IL Bandito

Each week I have an assignment to write something in Italian for class. It can be something that happened during the week or something we made up. I did not make this up. (English translation follows). (Corrections made to the Italian on 13 maggio ’15…after my class presentation and yes, I took all of the pictures including il bandito)

Indossava una maschera nera mentre scalava la ringhiera del mio terrazzo.

Lo osservavo in silenzio come lui atterava sul pavimento.

Sapeva quello che voleva, ma si è fermato ad annusare i fiori.

Quello è stato la sua rovina.

Ho mirato e tirato il grilleto. L’ho colpito in mezzo agli occhi.

è stato solo l’acqua, ma il procione ha fatto una ritirata.

il procione

He was wearing a black mask as he climbed over the railing of my terrace.

I observed him in silence as he dropped to the floor. He knew what he wanted, but he stopped to smell the flowers.

That was his undoing!

I aimed and pulled the trigger. I shot him right between the eyes.

It was only water but the raccoon made a hasty retreat.

For your viewing pleasure some of the flowers he stopped to smell….or at least check for edibility.

DSCN5088

DSCN5090

DSCN5107

DSCN5109

The sticks in the center of the pot above belong to my dwarf butterfly bush which in a couple of months will be grown up and have lovely blooms smelling of honey.

I love the

I love the “fur” on the stems and leaves.

Last but not least …Diavolo performing dawn patrol the other morning at 5:35 am.

Diavolo keeps watch against invasion by

Diavolo keeps watch against invasion by “il procione”

Disclaimer: no animals were harmed in making this post.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Italian Lesson, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to IL Bandito

  1. Susie L says:

    What a fun post, and that was a terrific assignment. Your flowers are gorgeous, and so is Diavolo. Good job on your marksmanship of Il Bandito!

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Of course any errors in the Italian will be corrected in class on Tuesday evening. So glad I’m able to edit the post and make corrections.
    Diavolo (thankfully) is afraid of “il procione” and it must have been out this morning because he went out and then came back in immediately about five times….think he’s looking for the sixth at the moment. He is a big cat and weighs 15 lbs but is a bit of a “fraidy cat” which is probably why he managed to survive as a “community cat” for so many years. He loves being a pampered pet now and is secure enough he’s become very demanding about his food! No more Friskie’s just Fancy Feast and Sheba for him.
    That silly bandit just sat there looking at me so squirting him with the water was pretty easy and he was fairly close. I didn’t want to hurt him….just get him off my terrace. He was searching for the cat food that I put out for the other “community cats” which I no longer put out unless there is someone (feline) there to eat it and then pick it up right away. I don’t need to encourage il bandito.

  3. Oh, your bandito is very fetching, though, Misha !! Water spray is so handy ~ I had to use it to separate my two neighbours’ cats Max and Kitty {both tabbies, and one a red-headed tabby ~ enough said !!} who were having a turf war over my turf … in spite of my kindly reminding them that technically, it belonged to neither of them. Thank you for posting in Italian ~ adds to the enjoyment. 🙂 And impressive ! Your Diavolo and flowers are gorgeous as always. Happy Wednesday, bella.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie, Shell! Yes, I often think I’d love to cuddle a raccoon the way I would a cat and then I remember….wild animal….chase it away.

  5. lizbethraab says:

    Hi there, agree with Shell above, cute story and great pictures. Italian looking pretty impressive.

    I loved the beautiful shades of colour in the orange flower (5th flower from the bottom) Disclaimer.
    An excellent blog post – well done!

    ciao, ciao Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Liz,
      The adventure with the “procione” made an interesting tale for my Italian class.
      Glad you like the picture. The orange flower has now flowered out….it was a ranunculus and just blooms in spring. So I have replaced those with some lovely begonias now that it’s warmer. Pictures coming soon.
      Hope all is well in Vienna.

Leave a Reply

