La fotografa….the photographer

In the past few years I have not been particularly happy with pictures taken of me. Except my driver’s license picture….I love my driver’s license picture and people comment on what a good picture it is when I have to show my ID.  I keep asking myself why the pictures don’t look like what I see in the mirror. Of course I realize the image in the mirror is backwards but…how can it look so different. All I can think is that they snap the photo when I’m in a strange position. Like eating something, opening my mouth to talk, tired of waiting for them to take the picture, etc.  Also I’ve found that if I have an open mouthed full on smile (I often do that) my eyes scrunch closed and all you see is the bags underneath. Well, this old bag doesn’t like that so I decided to take some “selfies”. I have to use my camera in the mirror as I do not have a (not so) smart phone. And since it was taken in the mirror Nikon is spelled backwards.

Dreaming of Venice

Dreaming of Venice

 I really like these shots much better.

How you will often see me

How you will often see me

And in other news, you may remember my “Il Bandito” post from a little while ago.

La Bandita

La Bandita

I still see the bandit nearly every day sticking its little nose over the edge of my patio to see if I forgot and left the cat food dish out (I don’t). Yesterday morning il bandito proved to be la bandita when she was out and about with four “bambini”. I didn’t get a picture of the brood because I was too busy distracting her from aggressively attacking a neighbor’s dog. The poor little dog was on a leash but dared to bark and mamma raccoon was ready to take the pooch on. The owner had no idea what to do. I told her to put the dog in her car which she did while I yelled and stomped my feet at La Bandita. She (the raccoon) and the babies ran off and, thankfully no one was physically hurt.  A lesson in “don’t mess with mamma” of any species….or mamma’s babies. I must admit the little ones were really cute about a quarter of the size of their mum. I hope I get a chance to get a picture of them.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in City of My Dreams, dogs, me, Photography, urban wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to La fotografa….the photographer

  1. biankonera says:

    Those are great selfies! And its really nice nobody got hurt in the racoon accident as mammas can be really fierce and fearless.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      See, I can use mirrors, too!
      The poor owner of the dog was just frozen and didn’t know which way to turn and mamma raccoon was really snarling. But the little ones were so adorable.
      I have since posted a notice in our lobby because a couple other people have told me they ran into the raccoon when out walking their dogs. I used to leave cat food out in a bowl on my patio because I have several cats that visit. They now know that they have to meow at the door to get fed and I pick up the bowl as soon as they are done. Lucky for them I’m retired and home most of the time. And Diavolo tolerates my obsession with feeding every cat that crosses my path. I sometimes think he leaves food in his bowl on purpose because he knows that wet food leftovers get put on top of the kibble for the outside cats. As you may remember he was once one of those outside cats. Or maybe he’s just being fussy. Anyway it’s a plus for the outside cats.

      • biankonera says:

        Mirrors are fun, right?
        Yeah, with wild animals you never know how they will react so its better to keep the pets safe. As for Diavolo he surely takes care of his mates while feeling soooo happy to have found a home with you. 😉

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Yes, mirrors are fun.
    Diavolo is currently having his afternoon nap…I can hear him snoring.

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Make that reflections of any kind are fun…particularly water in Venice!

  4. mhed6@juno.com says:

    I would guess if you left the cAt food dish out you would have many photo ops!

  5. I was once guilty of feeding an opossum and her ride-along babies. I had been trying to rescue a cat that had been abandoned by her family when they moved, leaving her behind (yes, she is safe, fully vaccinated and living the happy life of luxury at mi casa).

    I love your selfies! Especially the second one. Not too many months ago, I took one. What a joke. My first photo wound up being part wall, part shower curtain. It took me forever to figure out where to look. Clueless. Yes. Anyway, I don’t think I’ll be working on another personal photo op anytime soon.

    I hate seeing myself in a photo. Somehow, I no longer look thirty. 😳

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Those selfies were a lot of trial and error. Luckily my bathroom mirror is wide enough that I could use the door as a background so it wouldn’t be too busy. I saved about 9 of the 20 I took. I really don’t mind not being 30, I just want to look in a picture the same as I look in the mirror and I think I look pretty good for my age. Oh, and of course I do have a bit of make up on….it goes on first thing in the morning and it nearly the last thing off at night so you won’t see me on the street without it. Just a little enhancement. Not much.

      Yes, I’ve been known to feed wildlife myself when I lived out in the country and would hand feed peanuts to the squirrels….when I didn’t have another pet. But then I got cats and decided it was too dangerous for the squirrels to be on the patio. Bird feeders were also dangerous…..the cats thought it was a buffet.

  6. Susie L says:

    You are a beauty! Great selfies, good job!

    Glad you were able to get La Bandita to back off of the neighbor dog. Dogs can be very vulnerable when chained, as they can’t make an escape if attacked.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you for the compliment.

      Poor Sophie, the dog, was so scared as was her owner. They didn’t know which way to run and Sophie is a little dog….about the same size as the little raccoons. I had my friend visiting for a couple of days and even she saw La Bandita looking over the edge of the patio (it’s a good two feet above the ground) to see if the cat food bowl had been left out. Of course we heard the rumble of Diavolo’s growl first as he was sitting in the doorway (protected by a screen) when she appeared. I’m sure he smells her before he sees her.

  7. Aren’t you gorgeous ! I’m glad you took these selfies. It’s lovely to see you.

Leave a Reply

