Mi dispiace di dover andare via cosi presto.

According to this lovely, huge Italian to English dictionary that no one but me probably uses here…the phrase above means “I’m sorry I have to go away so soon.” I truly am. But someday I’ll be back to stay…forever. I know it in my heart and feel it in my bones.
It is again a lovely day and I know that I have shown you this view so many times but it is ever changing for me…the view from the Ponti dei Scudi that shows the canal right outside my apartment.
01-DSCN4138
And as usual a couple were taking pictures of each other with that view and I took theirs together with their camera.
03-DSCN4142
I didn’t buy anything when I was out shopping yesterday but this shop was open today and they had such pretty things in the window. I didn’t spend very much…honest.
04-DSCN4145
I left home with the idea that I would cross the Ponti de Diavalo and see what was on the other side…and I did.
05-DSCN4148
That usually doesn’t happen because my camera is so easily distracted.
The picture below is the view outside Luna Sentada the restaurant where I had my wonderful birthday dinner last year. Whatever they were cooking smelled simply delicious but I had already spent most of my Euros and I had food at home I need to eat.
06-DSCN4149
Doesn’t someone need to grab that bucket and bail the water out of the bottom of this poor boat? Or do they consider it a lost cause?
07-DSCN4152
08-DSCN4156
In the States we would go for a drive on a beautiful day like this. In Venice you can go for a row in the canals.
09-DSCN4157
I am standing in the doorway of the former Questura (now just a regular police office) where in the books Guido Brunetti works. This is the bridge he would cross to go to Campo San Lorenzo.
10-DSCN4158
12-DSCN4161
But the Campo was not my main objective. I needed to visit some friends one last time…the Dingo cats.
13-DSCN4162
14-DSCN4163
15-DSCN4164
16-DSCN4165
17-DSCN4166
This young man sat down to sketch the cat and you can see what the cat thinks…that is the top of his head to the right behind the bench.
19-DSCN4169
20-DSCN4177
As I rounded the corner it was a good thing that I didn’t need anything from Punto because they were closed. I find it just wonderful the way shops pull in their signs, pull down the shutters and you can’t tell they were there to begin with.
21-DSCN4179
And the final view from the Ponti dei Scudi for this trip…in the other direction.
22-DSCN4181
I didn’t buy the lovely clock for many reasons. I bought much less expensive jewelry that I won’t have any trouble getting home. The plan is to return to that other place and adjust to living in retirement. There isn’t much of a change in income…just the time of the month it comes. I will continue my study of Italian, maybe take an art class or maybe even a “photography for publication” class. I will begin the long process of sorting through my worldly goods and disposing of what I don’t absolutely need rather than waiting till I’m ready to move. At the moment I’m on what I call my three year plan to move to Venice.
I found this for you on YouTube. I wish I could say the pictures are mine…they are not…but could have been.
For now:
Arrivederci.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Cats, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mi dispiace di dover andare via cosi presto.

  1. biankonera says:

    Thank you for these wonderful posts Michelle! I feel as though Ive spent December in Venezia ๐Ÿ™‚ Its always sad to leave this magical place but I hope you have a safe trip and return as soon as possible ๐Ÿ™‚ Buon viaggio!

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie Eva.
    Maybe next time we shall meet? Who knows?
    And maybe I should take “The Night Circus” out of my Nook archive and read it again on the way back to the other place….something a little magical.
    It has been a pleasure sharing these photos and musings with people around the world.
    I remember traveling without any kind of electronics or chargers and now I don’t know what I’d to without my Netbook, iPod, cell phone (I prefer telefonino) now.
    Ciao, ciao,
    Michelle

    • biankonera says:

      Oh that would be great! Im certainly going back to Venezia (and taking up residence for a little while too), so hopefully our calles shall cross ๐Ÿ™‚
      “The Night Circus” would be a fitting read on your way from the place created from magic!!!

  3. lizbethraab says:

    Have really enjoyed your photographic updates, almost every day.
    Safe journey and hope it won’t be too long till next time.
    Ciao from Vienna,
    Liz

  4. lizbethraab says:

    PS I seem to remember a black or black and white cat sitting on a piece of cardboard on your last trip. They must have got those pieces up onto the bench themselves? L

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Very funny. No, they have people who come feed them. And I will almost bet that the young man who showed up to sketch may have moved it up there. It wasn’t there when I visited them at the beginning of the trip. I think the gattare…cat ladies may bring it. There is a very large sanctuary on the Lido at Malamoco and they have volunteers who come and bring food. It was the first time I saw a cat eating spaghetti…and it wasn’t licking off sauce because it was just plain cooked spaghetti…pasta. He seemed to prefer it to the dry kibble in the next bowl. There are something like 500 cats …or were when I was there. You would have to see it to understand it. They are part of Dingo. I’ll try to find the link to their website for you.
      But no…cats do not include moving cardboard from the ground to the bench as one of their many talents. Besides…the cardboard from last year would have been long gone by now.

  5. what a beautiful post and what a wonderful plan, congrats!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie mille. I am so in love with this magical city as I’ve told you before it is so hard to get me out anywhere else. When I’m living here I will visit Treviso and many other places.
      Michelle

  6. julie says:

    Safe trip home Michelle, you are most probably home as I write. so sad to leave Venice once again, but I know you will be back soon. xx

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Julie. No, getting to home takes about 15 hours and the flight doesn’t leave Venice till 10am. Not like you who can just “pop over”. It’s 5:36 am, I’m shutting down the computer and getting dress and breakfasted, putting the trash out and dragging my bags to the Alilaguna to catch the 6:58 to Marco Polo.
      You don’t have long till you are here.
      Michelle

  7. ytaba36 says:

    What an absolutely beautiful day Venice turned on for you on your last day. It will leave you with even warmer memories to sustain you while you work through your plan.

    Arrivederci.

  8. Sartenada says:

    How beautiful set of photos showing Venice!

  9. mvaden1948 says:

    So glad you enjoyed them. As you can tell, my camera loves this beautiful, magical city.

Leave a Reply

