Epilogue, January 5, 2014

Having returned to the “other place” I thought I would let you know that I arrived safely early the morning of January 3. According to the clock by my chair I walked in the door at 12:15 am. That was 9:15 am in Venice on January 3. I had been awakened by my alarm in Venice on January 2 at 5 am…approximately 28 hours with no sleep. Or at least very little sleep and only during the 5 hour flight from Detroit to Seattle. I dodged a bullet going through Detroit rather than JFK in New York…because I would still be there. It was snowy in Detroit but not nearly as bad as New York and Boston.
I would have posted this several days ago but I’ve been having internet connectivity problems in “this other place”.
Here is the sunrise taken from the Alilaguna, the low, slow boat, to the airport Thursday morning. It turned out pretty good considering the windows are covered with salt spray from the lagoon.
01-DSCN4182
Okay, maybe it is just me and I did not do this on purpose, I did not see this until I put the photos on the computer but it sure looks like a heart in the middle of this photo.
https://picasaweb.google.com/108609841914264779487/VeniceTheCityOfMyDreams2013?authkey=Gv1sRgCKvWm-3vlq_IvgE#5964773428171159362
(and due to the “connectivity problems” I had to give you the link to that picture.

I really wanted to get the entire “fish” that is Venice from the air but just as it was coming into view….clouds, we entered the clouds. Maybe next time.
And for those of you who would like a link to the album of 926 pictures: Venice, City of My Dreams 2013 where you can play them as a slide show:
https://picasaweb.google.com/108609841914264779487/VeniceTheCityOfMyDreams2013?authkey=Gv1sRgCKvWm-3vlq_IvgE

All is well here and my dear Lili won’t let me out of her sight. When I got here she slept on me but the next morning when I awoke she was sleeping on my suitcase. It was not going out the door without her permission.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Epilogue, January 5, 2014

  1. Sue Merritt says:

    One word for your photographs…..Priceless!

    Such a special gift to wake up to on this cold, freezing, snowy Sunday morning.

    Michelle, It was like looking through a National Geographic Special Edition book of most treasured photography.

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful keepsake.

    On another note, when I get results of a few more tests, I will be in touch and let you know my next steps. Your daily blog has been good for me these last few weeks. Many thanks.

    Happy New Year.

    Sues

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Dear Sue,
      I’m so glad that you enjoyed the photos. I thought of you often during my trip.
      As I said, I’m so glad I didn’t got through New York. Detroit was snowy but only about 4 inches when I flew out. I kept an eye on it out the waiting area window. We were delayed an hour waiting for out plane to come in. I don’t know where the flight came from. Had a “very nice” if you get my meaning….seat mate. Been a long time since I’ve slept next to a handsome man;-). But still only got that fitful sleep that you do on a plane, even with my own pillow and noise cancelling head phones.
      Take care my friend and keep me posted.
      Michelle

  2. Jan Graham says:

    Beautiful Sunrise, a lovely way to remember one of the last glimpses,

  3. lizbethraab says:

    Dear Misha,

    Oh this is a lovely photo by which to remember your favourite city.

    I am sure you will be busy during the next weeks, getting into a routine that suits you best.
    Maybe I will be back at work by the end of this week or early next, depending what the feedback will be. Have got appointments lined up starting Tuesday and carrying through till early Feb.
    Pets “have a thing” about suitcases and Lili will be glad it’s not going to be packed, esp. if she has anything to do with it.

    Look forrward to hearing how things are going at “that other place” and hope that settling in will not be too difficult.

    Ciao from Vienna
    Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Just getting over the jet lag at the moment…then we’ll think about routine.
      I did sign up for my next Italian class and it starts a week from Tuesday.
      So far Lili is spending most of her time on my lap whenever I’m sitting….or sleeping.

  4. JoanWalsh says:

    I’m glad you arrived home safely. I’ve been following you in spurts, but I’m all caught up now. It seems like your time went by so quickly. Did you find that too? I love the sunrise and the Scudi bridge, and Andrea. I start my painting class tomorrow, and I’m thinking of painting one or both of them. Thanks for sharing. Joan

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Joan,
      The time went slowly at the beginning….very relaxed, like I lived there which is what I wanted. But towards the end it started to fly. There was so much that I would like to have done but didn’t do but…there is always next time.
      I never got tired of photographing the views of the Ponti dei Scudi or from it. Enjoy your painting class.
      I sighed up for my next quarter of Italian and start a week from today. That’s a good thing because the jet lag still has me in it’s grip. That nine hour time difference always takes me about a week to recover.
      Michelle

  5. Pecora Nera says:

    I am glad you had a safe trip. Come back soon….

  6. Marilyn Richardson says:

    Misha, I have read your wonderful blog about your month in Venice in Dec. 2013 for the third time, and I am enchanted. DH and I are going in September, cruising and then staying an extra week in an apartment just off Via Garibaldi. I am a retired court reporter from Louisiana and would LOVE to be able to spend a month in Venice just like you did. However, I am much older than you now (78 in September 2017), so have probably left it too late. I am fascinated by you and your travels. and would love to hear from you and how you are doing now. Are you still in Seattle, or did you move to Venice permanently?
    Marilyn R

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Thank you for your kind words. Be sure to check the previous posts from my month in Venice in 2012 and watch for March 2017. I’ll email you and let you know what is going on now.

Leave a Reply

