Love is in the Air

A nice long meander on this sunny Monday.
01-DSCN3968
For anyone who thinks all gondolas look alike…here is one a bit “different”.
02-DSCN3973
03-DSCN3974
Cozy and comfy…just like nonna’s house.
04-DSCN3975
05-DSCN3976
06-DSCN3977
And here, near the Bridge of Sighs, love is definitely in the air.
I think they were getting instructions from the photographer there.
07-DSCN3979

08-DSCN3981
09-DSCN3982
And how about not quite so serious?
10-DSCN3983
11-DSCN3984
The water had been very high and I imagine that beautiful white lace was getting a little wet.
You can’t see how wet the white marble is in this picture.
12-DSCN3986
I was standing over there on the lowest step right next to this bridge to take the pictures. I think their photographer was on the bridge just above me.
13-DSCN3987
While meandering over to San Marco I was bumping into more and more groups following people either with bright umbrellas or headset microphones. Lots of groups in for New Year’s. They couldn’t possibly all be part of the wedding party…such a variety of languages they wouldn’t be able to talk to one another.
I offered to take one young Asian couple’s picture together. They stood holding hands with arms outstretched and since they seemed to speak English I told them I wouldn’t take the picture until they acted like they at least “like” each other. They snuggled a bit closer together…laughing. I think they will like the picture. No, I don’t have them here…I gave them their camera back.
14-DSCN3990
16-DSCN3994
Okay, so I’m really good at keeping people out of my photos but the sky was prettier and you probably wouldn’t know them anyway.
18-DSCN3997
19-DSCN3998
And so you will know….I did not purposely wait until a gull was flying through the pictures.
21-DSCN4002
23-DSCN4008
25-DSCN4012
And when I needed to get away from the people clogging the main calles, I just turned down the first one I saw and…look, just me.
29-DSCN4019
Only a minute or so walk away from Piazza San Marco and I might as well be in a different world.
32-DSCN4023
34-DSCN4026
35-DSCN4027
37-DSCN4031
40-DSCN4039
I have a photo taken at this exact location in 2010…but it was at night and there were no people or gondoliers in the gondolas.
41-DSCN4040
Interesting hinge mechanism here. I would guess it is for getting under bridges when the water is high.
42-DSCN4042
New Year’s is coming. Do you have yours yet?
45-DSCN4050
Inquiring minds want to know.
48-DSCN4052

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Love is in the Air

  1. Jan Graham says:

    Really lovely you capture the atmosphere so well, going to miss your walks through Venice,

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    So am I, Jan. So am I.

  3. lizbethraab says:

    Yes indeed. Have really been enjoying the events captured each day on camera, and feeling as though I’d been there, too..
    Have a wonderful Old Year’s Day/Eve tomorrow
    Ciao from Vienna,
    Liz.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    And this morning in another blog “Becoming Italian Word by Word” by Dianne Hales also talks about red underwear:

    In a relatively recent tradition, couples give each gifts of red underwear—a color that wards off the malocchio (Evil Eye) and a symbol of love, prosperity, and fertility. Traditionally Italians wear these special undies only once and throw them away after New Year’s eve.

    At the price of the said red underwear it is rather extravagant to toss them after one wearing….but looking at the ones in the picture in my post…comfort may also be a consideration.
    Here is the link to Dianne’s blog:

    http://becomingitalianwordbyword.typepad.com/becomingitalian/2013/12/celebrating-an-italian-new-year.html

  5. Anna says:

    Love your photography, hope you are back soon to supply more photos of Venice.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I only wish it would be soon…but life goes on and pursuing my goal to eventually live here means some major budget tightening and getting totally out of debt which may take a while.
      But if I win the lottery all bets are off!
      Grazie for the compliments on my photos. I take what I find interesting and hopefully it helps tell a story.

  6. Bert says:

    Did you notice who you captured on photo 18, on the south façade of the Basilica? And he looks to be wearing the traditional red robe and hat with the white trim. And in photos 25 and 26, you were standing where Katharine Hepburn must have stood, as the Trattoria Sempione stood in for the Pensione Fiorini in one of the scenes in the film ‘Summertime’. It was in another place for most of the film. It’s 1:14 into this clip from the film: http://www.tcm.com/mediaroom/video/301344/Summertime-Movie-Clip-Pensione-Fiorini.html.
    The different gondola was a sandolo.

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie, Bert. Our mutual friend Karen set me straight on the sandolo…but I was actually referring to the decorations…as “different”. So many people I know (notice I didn’t say “friends”) don’t understand how the gondoliers tell theirs from someone else’s. I say…believe me…they know their own. I have asked her to reply here….because I did not know that it wasn’t just a different type of gondola. I am always glad for the education.
    And I took the picture of the facade Basilica because of the way the sun was glinting off the mosaics. I’m assuming it’s not Saint Nicholas? I admit to not being well versed in Venetian history.
    And I need to watch my very well worn copy of “Summertime” again. As I said in an earlier post…at least I didn’t back up into a canal like she did. That water is a bit chilly.
    Buon Anno!

  8. Bert says:

    Yes, the guy on the right.
    S
    NICO
    LAVS
    In other words, St Nicholas.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I need to trust my “smart- a**ed” guesses more often.
      Okay, the city is in the process of being bombed….at least that’s what it sounds like. I missed the main fireworks because ….well, I’m tired and got tired of standing around waiting for them to start. They started just as I was turning the key in the door.
      But I got some nice pictures of little ones.

  9. Pecora Nera says:

    Wonderful photos, when are you coming back?

  10. mvaden1948 says:

    It’s because I have a goal…of moving there permanently. That means getting out of debt and I can’t do it by paying the outrageous airfare from Seattle to Venice every year. So with that in mind….

Leave a Reply

