L’estate

L’estate…summer. This summer has been different in “il giardino nella terrazza”. The garden center had more petunias than shade loving tropicals.  They told me I’d have to go to a specialty store for those. So I settled for baskets based on petunias with a few pots of begonias.  The heat here has been merciless and I sometimes water twice a day. And I often move the pots of begonias out of the late afternoon sun. DSCN5136 DSCN5285 DSCN5298 My aunt says my begonias love me and they do if I treat them well. DSCN5318

Such interesting foliage

Such interesting foliage …it’s called Mocha Cherry…a non stop Begonia

My yearly hibiscus treat from Trader Joe's

My yearly hibiscus treat from Trader Joe’s

What would a blog post from me be without a photo of my friend Diavolo?

Why are you down here, Mom?

Why are you down here, Mom?

Well, you silly cat, I was trying to get a picture of you sleeping on your back under the chair with your paws in the air but the squeak of the screen door woke you up.

I have never been to Italy (or Venice in particular) in the summer, preferring the less crowded winter months. But here is a blog with some really lovely photos of Venezia this past July. Don’t worry if you can’t read French, you can still look at their photos.  http://www.e-venise.com/photos-venise/2015/07.html

And what would be a better way to spend a summer evening but with friends from my Italian class having dinner at the home of our teacher Josefina.

James, Max, Josefina, Michelle and Ross

James, Max, Josefina, Michelle and Ross

I’ll leave you with a link to a slide show set to one of my favorite Italian songs “L’estate”. Yes, it is sad because he is yearning for his lost love…his summer romance…but it is so beautiful. I admit to having a playlist on my iPod of various versions of this song including the Chris Botti instrumental.  Enjoy! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFMz2CbUNds

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to L’estate

  1. greg1948 says:

    Beautiful flowers, and the cat always moves before you can get the perfect photo!

  2. Yvonne says:

    You’ve made a little paradise on your deck.

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    I do try….even if it’s been too hot to actually sit out there.

  4. Marc-André says:

    So many lovely flowers 🙂 I really enjoy your photos. ❤

  5. Pecora Nera says:

    The flowers look fab, I didn’t set up my little irrigation system when I flew to Sicily, I was only gone a week or two and unfortunately 3 little bushes have died.

    I will be in trouble when Mrs S gets back

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I don’t dare leave for even a day here as they wouldn’t get watered. Of course some of the water draining out the bottom of the hanging pots does often water a cat. They don’t like it much.

      • Pecora Nera says:

        I am normally good and set up a timer for the plants, but this year I didn’t, there must have been a reason. I will have to remember what it was before Mrs S returns

  6. I really enjoy reading your posts Michelle. You come across as so positive about life. I’m jealous of the heat – we have had one of our mediocre, insipid, cool, grey ones with glimpses of the sun sometimes just to tease us!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Hi Miles,
      Sorry you weather is so grey. You wouldn’t envy the heat if you were trying to sleep in a stuffy, nearly airless room which is what happens here when it doesn’t cool down at night. Our normal/average for this time of year is about 20 degrees cooler….in fahrenheit.
      I do try to stay positive about life in general. I’m just that kind of person. I do have my bad days though….I just try to avoid blogging then.;-)

Leave a Reply

