Transformation

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now. Probably ever since the obviously my age man outside Trader Joe’s one Sunday in May said “Happy Mother’s Day, Grandma”. Really? I’ve liked my gray hair and have attempted to go gray gracefully. But I also got to thinking that the outside should be as youthful and vibrant as I feel on the inside.

Then a chat with my stylist convinced me that I was way too young at heart to have gray hair.
What I looked like on Oct. 5 2015:
DSCN5556
And what I look like now:
DSCN5582
It’s simply amazing what a difference a $10 box of hair color will make.
Here are a couple more views of the totally (well, almost) transformed me.
DSCN5570
And with a little help from Picasa soft focus I look almost angelic in this next one!
DSCN5572
This one for a better look at the hair….and the baby blues.
DSCN5577
I think I like it and I think I’ll keep it.
Abbracci,
Misha
About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Aging gracefully, fotografia, friends, Home, Life is good, me, Photography, Transformation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Transformation

  1. karen says:

    Love the new look!

  2. So now retirement is over and you’ll have to go back to work. We can’t have youngster wandering around looking unemployed.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Oh, I keep busy enough….mostly reading other people’s blogs.
      No, I’m through with the 8-5 world.
      Now I do want I want for a loving rather than worry about making a living.

      • You are a lucky lady.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        I was a shocked/surprised lady when I realized that I don’t have the stress and I net about $200 per month more than I did when I was working!

      • Unfortunately I have found that a combination of circumstances have effectively cut my pension by about sixty % and I have to be very frugal. Hence a major change in the New Year.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        60%…ouch. And I though it was bad when to balance the state budget several years ago they decided they would “give” state employees furlough days. Ah, extra time off you say. Yes, but without pay. And since that didn’t really work because there were certain offices they couldn’t just close they changed it to 3% pay reduction….over the course of two years when we had already been voted increases and already made a good 25% less than the same type of work in the private sector. Of course none of the lawmakers had to take a decrease…their income and raises were chiseled in stone.
        I am very lucky that my retirement from my job is not connected to the stock market or anything else that can decrease the benefit and there is a yearly (tiny) cost of living allowance mandated by law (I’m sure there is a stone carver in Olympia as I type trying to change that). Unlike my Social Security (I paid into that as well as my pension from employment) which although not connected to the stock market claims there has been no increase in the consumer price index so they are not giving us a raise this year. The one part of my work pension that changes is the cost of my medical insurance which is going up in January so that “overage” is diminishing.
        I do get nervous everytime the US Congress starts talking about messing with Social Security but I’m hoping they won’t get around to it till I’m long gone. “They” say there is enough money in there to keep it doing till about 2036….I may or may not live that long. I guess if I do I’ll have to worry about getting a job then;-)

      • Apart from the money I would actually prefer to still be in the classroom teaching.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      PS…I can’t go back to work anyway…I make more money retired. Davvero!

  3. Sue Merritt says:

    Absolutely lovely. Good for you.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. biankonera says:

    Meravigliosa!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. furbiziahs says:

    You look very beautiful!! It’s a lovely color!!

  6. Keep it that way is my vote .

  7. amariesilver says:

    Your hair looks awesome but your eyes are stunning!

  8. Shelley says:

    You were gorgeous before, and even more so now ! It suits you beautifully, bella !!

  9. Ralph says:

    As promised I am here. What a difference colouring your hair makes. You look so much younger ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

