Christmas Eve in Venice 2013

It was a foggy day in Venezia but people were out running last minute errands.
This little guy is on the door next door to the place where Scooby’s twin lives. For those who don’t know…Scooby Doo is a white cat who sponges off Pecora Nera and Mrs. Sensible… you can read their adventures at the Englishman in Italy blog. I’ll post a link for you….he’s pretty funny. Oh, no, he reads this (PN, not Scooby) and that compliment will probably go to his head. See comments section for the link.
01-DSCN3709
I meandered over to Via Garibaldi…an easy walk from here.
03-DSCN3712
04-DSCN3721
A new Babbo Natale since I was last here.
05-DSCN3723
06-DSCN3725
The vegetable boat is doing a brisk business.
07-DSCN3726
I wandered to the Giardini stop and took the vaporetto back to Arsenale…lazy I know but I just felt like a bit of a boat ride.
08-DSCN3736
This was in a shop window about halfway to my home.
09-DSCN3743
And then I saw someone walking away from the fish monger’s door…
10-DSCN3744
And a little Misha “selfie”…yes, that is my hand in the leopard glove stroking the cat’s back.
11-DSCN3746
As I rounded the corner I was watching a late delivery…I thought he was going to take this over the Ponti de l’Arco but he turned before he got there.
13-DSCN3748
I went back out just a bit ago to get some final shots of Christmas Eve in my neighborhood.
14-DSCN3751
15-DSCN3752
17-DSCN3754
18-DSCN3755
24-DSCN3761
And the tree in San Marco from earlier in the month.
31-DSCN2972
And tonight a Christmas star at the end of Calle de l’Arco leading me home.
28-DSCN3765
Buon Natale to all of you around the world who read my blog. I thank you for your time and hope your holidays are all they can be.
I leave you with a link to a song by one of my favorite groups of Venetians….Ska-J.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Cats, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Christmas Eve in Venice 2013

  1. mvaden1948 says:

    As promised here is the link to the blog where I first made the acquaintance of Scooby Doo, Pecora Nera and Mrs Sensible:
    http://englishmaninitaly.org/2013/11/02/why-does-mrs-sensible-buy-cat-food-when-we-dont-have-a-cat/

    • Pecora Nera says:

      Wonderful photos, our village couldn’t find where they had stored the Christmas lights and last years Christmas tree died, so it looks a bit….. normal here.
      Thank you for the link to Scooby Doo and the great cat chase ๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope you had a great Christmas and a Happy New Year to you.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        I had emailed that link to several cat loving friends (and some friends who are so-so about cats) and they said they laughed out loud…as I did….so thought I spread some more of the joy around the world.
        You know our friend Yvonne (who actually introduced us by the way) is here in Venice now…maybe she could swing by and pick up Scooby Doo on her way back to Oz? Actually, I don’t think Mrs. Sensible (knowing she is called that for a reason) would be willing to let him go.
        Buon Anno to you and yours….human, feline, canine.

      • Pecora Nera says:

        Say hello to Yvonne ๐Ÿ™‚

        I think Gilda the short legged but incredibly fat dog would miss Scooby Doo. They are the best of pals at the moment.

  2. Jan Graham says:

    Buon Natale Misha, the Piazza looks dry

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Buon Natale, Jan.
      Yes, it should be dry as the acqua alta is 6 am on the 26th…tomorrow. Today is supposed to be normal tide per the city of Venice.
      http://www.comune.venezia.it/flex/AppData/Local/bollettinoMaree.pdf
      Do note that is only going down to 90 cm after the high of 120 cm and then back up to 100 cm. If it doesn’t get any higher than that I am fine here as apartment is 135 cm.
      Shopkeepers are preparing for the worst. It will all depend on wind direction and speed.
      You should hear the bells…starting with midnight last night. Amazing.
      I’ll do another post later today and share my recipe for Panettone French Toast.

  3. Bert says:

    I hope that missing capitello on Ramo Fontana is away for restoration (Photo 11).
    Buon Natale, Misha

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    I am hoping the same thing Bert but I have no information. I noticed it my first day….okay make that the second because I was dragging luggage and trying not to trip on the first day so not looking up. Luckily the landlord had the big bag and like everyone here acted like it weighed nothing.
    As Rosa suggested on TA my boots are by the bed and someone is coming this afternoon to put the gate in the door for the water we are expecting at 6 am on the 26th. We are keeping fingers crossed that it does not exceed the predicted 120 cm. There will be photos taken out my window for sure.
    Buon Natale to you and yours, Bert.

  5. lizbethraab says:

    As always, lovely photos, Misha!
    My favourites were the Christmas tree in the window and the misty view of the Grand Canal. As well as all the others, really an insider view of everyday life in Venice. :

    The bells must have been really amazing. just saw your post now.
    “Frohe Weihnachten aus Wien!”
    Ciao, Liz

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Ciao, Liz,
    Yes, bells have continued to be amazing. I was standing by the campanile at San Francesco de la Vigna (closest to my apartment and the bells I hear all the time) at noon. Wow!
    Frohe Weinachten aus Wien! to you in Vienna also.
    Michelle

  7. lizbethraab says:

    Misha,
    thank you very much for your wishes!
    Am doing major tidying up here, with Christmas carols in the background.
    Get to celebrate the best of both worlds, i.e. on the 24th and the 25th. They’re playing “Mary’s boy child Jesus Christ” by Harry Belafonte. Its a beautiful version (vinyl), a bit crackly but magnificent.

    Again “Buon Natale” to you and merry wanderings in Venice,
    Liz

  8. Mindy says:

    Buon Natale da Boston. Your lion looks especially festive with the lights behind him. Grazie for your wonderful blog!!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Prego, Mindy,
      Right now I’m awake (5 am here) to look out and check for high water. It is up in the canal. Last night someone came and installed the gate to keep water out of the apartment and made sure the sump pump will work if needed. Hopefully it will not be as bad as the gloom and doom newspaper articles. High tide is in about an hour. I looked out and water is high in the canal but I opened the door and there is no water in the calle so that is good.
      I will try to take a picture in an hour and see how it turns out.
      Hope you had a Buon Natale.
      Michelle

  9. mvaden1948 says:

    PN…we know that Scooby would miss Gilda too…so he should stay right where he is….just inside when it’s cold.
    Will give your regards to Yvonne.

Leave a Reply

