Sbriciolona

Noi stiamo faccendo una piccola festa per la nostra classe d’italiano.
(We are having a party for our Italian class.)

La nostra classe  d'italiano

La nostra classe d’italiano


Ross, Josefina (la professoressa), Dale, Michelle and Max (Wooga had to miss the party due to a school obligation…we missed her)

Venetian cookbook

Venetian cookbook

A lunedi, ho fatto una torta veneziana.
(On Monday I made a Venetian cake)

La ricetta... the recipe

La ricetta… the recipe

Prima, ho mischiato un uovo con lo zucchero e la vaniglia.
(First, I mixed an egg with the sugar and the vanilla)

Ingredienti....ingredients

Ingredienti….ingredients

Poi ho aggiunto il burro, la farina e un pizzico di sale.
(Then I added butter, flour and a pinch of salt)
Infine, ho mescolato in le mandorle tritate.
(Finally I mixed in the ground almonds)

La ciotola...the bowl

La ciotola…the bowl

Ho messo la pastella nella pentolla.
(I put the batter into the pan)

La pastella nella pentolla The batter in the pan

La pastella nella pentolla
The batter in the pan

La torta ha cotto al forno
(the cake baked in the oven)

La torta...the cake

La torta…the cake

Sara una bellissima e buonissima torta.
(it will be a beautiful and delicious cake)

Sbriciolona

Sbriciolona

La sbriciolona e stata bellissima e buonissima.
The crumbler cake was beautiful and delicious.

Sbriciolona...crumbler cake

Sbriciolona…crumbler cake

So sorry you weren’t there.

We did eat more than cake…we had prosciutto with melon, bruschetta, pizza and of course “la torta”. We also had a nice red vino, limoncello and for those of us who don’t drink…blood orange soda.

We will meet again for our sixth quarter of Italian on April 21.

Arrivederci!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sbriciolona

  1. Yvonne says:

    That looks most tempting!

  2. Sue Merritt says:

    Thanks you for the lovely pictures
    Would you believe I have that Venece book. I enjoy the beautiful pictures; and I like the quality of the paper and binding.
    Is have never made any of the recipes, but I am going to look into the dessert you made.

    Sue

    I

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Sue,
      That book was a gift from a friend in Donegal, Ireland. She had mentioned the book in an email and it wasn’t available from Barnes and Noble here so she had a copy sent to me. That was probably about five years ago and although I’ve drooled over some of the recipes this is the first one I have done. I made it first about a month ago for Max’s (pictured in the group) birthday festa (any excuse for a party in our class) and then again this week for the end of the quarter.
      I did cheat and instead of mixing the dough with my hands I used an small electric mixer with dough hooks (for making bread) because the batter as I said to Yvonne is like sugar cookie dough. You do have to put it in the pan with your hands and the recipe does not tell you this…if you have done much baking you know….flour your hands. That makes sure most of it goes in the pan and makes clean up easier.

  3. Susie L says:

    What a great post! Your class sounds like a lot of fun, and what a great way to practice your Italian. The torta looks divine. Brava!

  4. I’ve made an almond cake similar to this before! Yummy, and can be served with fresh berries in syrup.

    Your dinner sounds like it was awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pecora Nera says:

    So by reading your posts I will improve my Italian! Mrs Sensible will approve.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Hopefully blogging in Italian will improve my Italian! If it improves yours that’s a double blessing.

      • Pecora Nera says:

        Improving my Italian is a possibility, but a very slim possibility. I prefer to the English way of speaking Italian. 1) add a vowel onto the end of an English word 2) Speak slowly but loudly.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        I know many people who feel that way. Luckily most Italians don’t think they can speak English by dropping the vowel.
        Does your method work in that little bar you frequent? Oh, wait….grappa is the same in both English and Italian!;-)
        And I write better Italian than I speak….sitting quietly with a dictionary helps a lot. Getting the words out of my mouth when I need them (like the supermercato in Venice) is a totally different story. I can ask a questions like “Dove zucchero” (where’s the sugar) but then I don’t understand the answer.

      • Pecora Nera says:

        This is very true, ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
        But if you nod as though you understand and then wander off, the shop assistant will be amazed at your Italian language skills.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        Hopefully by the next time I’m there I will understand. I have a couple more years to continue my classes and my understanding is getting better. I can almost watch episodes of Don Matteo without concentrating so much on the subtitles!….as long as they speak in short sentences.

Leave a Reply

