September Song

But, it’s a long, long while from May to December

But the days grow short when you reach September

When the autumn weather turns the leaves to flame

One hasn’t got time for the waiting game.

September Song: Words by Maxwell Anderson, music by Kurt Weill

This picture has the lyrics to a different September Song…Autumn Leaves.

The falling leaves drift past my window....the autumn leaves of red and gold... St. Elena, Venezia, Italia

The falling leaves drift past my window….the autumn leaves of red and gold… St. Elena, Venezia, Italia

Of course I had to work Venice into this post…the picture above was taken mid November 2012.

For a long time this has been my favorite time of year. At least since I moved to North Carolina in September 1979. I’ve lived a lot of places since then but I still remember my first real autumn. I grew up in southern California and the closest I got to autumn leaves changing colors were the ones my grandmother wrapped in a new product (at least to us) called Saran Wrap and mailed us from Pennsylvania. In the land of no real seasons (except wild fire season) there were no falling leaves. I was never sure they were real. And then I spent my first autumn in the mountains of western North Carolina…the Great Smokies and every time I turned a corner I saw a tree that took my breath away.

Although I now live in western Washington and we don’t have quite the same fall color there is something in the air that tells us it is autumn. I mean other than the fact that it gets dark earlier.

My Italian class had a Festa (party) on Labor Day at a friends house. What follows are a few of my beginning of autumn photos for this year.

DSCN5428-001

DSCN5439-001

And that blur in the distance is….a Washington State Ferry

DSCN5441-001

We were graced with a golden sunset

DSCN5478-001

And now a few pictures from my own patio where the petunias have been replaced by mums, ornamental peppers and flowering kale.

DSCN5375-001

DSCN5376-001

DSCN5495

DSCN5503-001

Of course we need to include Diavolo

Diavolo patrolling the perimeter

Diavolo patrolling the perimeter

And after a mostly gray day the sun makes an appearance just as it sets and my hanging baskets cast interesting shadows on the wall.

DSCN5386-001

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Cats, flowers, friends, Gardens, Home, Life is good, Photography, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to September Song

  1. mvaden1948 says:

    For those of you not familiar with the song I quoted here is a link to a version by Willie Nelson with a slide show.

    The first time I remember hearing the song it was by Rod McKuen…singer, songwriter, poet who passed away earlier this year. Rod was the soundtrack of my teens and early 20’s. I even had a cat named Sloopy. Here is a version by Rod (yes, I really feel he was a friend of mine) recorded in 2009: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0J4qh7rhndc
    I can’t help but think that is the way Kurt Weill meant for it to be sung.

  2. suchled says:

    I love Autumn too. I shall dredge through some old posts and show you a bit of ‘down under’ Autumn colour. And I am a great fan of Rod McKuen. And is your Maxwell Anderson the same one that wrote “Winterset” I studied that in year twelve. It was a compulsory text.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I’m looking forward to the Down Under Autumn Color.
      I was unfamiliar with Maxwell Anderson until I looked up September song. So I just asked Mr. Google and Ms Wikipedia provided the answer that they are one and the same. I find that I have seen a lot of the movies where he wrote the screenplay! And more than a few plays.
      My only problem with autumn…which is no longer a problem is that when I moved to North Carolina I developed fall allergies. I’d never been allergic to anything before but I had the whole itchy, runny eyes, sneezing etc. And I had started University there (as an “older” student) and found that thanks to those itchy eyes I was at least two weeks behind in the reading before we ever got started. I still loved those amazing colors though. A friend I made there, who grew up there, said she loved seeing the colors through my eyes….well, not exactly my eyes as she had no desire for my allergies. Years later I discovered that I was indeed allergic to ragweed which bloomed there in the fall. We had bought a house on several acres because my husband fancied himself a gardener. He never planted anything. I harvested what was there….and learned to love asparagus. We moved into “town” and my allergies were no longer a problem. Now they have really good medication for that so it would not be a problem.
      But even with those itchy eyes is still love autumn.
      Not the first time that I’ve done a post that includes an autumn song. Here’s the link to the post that includes “Autumn Leaves”. It’s a few years ago….in Venice…so it would take you a while to get back that far.
      https://mishaimelda.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/a-perfect-day/

  3. Michelle, you have become quite the photographer. I am really enjoying each new blog entry..

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Barbary.
      I’ll email you the album of all the pictures I took the day of our Festa. My friend has the view that I used to have…180 degrees+ of Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains.

  4. Yvonne says:

    I like the Willie Nelson version, very much.

  5. greg1948 says:

    I will just touch on Rod McKuen here. I do remember the songs, as I should. I checked out my record collection this morning, and between Greatest Irish Hits and South Pacific were three albums: The Sky; The Sea; and For Lovers. The music was composed and played by Anita Kerr and the San Sebastian Strings, and the lyrics were by Rod McKuen. He does not speak the words on these. I did not like his gravelly voice, and would not buy anything with his voice on it. The Sea is by far the best of the three. Yeah, that was back in the ’60’s. Music takes you back when you hear it, but I do not want to go back, so I will not play them–probably been decades since they were out of their jackets–and back they go where I found them. I did pull out a few sing along with Mitch Miller albums maybe 6 months back complete with song sheets! That was weird. It is the old Christmas albums that get played year after year in December.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I had both of those albums. I actually liked his gravely voice so bought most of them and growing up in southern California I also saw him in person a few times.
      Some music from the past I still play but I’m always discovering someone new that I enjoy. Most of the new stuff is Italian since I’m learning to speak the language and need something beyond Andrea Boccelli (although I think I have everything of his). Funny, my Italians are mostly people who began their careers in the 60’s but are still popular there.
      I went to a concert in Seattle last year …it was Zucchero (Italian pop/rock) and at least 3/4’s of the audience was Italian….it was almost like being in Italy. For me that’s a good thing. Zucchero has one of those rough, gravely voices also.

  6. Marc-André says:

    Now I’ll have to find my Japan autumn photo collection haha

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    No, I’m not on Facebook ;-( and don’t intend to be.

Leave a Reply

