Buon Anno 2016

So….I thought for this last post of 2015 (or first post of 2016 depending on your part of the world) I would start off the new year with five favorite photos from each of my four visits to Venice. You know what is said about “best laid plans”. I started with my trip in 2008…my first visit ever…and couldn’t choose just five. So I will share the fifteen favorites out of the final keepers of 593. I don’t think WordPress would appreciate (not would you take the time to view) all 593.

So for your viewing pleasure and in no particular order are the ones I love the most taken the last week of October and the first week of November 2008 during my two week stay.

DSCN1212

Atilla and friends

Atilla and friends

Dingo had an adoption center near my apartment so I got a daily “cat fix”.

DSCN1367

I think I’ll call this color “Venetian Sky Blue”

DSCN1402

DSCN1412

Steps to reflection.

DSCN1788

A foggy night in Piazza San Marco

DSCN1813

DSCN1824

DSCN1829DSCN1830

 

The morning after the night before

The morning after the night before

Reflections in red

Reflections in red

DSCN1904

DSCN1914

DSCN1939

DSCN1942

DSCN1958

DSCN1896

And even now I have failed in my attempt to chose only fifteen. In a future post I will attempt to chose only fifteen pictures from my second visit to what has become The City of My Dreams.

The only way to care for Venice as she deserves it is to give her a chance to touch you often — to linger and remain and return.

— Henry James, Italian Hours

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Bridges, Cats, City of My Dreams, Fog, fotografia, Life is good, Memories, Photography, Travel, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Buon Anno 2016

  1. karen says:

    Buon anno! As always, gorgeous photos.

  2. foguth says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR! May 2016 be your best year, yet!

  3. Sue Merritt says:

    I remember seeing these pictures when you first posted them. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing them again…….and a third time would be just as enjoyable.

    Happy New Year Michelle.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Happy New Year, Sue!
      I never tire of gazing at pictures of Venice….mine or someone else’s.
      I don’t remember….do you follow Yvonne’s blog “Hello World”. She’s in Venice right now.
      Here is her link .https://ytaba36.wordpress.com/
      She’s been there since December 2…staying seven weeks then on to Lucca is the plan.

  4. furbiziahs says:

    Wonderful pictures!!! I love the details … Happy New Year, health and success for 2016, dear Michelle!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, cara Iris. And those pictures were taken before I had the fancy camera I have now.
      I got to see a few of the fireworks from Venice on the live webcams. There were too many people logged on and at one point their system seemed to crash. Too many of us wishing we were there. Still nearly six hours to go for those of us on the west coast of the USA.
      May 2016 bring you peace, love and joy!

      • furbiziahs says:

        Thank you dear Michelle! Sorry you couldn’t see all of the fireworks, but even us, with too many people in the Piazza were squeezed in.. My camera doesn’t work well at night so I didn’t take it with me… there will be certainly good videos available soon – I’m sure Venezia Unica will post some. A presto e buon anno!

  5. gooddayrome says:

    Auguri, Michelle! Great photos! Makes me want to go back to Venezia even thoà we were just there in November!

  6. What a wonderful post, Michelle! And 593 photos would by no means be “too much”. 😉 At least as far as Im concerned. Venezia truly is a place that you must allow to enter your senses in order to understand her. If you’re dont give a hoot about her she (rightfully) disregards you back.

  7. Lulu says:

    These are positively wonderful…the subject matter for these various shots are really good. Let me know if you want to sell any; I’ve already picked out my favorites!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you. I’ve never actually thought of selling them but I’d be happy too and I’m sure my prices would be reasonable.
      I’m emailing you with my email address and maybe we can make some arrangements.

Leave a Reply

