jx

  11. Lulu says:

    Gorgeous photos Misha! I would love to travel to Venice and perhaps one day I will. In the meantime I enjoy looking at your beautiful recollections; these would make wonderful postcards!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thanks, Lulu.
      I have actually used my own photos for postcards through a company called Touchnote. It is great and their prices include postage. My friends and family get pictures I took for a lot less than it would cost to mail a stock postcard from Italy.

Leave a Reply

