Happy Halloween!

Do you like my costume?

Diavolo

I know Halloween is still several days away but I’m still trying to decide….maybe this one is really scary…

Yes, I have been communicating with my home planet.

Do I look like I have been communicating with the Mother Ship?

But Mom Misha says “Yes, it is an interesting costume, Diavolo but you really don’t want to scare people do you?”

Wikipedia says:

Halloween or Hallowe’en (/ˌhæləˈwn, ˈn, ˌhɑːl/; a contraction of “All HallowsEvening“),[6] also known asAllhalloween,[7] All Hallows’ Eve,[8] or All Saints’ Eve,[9] is a yearly celebration observed in a number of countries on 31 October, the eve of the Western Christian feast of All Hallows’ Day. It initiates the three-day religious observance ofAllhallowtide,[10] the time in the liturgical year dedicated to remembering the dead, including saints (hallows), martyrs, and all the faithful departed believers.[11] Within Allhallowtide, the traditional focus of All Hallows’ Eve revolves around the theme of using “humor and ridicule to confront the power of death.”[12]

According to many scholars, All Hallows’ Eve is a Christianized feast initially influenced by Celtic harvest festivals,[2][13]with possible pagan roots, particularly the Gaelic Samhain.[8][14][15] Other scholars maintain that it originated independently of Samhain and has solely Christian roots.[2][16]

Typical festive Halloween activities include trick-or-treating (or the related “guising“), attending costume parties,decorating, carving pumpkins into jack-o’-lanterns, lighting bonfires, apple bobbing, visiting haunted attractions, playingpranks, telling scary stories and watching horror films. In many parts of the world, the Christian religious observances of All Hallows’ Eve, including attending church services and lighting candles on the graves of the dead, remain popular,[17][18][19] although in other locations, these solemn customs are less pronounced in favor of a more commercialized and secularized celebration.[20][21][22] Because many Western Christian denominations encourage, although most no longer require, abstinence from meat on All Hallows’ Eve,[23][24] the tradition of eating certainvegetarian foods for this vigil day developed, including the consumption of apples, colcannon, cider, potato pancakes, and soul cakes.[24][25][26]

(Okay, I had to look it up….Colcannon (Irish: cál ceannann, meaning “white-headed cabbage”) is a traditional Irish dish mainly consisting ofmashed potatoes with kale or cabbage. It is also the name of a song about the dish. I think I’ll stick with Reese’s Pieces….oops, I mean Mom will have those and I’ll have Temptations Cat Treats)

However you chose to celebrate the day/night, have fun and stay safe! Pass the potato pancakes, please.(Not the Colcannon)…and please be very nice to any black cats who cross your path.

Jack-o'-Lantern 2003-10-31.jpg

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Cats, Chocolate, Diavolo, Photography, Space aliens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Halloween!

  1. Wow! I have never taken the time to learn about this holiday. I’ll confess, it was all about the candy, the costumes, the laughter, bobbing for apples and carving pumpkins. Thanks Misha!

    Now, I have to be honest. I had a black cat, two, actually. Sweet and precious. They didn’t have a mean streak, not one! Both were ☕️❤️loving, and both were lap cats.

    I love any costume your sweet one decides to wear. 😉

    • mvaden1948 says:

      He’d love to wear the four eyed one but as I told him….it was an accident and no matter how hard he tries he will never look like that again.
      He is a huge, loving, sweet boy (all 15 lbs of him) and he has the biggest purr and the tiniest meow…tends to be more of a squeak.
      And don’t tell him I told you but….he’s a bit of a fraidy-cat. He’s just a big lover…not a fighter. And he’s definitely not evil. And not bad luck either. I count myself lucky that he adopted me.
      I learned a few things myself when I Googled Halloween. I was pretty sure it had Celtic origins but not really sure.

  2. niasunset says:

    You are so lovely, so lovely 🙂 Thank you, love, nia

  3. gooddayrome says:

    I do miss Halloween! We are seeing some decorations, but we’ll never have “Trick-or-Treat” like in the U.S. No one carves pumpkins, either. Love your little kitty!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you.
      Unfortunately “trick or treat” is not what it once was. Sadly often too dangerous. And then so many of the stores are already doing Christmas.
      That’s what I loved about being in Venice in December….not much Christmas stuff till around mid-December and you are not blasted with Christmas carols in the stores.
      When I was growing up they didn’t even sell Christmas trees before my birthday on December 12 but now you can have your “fresh” tree for Thanksgiving….which is of course not quite so fresh by the time Christmas actually arrives. Sigh.
      I’m enjoying your adventures on your blog.

  4. Susie L says:

    Diavolo is such a handsome boy! We’ve always had a black cat in our household, and every single one was so sweet and gentle. 💗

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thanks, Susie. I just had to get up and let him in from the patio where he has been watching the rain.
      Are you getting to Venice this year? It will be quite a while till I’m back there….paying off those bills so I can apply for my visa to live there.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    Greg,
    Diavolo tends to frighten easily and doesn’t like loud noises. He also seems to be afraid of most men until he gets to know them. He does have his favorite friends here at the complex and has to go out to greet them when they come home from work or wherever.
    Yes, he is not a scary cat although he is big.

  6. First time I’ve seen a cat with four eyes. Very scary.

Leave a Reply

