A Story of Christmas: A lesson in history

26-DSCN2768

 

Most of you do not know that I don’t celebrate Christmas. This is not because I don’t believe in God. I do, very much. And as some would sometimes ask, no, I’m not Jewish but what would it matter if I was. Nor am I Muslim, Hindu or any other religion other than what I am.

I am a Baha’i. That is a member of the world’s newest recognized world religion.  I have been a Baha’i for nearly 40 years. Here is an historical essay that was published today in Bahaiteachings.org:

http://bahaiteachings.org/abdul-bahas-first-christmas?utm_source=BT+Subscribers&utm_campaign=3e53db2744-RSS_EMAIL_CAMPAIGN&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_22fe645b0d-3e53db2744-114007081

And although it is not my holiday I do wish all of you who celebrate this December 25 the joys of the season and peace on earth and share with you a musical interlude that was posted on a friend’s blog. (Thank you, Uncle Spike)

If you are interested in information about the Baha’i Faith the best place to start is at the official website: http://www.bahai.org/

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Baha'i Faith, Christmas, fotografia, friends, History, me, Photography, Religions of the world and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Story of Christmas: A lesson in history

  1. wfdec says:

    Thanks Misha. I will read the links but just now it is a bit difficult. But I won’t forget. Then I will comment.

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    I want to make sure that the readers of this blog understand that my blog is not a forum for discussing the Baha’i Faith.
    If you want to know more about the Baha’i Faith please follow the link I have provided.
    I appreciate comments made by other Baha’is but if they are pointing out information about the Faith they will not be approved here.
    Thank you for your consideration.

  3. Lulu says:

    I’ve never heard of this faith Misha; I enjoy learning about new things, so I’ll check this out…thanks for sharing!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you, Lulu. That’s the reason I put the link in …so if anyone wanted information about the Baha’i Faith they could follow that.
      Since my blog isn’t about that I didn’t want a lot of questions here.

Leave a Reply

