Bon Nadal

No I did not misspell Buon Natale. Bon Nadal is Buon Natale (or Merry Christmas) in Venet, the Venetian language. I’m picking up a few phrases thanks to my friend who gave me a Venet-English dictionary for my birthday a couple of weeks ago.

Since I’m not in Venice this year I’m sharing some “Memories of Christmas Past”. Christmas past in Venice of course. It has been really wet here in the Pacific Northwest of the US so I haven’t been out and about to see any light displays or other decorations here so Venice from 2013 will have to do.

12-DSCN3432

It’s looking a lot like Christmas when the window display at the grocery store is full of Panettone.

DSCN2381

Christmas trees for sale in Venice.

DSCN0607

A lot of people worry about tying the tree on the top of the car here but in Venice you load it on a hand truck and cart it on the vaporetto( water bus).  The look on his face tells me he’s thinking about all the steps to get that up to the fourth floor apartment.

What I bought at the flower shop

DSCN1299

22-DSCN2496

The tree in Piazza San Marco goes up around December 8.

20-DSCN2494

Remember all that equipment has to be brought in by boat/barge!

31-DSCN2972

The Piazza San Marco tree illuminated. With my favorite lion of course.

03-DSCN2579

In the window at La Pieta (Vivaldi’s church)

13-DSCN2654

Holly branches at the Rialto Mercato.

19-DSCN2665

Father and son bring home the tree. Yes, you can’t see anything but Sandro’s leg because the tree is much bigger than he was at the time. It is his hand truck they are using .

25-DSCN2683

As December progresses more and more shop windows have displays.

18-DSCN2852

Someone really decorated their window.

32-DSCN2975

This picture and the one below are at the Danieli Hotel where I met with a friend from TripAdvisor.

33-DSCN2976

06-DSCN3121

No working chimneys in Venice so Babbo Natale uses a ladder and comes over the balcony.

09-DSCN3389

13-DSCN3395

Near the Rialto Mercato

16-DSCN3405

42-DSCN3486

01-DSCN3493

It was a foggy day in 2013 for the Babbo Natale Regatta.

13-DSCN3524

24-DSCN3572

30-DSCN3580

31-DSCN3584

11-DSCN361702-DSCN3594

03-DSCN3595

13-DSCN3625

Enjoying a Christmas concert.

23-DSCN3661

22-DSCN3705

It was so nice of my neighbors to put this decoration directly above the door to my apartment.

21-DSCN3704

05-DSCN3723

A very glamorous Babbo Natale.

06-DSCN3725

28-DSCN3765

And if Bon Nadal is not enough Venetian for you here is a Venetian take on Mariah Carey’s song “All I want for Christmas is You” by my favorite Venetian group Ska-J:

Mi e ti a Nadal

And yes, in Venice, Santa Claus does arrive in a gondola.

Buon Natale a tutti!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Bon Nadal, Christmas, Christmas tree, City of My Dreams, fotografia, Home, Memories, Photography, Venet/Venetian, Venezia, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bon Nadal

  1. Sue Merritt says:

    We are heading out not to a holiday gathering …. And this really put me in the mood. Merry Christmas my friend.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. wfdec says:

    You and Yvonne make a good pair. You complement each other. Fantastic shots, I am so envious.I hope you have a good Christmas.

  3. gooddayrome says:

    Stunning! We were in Venezia in Dec 2011, 2012 and 2014. I love it there then! Great pictures and may you be there in 2016!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Too bad we hadn’t connected in blogdom in 2012….we could have met in Venice! Sadly I won’t make if for 2016…there’s that goal of being debt free and moving there…remember?

  4. biankonera says:

    Thank you sooooo much for this AMAZING post!!!! 🙂 Lo adoro!!! 🙂

  5. Thanks for sharing all the interesting photos. I wonder where the trees come from?

  6. furbiziahs says:

    Dear Michelle, Thank you so much for sharing these wonderful pictures!!!! I remember Christmas 2013 very well, can recognize much in your post.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      And you probably saw that crazy silver haired American in the purple coat wandering around with the red camera and had no idea who I was!;-)
      She was also often wearing a gray and black leopard print beret and leopard print gloves trimmed in hot pink. Hard to miss if you knew who you were looking for.

Leave a Reply

