Signs of Spring

We have had a rather mild winter in the Pacific Northwest this year. While much of the United States deals with sub zero temps and snow measured in feet not inches we have had above average temperatures. I’m not complaining. Although I am waiting for the other shoe to drop because it is not unknown for us to have a good cold snap before spring arrives for sure.
The birds have been twittering and flitting about. Can spring be very far away? I hope not.
I thought I would just share a couple of photos I took out my window a few days ago.
4-DSCN4986

There were two of them.

5-DSCN4988

And how could I leave you without a new picture of Diavolo in one of his very favorite sleeping positions?

1-DSCN4978

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cats, Spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Signs of Spring

  1. My Gilbert Grapes favorite sleeping position, too. The two must be related. 😉
    I was getting the same vibe about our North Texas weather until I saw the weather warning on the evening news. Sleet and ice tomorrow evening continuing thru Monday. Move over, I’m on my way to visit. 😉

    Robins! I’m jealous. You’re enjoying their sweet songs before we do. Can I trade you a couple of blue heron? Once upon a time we had a Koi pond out back, we also had missing fish from time to time. One afternoon I happened to look out the window at just the right moment. There stood a long-legged thief caught in the action. I think I screamed…I’d not witnessed such a sight in a residential area before. When he took to flight I thought of an airliner. Well, needless to say, once our pond had been discovered our fish population dwindled and sightings of the heron became more frequent. 😦

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    It’s a bit early for robins here too. But the hummingbirds are here year round. We also have herons and friends put a fake crocodile in their koi pond and it seemed to work.

    I do usually wait till after Mother’s Day to put the flowers in my pots on the patio (I live in an apartment) and it has more to do with that is when the flowers at the garden center go on sale.

Leave a Reply

