The Cat Days of Summer

Yes, I know, I shouldn’t complain when the rest of the country has been plagued by such devastating weather but…..20 degrees above average for this time of year is just too darn hot. I’ve lived in the Pacific Northwest since 1987…nearly 30 years… and we’ve never had a hot spell like this one in June and now into July. Usually we are complaining about our “June Gloom” and lack of sunshine. Not this year. But as even the cats will attest…it’s too darn hot. Although as you will see, my flowers love it as long as I give them a nice long drink every single day.

Lots of petunias

Lots of petunias

It’s probably a good thing that my favorite garden center didn’t have those shade loving tropical plants I had last year as shown below.

74-DSCN4590

I love the iresine….the variegated plant on the left but none were available. I probably need to wait another month for the hibiscus to show up at Trader Joe’s.

But my dear Diavolo likes to beat the heat relaxing on the patio…which does face north and only gets late afternoon sun.

DSCN5189

And since the welcome sign is always out:

The welcome sign is always out.

The welcome sign is always out.

Diavolo’s friends like to take advantage of his hospitality.

Buster and Sunshine enjoy a visit with Diavolo

Buster and Sunshine enjoy a visit with Diavolo

I know this weather won’t last forever and come January I’ll be wishing for warmth but really our average high at this time of year (remember the “north” in Northwest) is 72 degrees, not 92.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Cats, flowers, friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Cat Days of Summer

  1. gvonkapherr says:

    Such a lovely patio. The weather has been quite hot here as well but tempered with almost tropical rain showers resulting in my garden now being a jungle, which all the neighborhood cats enjoy. :).

  2. furbiziahs says:

    I love the colors in this blog post – and the beautiful flower pictures on your site!!!

  3. Susie L says:

    I dislike the heat too, ugh. But your patio looks absolutely lovely, and filled with color. I love that Diavolo’s friends come over!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      All of those cats and a few others would visit after I lost my Lili a year ago…auditioning for the vacancy. But Diavolo won out. The others all have homes but don’t like the dogs or the children they live with so come to my patio for peace and quiet.
      I was on that patio from 10 pm to midnight last night reading because it was too hot to sleep. My apartment is not air conditioned and fans help a little but with no cross ventilation it’s not much. Diavolo and I had a nice nap on the bed this afternoon. I managed to get the place cooled down by opening up the only windows early and then making sure everything was closed up by 10:30 am. It’s still about 10 degrees cooler than outside. It says 82 on my patio thermometer but the sun hasn’t hit that part of the building yet.
      Tonight we’ll have both heat and noise. I hear the big fireworks shows from downtown which always make it sound like Seattle is being bombed. And whenever the Seahawks win their football game I don’t have to turn on the TV to know….I hear the fireworks and I’m miles south of that Stadium.
      Unfortunately (or fortunately) I’m down low so can’t actually see any of those fireworks.
      Happy 4th Susie!

      • Susie L says:

        Happy 4th to you as well Michelle! We don’t have AC either, and I just hate the heat waves. I noticed you have some rosemary and thyme growing amongst your lovely petunias!

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    There’s some oregano in there too and down below a basil plant. Can we say Italian cooking? At least when it cools off a bit.

  5. AmyRose says:

    What a darling post, and since I have cats like Tom truly enjoyed this!!! Thank goodness for air conditioning because my cats would not make it in heat. We’ve had SO much rain here that now we have trees that look like they belong in Oregon, with bark just covered in moss. Today I am dashing outside to try to bring to order the chaos that represents my gardens. I’ve got weeds and tangles and my Roses …. poor things are nothing but black spot now so I must prune back where I see new growth. And then when the sun does come as it is today it is a steamy hot shower. Even our windows are steaming up!!! This weather is SO weird! I’ve seen other things but I won’t talk your ear off. I’m officially not blogging today due to working in gardens and already I am going through withdrawal, as I speak with SO many people in one day. You can attest to that fact with this long and wordy comment. 🙂 LOL (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Hi, Amy, I saw your note on your blog that you are working in the garden. I know how you feel about withdrawal as most every day I’m communicating with other bloggers.
      My lovely black cat Diavolo (those others in my pictures are neighbors who hang out) features in a lot of my posts. He’s lying in the hall right now and getting the effects of both the living room and bedroom fans. And is positioned so I have to step over him to get by. I’ve noticed with my bare feet on the floor that is actually cooler there than anywhere else.
      Good luck with the garden.

  6. gvonkapherr says:

    Hello, I’ve nominated you for an award. I felt you deserve the recognition. I always enjoy your posts. If you do not accept awards, please do not feel obligated to respond.

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    Thank you so much.
    I really do this blog because I enjoy it. If it entertains anyone, I’m glad. Recognition isn’t important but again thank you. I enjoy your blog too although I don’t always get to comment.

  8. greg1948 says:

    I decided to revisit this post today for a second look. It looks very pleasant and cool on the shady north side. No wonder the cats are happily lounging. And as I write this today, the heat wave is over for now, but not the drought. Today my cats are lounging in the shade in the catio, as it is a beautiful Friday. Rain would be nice.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      It rained….I think it was almost two weeks ago and I don’t think I was ever so happy to hear and see it. I felt like going out and dancing in it. Unfortunately it was barely enough to wet the brown grass.
      Too bad some places get too much and others get too little.
      Yes, I’m sleeping so much better since the heat wave is over for a while. And I’m happy to be listening to birdsong rather than the drone of my fans. Although I live in an apartment it is still fairly quiet most of the time.
      Only the big black cat under the chair, Diavolo (because he’s such a handsome devil) is mine….the others are just visitors. But as the sign says “cats welcome”. The tuxedo is Buster and the orange tabby is …what else…Sunshine. They live with neighbors.

Leave a Reply

