Finalmente!

For some reason my camera does not want to read true red. It seems to always come out some strange shade of dark, hot pink. I have been trying to get a good photograph of my Mocha Cherry begonias for several weeks. It has been horribly hot until recently so I moved them to the other end of the railing so they would get less sun. The other evening this move paid off….almost.

DSCN5367

DSCN5366

DSCN5367

Finalmente!

Finalmente!

Finalmente….finally or at last….but still not quite the shade of intense red my eyes see.

The picture used for the header is this one which is what you see as you walk up from the parking lot and the begonia is almost the right red here:

La mia terrazza

La mia terrazza

We’ll close with Diavolo on his back on the bed with his back paws curled up and his tummy ripe for the rubbing!

DSCN5358

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Finalmente!

  1. Sue Merritt says:

    What a wonderful green thumb! And a very handsome cat.

    Enjoy the day.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. greg1948 says:

    I love all the flowers planted about, but I am just too lazy to do something like that myself. It is a daunting project to begin, and getting late in the season as well. Maybe next year, but between you and me, I probably won’t do anything.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Remember Greg….it’s just a patio. If I remember correctly you have a yard. I don’t do entire yards….although before my arthritis when I could still get down on my knees on the ground and get back up again I found weeding a great stress relief.

      • greg1948 says:

        I have a patio, and I have empty pots thrown in the bushes. Not one pot have I got with anything in it, that is alive! Maybe I should set a goal of a dozen pots on the patio? Inconceivable.

  3. Marc-André says:

    What camera do you use? 🙂

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I have a Nikon Coolpix P510 and I love it for everything except red flowers/fruits or purple ones as they often turn out blue. It has a 42X’s optical zoom. And it’s light enough to haul around most everywhere.
      And you and I both know how hard it is to photograph our black cats.
      Several photographers have suggested I can get a better red by shooting in “raw” but it does not have a “raw” mode.

      • Marc-André says:

        My current camera doesn’t have a raw mode either. I have solved the problem with the black cat photos tho! I just bought a prime lens for my camera and it’s brilliant for taking photos of Nubia :). Unfortunately it also made me realise I want a new camera and I spent a fortune on that… LOL

  4. Susie L says:

    Your flowers are beautiful, and I always enjoy seeing the wonderful “outdoor room” you have created. And Diavolo is the icing on the cake! He looks like my Izzy.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thanks, Sue,
      Although he is on the bed in that picture with the warm weather he spends a lot of time in “my” chair on the patio. I have three chairs on the patio and they are all three usually occupied by cats. Diavolo and a couple of the neighbor cats.
      When Diavolo first moved in after being the community cat for many years I found him one morning under a parked car with about four of the neighbor cats just as though he was regaling them with the tale of his adopting me. The minute he saw me he came over with his tail in the air and walked along side of me back to our apartment as any faithful companion would and glanced back as though to say “See, it’s true, I have a furrever home”.
      It is too bad that in about 3 years when I move to Italy he will have to go to a new home. The trip would just be too hard on him and finding a pet-friendly apartment in Venice may not be possible right away (I’ll have to settle for what I can afford). But I will make sure that he goes to a loving home. It would be nice if I could convince one of the neighbors since he is familiar with this complex. I might just be able to pull that off. They have all loved and fed him for years.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    Greg-
    I do sometimes cheat and buy a color bowl at Fred Meyer. I’ve done that just recently with the hanging basket in the header. It was there, looking a little sad and a lot of my petunias (which have been blooming like crazy since mid May) are beginning to give up the ghost and there was this sign that said “hanging baskets $19.99” and since none of the little they had for stuffers had caught my fancy I said “what the hey” and bought it, brought it home and picked off the dead flowers and even though it said it was meant for shade it seems to love the afternoon sun.
    I think there is hope for your patio. Maybe just one bowl with fall colors? You will have to water it occasionally though. But no weeding!

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Yes, Marc, I keep thinking newer, fancier camera….but the budget will not allow it. Mine doesn’t have a changeable lens although it does have the grooves like you would use to put filters on so I may check into that. I’ve never used filters except when I was back in my black and white film days working with a very old and very heavy SLR.
    Of course what I really want is a DSLR. Maybe someday.

  7. Greg1948 says:

    When viewing ur site or any site with my iPhone, the ads are there! Thought I was going nuts!

  8. greg1948 says:

    I have discovered that you get the WordPress advertisements under the post when viewed with an iphone. I tried to leave a message using my iphone, but I messed it up badly. Mystery solved. Your ads are no better than mine!!!

  9. mvaden1948 says:

    I got what you were saying in the iPhone message. I think it is an “idiotsyncracy”(misspelled on purpose) of the iPhone. I don’t have one and will probably be the final holdout….yes, I can so far live without one.

Leave a Reply

