A Trip to a Venetian Street Market

Almost a full week since I’ve been to Punto and I hadn’t even gotten a Panettone yet! Wow, I’d better get busy. So first order of business was to lay in some supplies and goodies for Christmas when unlike “that other place” the shops will be CLOSED. And also…even though I don’t take it to Punto, the vaporetto will not be stopping at my dock. And if the predicted Acqua Alta (high water) happens I’d be wading there if they were open…so errands done today. Yes, a nice little Panettone in a box with a carrying handle. I also got “real food”…cheese, meat, olives, things for salad, milk and I was almost out of tea. Done.
The plan was then to wait for the cleaning lady and then get out of her way. That way when I got back after a couple of hours everything would be done. (and it was…perfectly).
Karen suggested a Mercatino (sp?) on the Strada Nova so I called her when my lady arrived and then walked out to the vaporetto where I joined her on the No. 1 to Ca d’Oro.
As you will see from the pictures there are all kinds of things for sale…hats, socks, sweaters etc. And more than a few goodies.
01-DSCN3673
02-DSCN3674
04-DSCN3676
There were also people selling soaps and essential oils and I mentioned that I needed hand cream. None of them seemed to have hand cream but since Lush was right there calling my name I went in and spent more than I had intended on something lovely called “Morbidissima Burro per le Cuticole” that is Italian for very soft cuticle butter. It’s lovely, smells of lemon. She also managed to sell me something called a massage bar that looks like soap but you rub it on your skin like massage oil. Also lemon. Quite, well, dare I say it? Lushious! Okay, I know that’s not how you spell it but under the circumstances it is appropriate. No, I don’t have pictures of Lush. The whole place smelled really good though.
We also found the perfect way for me to celebrate the Feast of the Seven Fishes…a traditional way to await the coming of Christmas…a Christmas eve meal with seven fishes. Here is what Wikipedia has to say about it:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feast_of_the_Seven_Fishes

I really don’t care for all of the fish involved but here we have the perfect ones for me.
06-DSCN3679
07-DSCN3681
08-DSCN3683
And you may have guessed; everything, including the lemon to squeeze on that crab is MARZIPAN! Oh, I would be so sick from eating all that sugar. I was good and did not buy any marzipan fishes. I would eat real crab and real scallops.
10-DSCN3686
And now one of my favorites: hairy on the outside and proscuitto on the inside!
13-DSCN3690
You are correct: I am not a vegetarian.
12-DSCN3689
By then we were looking for a little lunch. Nothing heavy and cicchetti would do just fine. We could eat as much as we liked. We found a little place near the corner of the Strada Nova and the calle to the San Marcuola vaporetto stop.
14-DSCN3692
And here is that word of mine again…serendipity…we walked in to find that an old friend of hers was working there and very glad to see her.
Two little sandwiches each…just enough:
15-DSCN3693
A little cappuccino
16-DSCN3695
17-DSCN3700
And proof that it’s a good place; gondoliers were eating here.
18-DSCN3701
On the way to the vaporetto we passed a door with a sign I’d like to have for mine. If you need it translated please let me know. The picture really says it all if you know that “cane” is dog.
19-DSCN3702
We could always send the lions after you…not your dog…poor thing doesn’t know any better.
20-DSCN3703
When I got home I discovered that my upstairs neighbors had done some more decorating.
21-DSCN3704
A lovely tree and Babbo Natale right above my door.
22-DSCN3705

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Cichetti, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Trip to a Venetian Street Market

  1. marzipan fish! Haha…awesome twist. Great photo tour of the market. 🙂

  2. lizbethraab says:

    Ah, all that food – reminded me I need to get my supper after this. Did they mind you taking photos of their wares? Strada Nova was my home ground in Venice, so again, your post brought back many memories.
    We have fish here for New Year, but they are sweet and called “Biskotten” (internet tells me these are Ladyfingers, but ours too) are shaped like small fish. Marzipan sounds much more interesting :).
    So, Christmas is fast approaching
    Ciao, Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      There are so many people wandering with cameras there didn’t seem to be any objections. And although it looks like I am close…remember my camera has a really long zoom.
      I was more concerned the gondoliers might have objected to their picture being taken and I was standing right alongside them. They ….at least the one facing me….couldn’t help but see me. He didn’t seem to care.

  3. may1787 says:

    Oh man, that market is calling my name. Candies and sausages. Oh so delicious!
    I bought a panettone from the store over the weekend, also in a box with a carrying handle. I was worried it would be dry in a box but it is really delicious! I’m thinking I may make french toast with it if I have a lot of leftovers.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      French toast is my plan for tomorrow morning. Don’t have maple syrup but a sprinkle of sugar and cinnamon (which I do have) will work just fine.

      And all the goods for sale were lovely…flea markets in my usual part of the world are very like this with lots of lovely things at reasonable prices. Great place for your last minute Christmas shopping.
      I saw a sweater that was beautiful but didn’t check to see if they had my size because I really a) don’t NEED another sweater and b) have to save room in my suitcase for THE CLOCK….which I am purchasing after Christmas.

  4. Bert says:

    Hmm .. leftover panettone? – No, that’s a concept that does not compute.
    ‘Mercatino’ should be correct – it’s a diminutive of ‘mercato’. But what you showed us didn’t look like a flea market. They were selling new goods and food, whereas a flea market is where second-hand goods are sold, at least in UK terminology. – un mercatino delle pulci. Your mercatino was in Campo SS. Apostoli. There are regular fleas markets in Campo Santa Margherita and Campo Santa Maria Formosa (behind the church), and probably other places too.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie, Bert. I stand corrected but in the part of the world I inhabit most of the year this would have been called a flea market. I have already been corrected privately…by Karen. Remember…in the US we put braces on our teeth.;-)…and men use suspenders to hold up their pants. So many differences and we supposedly speak the same language.
    Buon Natale to you and yours.

  6. thanks for this post, it conveys a nice flavour of what it is like in venice. i enjoy it tremendously. if u took those photos yourself, my congrats, they are very clear and beautiful, that is not easy to achieve and they add a lot to the descriptions. i am glad u have included people who work and live in it,

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie. Yes, I do take all the photos myself. Photography in general and Venice in particular are passions of mine.
      A lot of the food pictures…other than the obvious booths….were shops on the street. I do try to get permission when I am taking pictures with people in them.

Leave a Reply

