My Night on the Water

Last evening I had plans to attend a concert by Coro Cantori Veneziani at Chiesa di San Cassiano. Now that we are closer to Christmas the view from the vaporetto on my way to the concert was stunning.
01-DSCN3589
02-DSCN3594
03-DSCN3595
04-DSCN3598
05-DSCN3606
07-DSCN3608
09-DSCN3610
11-DSCN3617
It was only a short walk from the Rialto Mercato stop…through a very dark Rialto Mercato…to San Cassiano.
12-DSCN3623
Those of you who know him will recognize Phil Jones in the upper right of the picture. Phil recently published his book “The Venice Project”.
13-DSCN3625
14-DSCN3627
18-DSCN3633
It was a lovely concert for the Christmas season in a beautiful setting.
I meandered back to the vaporetto and made my way home.
19-DSCN3635
21-DSCN3653
22-DSCN3657
23-DSCN3661
25-DSCN3665
Almost home…the lights in Calle de L’Arco.
26-DSCN3666
And the view of the lights of my neighbors from my bridge. No, since I don’t have fancy lights and did not have all the lights on in my place my decorations do not show at night.
27-DSCN3668
The lights are much brighter in person. Especially since I was standing on the bridge under a “street light”. And the Christmas lights reflect beautifully in the canal.
I will do some more meandering over the next few evenings…more night time pics to come.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Night on the Water

  1. may1787 says:

    Oh my! The bridge of sighs without any advertisements to tarnish its beauty! I need to see that in person. Will they return in summer, or are they off indefinitely?

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Those ads tend to be there when there is some kind of refurbishment going on….rather than like some places that just have the covering to shelter the workers (and keep roof tiles from falling on your head.

  3. Jan Graham says:

    For a minute thought you said my night on the tiles that apart lovely night views, especially like the one of Salute,

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I did spend some time treading a few floor tiles to and fro Jan. But mostly on the vaporetto on the water. I need to spend some time at night beyond Rialto Mercato. I’m sure there is much more to see.
      I’ll be treading a lot of tiles on Christmas as vaporetto service is extremely limited. No number 1 at all and nothing will stop at Arsenale…so I will be as we say in the States: “hoofing it”. But that is fine with me as the treatments I’ve had on my knee really allow me to walk so much more than I have been able to do before.

  4. lizbethraab says:

    My two favourites from this post are also Salute, and the Rialto which has been photographed so often, but is different each time, depening on the lighting and the reflections in the water.
    Looking forward to further nights out on the tiles, fondamente, and bridges of Venice 🙂
    Wish you a nice evening
    Liz

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    I still have more than a few nights to be out. I saw something from a distance last evening that I need to investigate closer…maybe domani.

Leave a Reply

